We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Grindelwald
from $575.40
More Info
from $60.80
More Info
from $19.20
More Info
from $1,266.30
More Info
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
140
33
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
33
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eigergletscher station north face kleine scheidegg three hours hiking shoes hour trek clear view taking the train great walk via ferrata stunning views drinking water down hill awe inspiring hiking experience hours walking beautiful hike
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

If you wear good shoes and enjoy a bit of of an ascent this is an easy trail. The path is rough though with plenty of loose stones of which many are rounded. Expect sharp inclines and declines at times. But having the trail skirting the iconic North Face of the Eiger makes it a must do.
Those preferring an easier stroll can opt for the Eiger Walk which in 2 kms compared tithe Trail which is 6 kms.
Would have been fun to read some facts about the mountain en route. Hear the Eiger Walk has posts and information. They could repeat it on the Trail to add meaning to what is essentially a ramble today.

Thank Sathya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hiked all the way to train station, amazing views. Enjoyed the waterfalls. Most people seemed to be hiking down hill.

Thank nascarcave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A fabulous walk. We took the train part way up the mountain and then hiked the trail. The Eiger Marathon was taking place and there were plenty of people on the track which made the hike even more interesting.The scenery is just magnificent.

Thank Misfit63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I hiked the Eiger trail from Alpiglen to Kleine Scheidegg as I prefer walking uphill to down, this was a hot day so I appreciated that it was in the mountain's shadow all morning. The walk was fairly steep and a scrabble at times but my hiking boots were more than up to it and the views across the valley and beyond were amazing, was nice to see some mountain climbers attempting the North Face. I then carried on around the path to Mannlichen and the so called royal trail which gives great views down to Lauterbrunnen, Grindelwald and Lake Thun. You could see as far as the Jura on the day I was there. Since the Royal walks rebranding the path has been made much more accessible than the last time I was here and was less of a scramble to the top.

1  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Most people will do this trail as a downhill, however when you go uphill, you will enjoy more peace and serenity, while still enjoying al the views. Is a moderate uphill hike. Just stunning views! Well marked trail.

2  Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Got the train to kleine Scheidegg and walked up to Eigergletscher Station and hiked to Alpiglen. It takes you right across the bottom of the north face of the Eiger with amazing views, it is a bit rocky in parts especially the descent towards Alpiglen but very doable. You can actually see the ladders that the climbers use to start their assent up the north face, close up it is hard to imagine just how tough that climb must be. It is just breath taking to be in the midst of the mountains.

1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

The preferred direction starts at the Eigergletscher train station and heads downhill, and that's how I did it. There is currently (Aug/Sept 2018) construction going on at that station, so the start is rerouted, but still easy to find and the experience is not spoiled. The imposing Eiger Nordwand is spectacular. I only went as far as the start of the Eiger Rotstock via ferrata, but you can see much of the route from there and it won't disappoint.

1  Thank onbelay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Although the trail wasn't that long (about 8-9 miles it had a drop of about 5,000 feet going into Grindelwald which pooped this 60's couple out. But fun to do anyway!

1  Thank susanl1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

I took the route towards Alpiglen due to a hamstring injury. It took me 4 hours. This route in either direction will have ascents and descents. The way I went had about 1000 ft ascent and 3000 ft descent. I did meet people on the trail that I worried about, but I also met a young mother toting a baby on her chest like a pro, and others running the trail. So, just know your limitations and plan accordingly.

1  Thank twitterpook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

This was the walk I really wanted to do and, although the day started with low cloud, we decided to give it a go hoping the cloud would lift. That didn't happen and we spent 3 hours walking in cloud with very limited views and none of the North Face. In addition, the top part of the route (that goes closest to the North Face) was closed. It appears that this was due to building work currently being undertaken to provide an express cable car route from near Grund to Eigerglestcher, primarily to get skiers to the piste quicker. Whilst I understand the economic drive to do this, I feel it will totally spoil the Eiger Trail for walkers. Instead of the feeling of a remote train in awe-inspiring territory, there will be regular cable cars zipping by. I thought the area below the North Face was an International Heritage site - so much for the protection that we might have thought that would provide.

2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews