We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyable”

Restaurant Belvedere
Reserve with
Restaurant Belvedere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 72 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $151
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hotel restaurant with amazing view from the window tables over the valley and to the Eiger north face. Open in winter from 18:45 (kitchen until 21:00), in summer from 19:00 (kitchen until 21:30). Our kitchen uses home-grown ingredients and offers not only classic Swiss specialities, but an inventive fresh cuisine with mediterranean or asian influences. Vegetarian dishes are always available. Please tell us your needs before arrival, if you are allergic to gluten, lactose or any other ingredients. Thank you very much in advance.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent food, superbly presented, delivered by pleasant, friendly, and cheerful staff, and with breath-taking views. When combined with a stay in the splendid Hotel Belvedere, it makes an unbeatable package. I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TomBSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Restaurant Belvedere, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your lovely comment on our restaurant. We try to offer you a all-round perfect and memorable stay here in Grindelwald.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Best regards

The Hauser family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    25
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautifully prepared and presented meals. The staff take time to explain unknown dishes,. The kitchen is very adaptable and will ctare for fussy eaters, like me

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Restaurant Belvedere, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for rating our restaurant. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed our service and food. Our kitchen is quite flexible, especially when it comes to allergies. If you let us know in advance we can prepare you a wonderful meal, no matter what allergies you might have. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

The Hauser family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Presentation, just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My 14 year old granddaughter and I were absolutely delighted with the choice and variety of the food during our three night stay. The views from the large windows was amazing and the service from the staff exemplary. I highly recommend this restaurant and hotel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Restaurant Belvedere, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear restaurant guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment. We're glad you and your granddaughter enjoyed your meals with us and we hope to welcome you and your granddaughter again some day.

Best regards

Philip & Carole Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in a hotel that I've ever visited!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family of 4 ate at the Belvedere's restaurant all 7 nights of our stay. After our first evening's amazing meal, we couldn't imagine going anywhere else. Why walk around town when a fabulous meal awaits you just downstairs? The service was impeccable and they were so accommodating of our young children's tastes with their special children's menu. My favorite meal was their black tiger prawn entree served on cauliflower puree. Both my husband & I miss their "salad buffet" dearly now that we are back home in the States. Although the basics were there nightly, different specialty items showed up each day. The dressings were definitely fresh and homemade or you could adorn your salad with some delicious (and precious) oils and vinegars. On the opposite end of the spectrum, the kids' favorite food of all was their cinnamon ice cream. Kudos to Sonya, Alina, Maria, Caroline and Philip! Thanks! Oh, and how could I forget to mention the views? Most windows showcased the Eiger in all its glory. Additionally, although the service was very formal, they were welcoming of us in casual dress after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Restaurant Belvedere, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests,
Thank you so much for the kind words. There really isn't anything we could add to your wonderful comment. It was a pleasure having you and your family with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards

The Hauser family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zug
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I love it when I find a menu where I am stuck for choice. It was an easy decision to book the next night as well. Kids happy too, especially dessert buffet night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank darcyandlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Restaurant Belvedere, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent rating. We're really glad you enjoyed your meals at our hotel restaurant. Our daily specialties let you eat at the restaurant several times without it ever getting boring. We hope to have you back soon.

Best regards

The Hauser family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Belvedere also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Restaurant Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing