We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful views and nice food”
Review of Berghaus Bort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berghaus Bort
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had 5 people and got the room facing the mountains which was an absolutely stunning view. The room was very clean and cosy, and the shower was great as well, especially in a snowy weather. The food was a highlight. We really enjoyed the 3-course dinner. Very friendly staff. Just be aware that the Gondola station close at 4:15pm in winter. But it got dark everywhere after 5pm anyway so it wasn't much of a problem. A great experience!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Carrieh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Berghaus Bort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 174 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Personel welcomes by owner and very friendly staff, nothing to much trouble.The views are incredible with great viewing and relaxing areas around this real swiss lodge. Direct views of the Eiger north face. Great food served by wonderful staff. Top place.

Jason Cutts

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasoncutts2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

family-run hotel, not big one,but has everything you need necessary. Location is super good, you can enjoy the snow mountain view and the village. But if you travel without car, you have to make sure you take the cable car before 4:30 pm to the hotel, otherwise, you have to either take the taxi or climb to the hotel. Staff there are very kind and helpful. Food is great. Breakfast is good as well. I enjoyed very much of my stay at Bort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilymeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have a great time there with my dad. Views are extremely breathtaking and absolutely stunning. The hotel is quite clean and staff are welcoming and friendly. There are a few activities to do around there. It's just opposite to Gondola station and so it is very convenient. Great experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EkachaiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Truly wonderful location - many hiking trails and/or ski pistes are right outside your doorstep here. The food is really wonderful, especially the breakfast. Didn't find the staff to be all that helpful, and the waitress was excellent at getting *all* of our orders wrong. patience is key!.
The place is quite hard to find, and if you are coming from anywhere near the Gotthard, you are in for a long haul (expect traffic). Try to arrive during the day, because at night you can forget finding it, and the load that leads up there is tiny and obviously very dark. For a Swiss Chalet, we found the rooms to be really comfortable. Great views. Unfortunately, there is a playground right outside the front door - if you are in for a relaxing weekend, then expect some NOISE!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mad2live482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brawand, Inhaber at Berghaus Bort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear mad2live482,

I would like to offer my sincere apologies to you for the service shortfalls you brought to our attention in your review. Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback and rest assured that we will utilize your comments in pursuing our ongoing goal of offering the best possible customer experience.

Our mountain lodge is a real lodge in the mountains, accessible by a narrow mountain road or the gondola Grindelwald-First. We are aware that the street is not easy to drive and we recommend our guests to take the relaxing gondola. Taking the gondola is part of the mountain adventure.

Your business is important to us and we hope you will give us another opportunity to really show you the capability of our team.

Sincerely

Claudia Brawand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The owners have tried very hard to make this a nice place to stay. The views are without doubt stunning, access in the summer can either be by cable car or you can drive up, buy this has its own hazards as uncoming traffic is not easy to negotiate !
The food is of a high standard, the breakfasts are adequate, but if you sleep in, there is virtually nothing left to eat after 09.00am !! the cold meat plates are not refilled and you are told to get up earlier !!
The rooms are in all fairness designed for hikers and back packers/walkers and not for guests wanting luxurious rooms. There is no air con, no water, bedding is sparse, the bathrooms resemble a camping trip via an army camp.
Great place for a day visit, next time in Grindelwald will stay in a proper hotel

Room Tip: If you want luxury, then give it a miss, if its for a day stop then perfect
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brawand, Inhaber at Berghaus Bort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear paulegsy,

First of all thank you very much for your kind words regarding our staff and restaurant. It is always gratifying when our guests are happy with their experiences with us.

We sincerely regret that your room was not up to your expectations. All rooms in our mountain lodge has been completely renewed in 2009. The bathroom in the six-bedded room will be renovated in spring 2013. Airconditioning in the mountains is not necessary, as the temperatures are much lower than in a city and it cools down in the night for a good sleep.

We apologize for disappointing you regarding the location of your accommodations but were pleased that your experiences with our hotel was satisfactory.

Sincerely,

Claudia Brawand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We can only hope our visit was a one off who went wrong. We went to some substantial travelling for a special celebration to experience a bit of a true Swiss "Berghaus" idyl in an amazing location. We arrived from Italy stucked for hours at the border and the St.Gotthard and arrived at 9.45pm instead of 7pm. We called at 6pm to inform them from our unfortunate delay and where warned that if we come very late we may only get a cold platter. It was raining cats and dogs when we arrived to a pitch black house. Nobody around, the restaurant which ironically stated open to 10pm closed and dark as the rest. Searching for an open door we found the unmanned reception and a key with our name. We found the room and a little platter. No table, no chairs, no cutlery, nothing to drink, no glasses, no napkins. We celebrated our special occasion sitting on the bed with the unexciting little platter and tap water in the glasses from the bathroom across the corridor. We assumed that breakfast will be served early for the "mountaineers" and given the fact that everybody was in bed before 10pm but wrongly thought so. We had to wait until 8am for a not very creative breakfast.
There were only two other tables and we asked for a Cappucino but were told that this is not avaible for breakfast. We said that we are happy to pay extra but no, the unfriendly young woman said this is not offered...
Should I say that the bed sits low on dangerously exposed logs which made for a hurtful food experience when getting up in the night...
But enough moaned. The location is amazing and I truly hope this is a one off and there are days when the team is more guest oriented...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saperavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.6 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
351 reviews
1.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
954 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghaus Bort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghaus Bort

Address: Berghaus Bort, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $158 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berghaus Bort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Berghaus Bort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing