We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a happy experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berghaus Bort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Berghaus Bort
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“not a happy experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We can only hope our visit was a one off who went wrong. We went to some substantial travelling for a special celebration to experience a bit of a true Swiss "Berghaus" idyl in an amazing location. We arrived from Italy stucked for hours at the border and the St.Gotthard and arrived at 9.45pm instead of 7pm. We called at 6pm to inform them from our unfortunate delay and where warned that if we come very late we may only get a cold platter. It was raining cats and dogs when we arrived to a pitch black house. Nobody around, the restaurant which ironically stated open to 10pm closed and dark as the rest. Searching for an open door we found the unmanned reception and a key with our name. We found the room and a little platter. No table, no chairs, no cutlery, nothing to drink, no glasses, no napkins. We celebrated our special occasion sitting on the bed with the unexciting little platter and tap water in the glasses from the bathroom across the corridor. We assumed that breakfast will be served early for the "mountaineers" and given the fact that everybody was in bed before 10pm but wrongly thought so. We had to wait until 8am for a not very creative breakfast.
There were only two other tables and we asked for a Cappucino but were told that this is not avaible for breakfast. We said that we are happy to pay extra but no, the unfriendly young woman said this is not offered...
Should I say that the bed sits low on dangerously exposed logs which made for a hurtful food experience when getting up in the night...
But enough moaned. The location is amazing and I truly hope this is a one off and there are days when the team is more guest oriented...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saperavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    36
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed there for a two week workshop and enjoyed every minute. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the view fantastic! The food was delicious. Breakfast was fresh baked bread or croissants, hardboiled eggs, asssorted cheese and deli meats, cereal and fresh fruit. Everyone loved the coffee. The staff were friendly and efficient. I'd go back for the ambience. One of my favorite places now.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnomehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brawand, Inhaber at Berghaus Bort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about your experience here. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again next year with the rest of the group!

Yours,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We went for five days in January with our two kids and we loved the place. What is worth pointing out is that the hotel is located at the first stop of the Gondola so when you arrive in the winter you need to get all your luggage into the Gondola, it is a real catalyst for travelling light. The hotel itself is small and besides bedrooms, bar and restaurant but does have very wi-fi. Our room had a nice modern bathroom.

You dont really have any choice but to go half board in the winter because there is no where else you can go for dinner. Hoever the food in the hotel is excellent and the restaurant has a good atmosphere in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Grindelwald is quite "touristy," but the Berghaus Bort is beautifully above it all. The hotel is located at the top of a peak overlooking the town. In the winter, it can only be accessed via cable car, but in the summer, you may drive up. The location is busy during the day (not in an unpleasant way) as it is a cable car stop. People come up from town for the view and a bite at the (quite lovely!) restaurant.

The hotel is decorated in a beautiful, simple style. The rooms are on the large side for a ski house and the restaurant food was wonderful! Some of the rooms have bathrooms that require going outside of the room to access (they are locked and private, just not inside the room), which is not ideal, but certainly not a show stopper.

The best part of the day was the evening when the cable cars stopped running. The hotel was so quiet and peaceful. There is beautiful hiking up (or down, if you want to go into town) and a terrific playground for children. Overall, it was a lovely, lovely experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reynardridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ophir, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

We chanced it late season to find a place in the mountains above Grindelwald. We had hoped to stay in First, but the snows had set in so much was closed. When we hopped off the tram from Grindelwald, we thought Bort was closed too, but to our surprise and delight, they were open. the price was right and the location fab. we were especially lucky to also have the best meals there too. the staff was so helpful and nice. a gem!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

The location cannot be beat if you don't need to stay in Grindelwald. We hiked up, enjoyed lunch on the patio with stellar views, kept hiking and came back to a beautiful room and more sun on the porch. They upgraded us to a better room with WC that was available. Views were stunning, hotel comfy, restaurant had lovely decor, wonderful porch. Dinner was okay - would not recommend the fondue as it only comes with potato and bread.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsonweekends71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

Avis en français à lire plus bas.

We were 4 adults and we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The staff was very hospitable and always smiling. We were nicely surprised by the size of the room (n° 114). The room could welcome 6 people with the red bed pulled out (see the photo). The bathroom was big as well and had 3 taps. The view was amazing and everything was clean. I'd suggest you take the half-board because the hotel is outside of Grindelwald and it's not always easy to go back to the village to go to the restaurant. Their meal was very good. Diner is served at 7:00 PM and breakfast is between 8:00 and 10:00 AM. The breakfast is a nice buffet with delicious bread (still warm if you eat at 8:00).
BEWARE : the hotel is outside of Grindelwald and you ned to take a steep narrow road to get there. You can also take the cable car from Grindelwald to Schrekfeld (it stops right next to the hotel : I just want to point out that the cable car is quiet and stops around 6:30 PM, therefore there is no disturbance).

Nous étions 4 adultes à séjourner dans cet hôtel pendant 3 nuit en Juillet 2010. Le personnel était très accueillant et toujours souriant. Nous avons été agréablement surpris par la taille de notre chambre (n° 114). La capacité de la chambre (avec le canapé tiré, en rouge sur la photo) était de 6 personnes. La salle de bain était grande, il y avait même 3 robinets. La vue était magnifique et tout était propre. Nous avons pris la demi-pension car l'hôtel se trouvant à l'extérieur de Grindelwald, il n'est pas évident de monter et redescendre pour aller manger mais leur repas étaient très bon. Le diner est servi à 19h et le petit-déjeuner se prend entre entre 8h et 10h. Il y avait du choix pour le petit-déjeuner car c'est un buffet avec de très bons petits pains (encore chauds, si vous manger à 8h).
ATTENTION : l'hôtel se trouve à l'extérieur de Grindelwald, il faut emprunter une petite route assez pentue. Attention donc si votre voiture est plutôt basse. Vous pouvez aussi prendre la télécabine de Grindelwald jusqu'à Schrekfeld (la télécabine s'arrête juste à côté de l'hôtel. Je tiens à signaler qu'elle ne fait aucun bruit et s'arrête vers 18h30. Il n'y a donc pas de nuisance).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virginie24jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghaus Bort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghaus Bort

Property: Berghaus Bort
Address: Berghaus Bort, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berghaus Bort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Berghaus Bort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing