We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Berghaus Bort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berghaus Bort
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very friendly staff, good accommodation, food and location. We stayed on a 6 person bedroom, which is not very big and can feel a bit crowded, but the bathroom was huge. The main appeal is the great location in the middle of the mountain and the friendliness of the all the staff and owners. It's also not so expensive compared to other swiss mountain hotels. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duartelobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you are looking for a little piece of heaven,.... look no further than this beautiful little hotel..
This was our second visit to this small ,quiet hotel high above the village of Grindelwald. It is reached by gondola which is only a short walk from the train station. Last year we stayed in the dormitory as all rooms were fully booked, so this year we booked well in advance and had a room with an unbelievable view to the mountains. As it snowed while we were there, the scenery was spectacular. It is situated a few minutes from the gondola which brings you up to the pistes or down to the village. There is an incredibly beautiful walk through the valley and forests. The food in the hotel is varied and delicious and the staff cannot do enough to make your stay a
memorable one.. We really hope we can return to this little gem in the mountains again next year.

Room Tip: With position of hotel, I would think all rooms would have superb views.. certainly the ones at fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marymathewobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a great Christmas holiday at the Berghaus Bort. The food in the restaurant is fantastic, the views are to die for and the hospitality is excellent.

The only way to approach the hotel is via a cable car during winters. Which means that you are at the mercy of the weather if you have plans during the day as the cable car service is frequently disrupted due to winds.

I would however recommend the place very strongly. Great for families too!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wintraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Berghaus Bort was real excellent place for us to stay - since it was in the middle of mountains and thus very good starting point for hiking.
At the same time hotel was real close to Grindelwald village from were there are real excellent connections to whole Jungfraujoch reagion.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The guest house offers an excellent view on the mountains and the landscape and is placed in a calm surrounding. It is quite far from the town of "Grindelwald", so you either need a car or you are flexible to take the "Gondel" cable car. The service was very friendly and professional. The breakfast as well as the dinner were delicious. The rooms were tidy and the bathroom fantastic. The "Gondel" station is right beside the hotel which is very comfortable to reach the "First" mountain or the town Grindelwald. I really recommend this location to everyone who loves to be in a calm surrounding in midst of nature.

Room Tip: Hurry up to reserve a room since there are only few rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked a triple room for our family with 2 young children. Room is spacious and clean. Bathroom is big and bright. Breakfast was good, the restaurant staff was very helpful.
The hotel has very beautiful view of the glacier, and the playground just right outside it kept my children very occupied.

The only setback is that there is a time restriction on the use of the private road that (permit required) leads to the hotel.As such, we have to plan our arrival to coincide with the timing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2804apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family and I were driving to grindelwald from a previous destination and to get up to the hotel is quite scary. You go up a mountain for a couple miles and the size of the road is about 3 feet wide, we called to get our money back on the way up because it was just too scary but the hotel refused. Once we finally got up, the hotel was beautiful the rooms were cozy but very cute with nice views. There is a cable car which will get you up to the hotel but that closes at 4 pm so that will not allow you to see the nightlife of the town center. The breakfast was also very nice, and the views cannot be beat they are just great. The staff was friendly and the hotel was cute- the ice cream in the restaurant was amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
619 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
866 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#14 of 41 in Grindelwald
92 reviews
1.8 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
555 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghaus Bort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghaus Bort

Address: Berghaus Bort, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $162 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berghaus Bort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berghaus Bort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing