We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome view and room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berghaus Bort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Berghaus Bort
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome view and room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

The location cannot be beat if you don't need to stay in Grindelwald. We hiked up, enjoyed lunch on the patio with stellar views, kept hiking and came back to a beautiful room and more sun on the porch. They upgraded us to a better room with WC that was available. Views were stunning, hotel comfy, restaurant had lovely decor, wonderful porch. Dinner was okay - would not recommend the fondue as it only comes with potato and bread.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsonweekends71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    36
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

Avis en français à lire plus bas.

We were 4 adults and we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The staff was very hospitable and always smiling. We were nicely surprised by the size of the room (n° 114). The room could welcome 6 people with the red bed pulled out (see the photo). The bathroom was big as well and had 3 taps. The view was amazing and everything was clean. I'd suggest you take the half-board because the hotel is outside of Grindelwald and it's not always easy to go back to the village to go to the restaurant. Their meal was very good. Diner is served at 7:00 PM and breakfast is between 8:00 and 10:00 AM. The breakfast is a nice buffet with delicious bread (still warm if you eat at 8:00).
BEWARE : the hotel is outside of Grindelwald and you ned to take a steep narrow road to get there. You can also take the cable car from Grindelwald to Schrekfeld (it stops right next to the hotel : I just want to point out that the cable car is quiet and stops around 6:30 PM, therefore there is no disturbance).

Nous étions 4 adultes à séjourner dans cet hôtel pendant 3 nuit en Juillet 2010. Le personnel était très accueillant et toujours souriant. Nous avons été agréablement surpris par la taille de notre chambre (n° 114). La capacité de la chambre (avec le canapé tiré, en rouge sur la photo) était de 6 personnes. La salle de bain était grande, il y avait même 3 robinets. La vue était magnifique et tout était propre. Nous avons pris la demi-pension car l'hôtel se trouvant à l'extérieur de Grindelwald, il n'est pas évident de monter et redescendre pour aller manger mais leur repas étaient très bon. Le diner est servi à 19h et le petit-déjeuner se prend entre entre 8h et 10h. Il y avait du choix pour le petit-déjeuner car c'est un buffet avec de très bons petits pains (encore chauds, si vous manger à 8h).
ATTENTION : l'hôtel se trouve à l'extérieur de Grindelwald, il faut emprunter une petite route assez pentue. Attention donc si votre voiture est plutôt basse. Vous pouvez aussi prendre la télécabine de Grindelwald jusqu'à Schrekfeld (la télécabine s'arrête juste à côté de l'hôtel. Je tiens à signaler qu'elle ne fait aucun bruit et s'arrête vers 18h30. Il n'y a donc pas de nuisance).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virginie24jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

We stopped in while skiing and found to be a truly great restaurant. Claudia Brawand-Dannhorn is the owner and a great host. If you are staying in Grindelwald you should make the trip up to Bort and enjoy a perfect swiss meal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jschlueter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2006

Berghaus Bort - We arrived at this place completely famished after a two hour trek that took us till Buchalpsee lake and back, Unfortunately, the strong breeze disturbed the otherwise still water of the late and hence we couldnt see the majestic mountains' reflection in the lake.
Hiking trail is marked for experts. By the time we came to the Grindelwald First base, we could eat anyone who came in front of us. The pretty waitresses at Berghaus Bort restaurant take down the order and help you choose as well. I had Rosti and Salad, which was absolutely delicious. The fresh-pick of veggies and the right amount of salad dressing with fresh pepper, tasted delicious. My friend Yasmin who is a Swiss native had a non-veg dish and said that was yum!
A good restaurant where you can have your fill and start anew.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank Avaantida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.8 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghaus Bort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghaus Bort

Property: Berghaus Bort
Address: Berghaus Bort, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berghaus Bort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Berghaus Bort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing