We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good atmosphere”
Review of Barry's

Barry's
Ranked #3 of 72 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $72
Cuisines: Barbecue, Swiss, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Swiss and international dishes, specially designed and refined. Let our Barry's Menu astonish you! The ambiance will bring you back into the romantic old and cozy alphut times. Many pictures and accessories around the famous St. Bernard dog named Barry will tell you the history around this special dog, as he saved many people's lives about 100 years ago thanks so his exquisite smell- and orientation sence. Reduced opening hours during the low season possible (April - May / mid October - mid December).
East Yorkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A good atmosphere”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent food, but can be a bit on the noisy side. The choice of food, is first class be careful as the portions are very generous.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JCDurkin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Barry's, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that had a nice dinner with us. With pleasure we offer almost all our dishes also in small portions :-)
Best regards from Grindelwald
Daniel & Gisela Heller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    82
    31
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It was ok!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Not so warm and welcoming although staff waiting tables were helpful and responsive. Menu somewhat limited and not inexpensive but overall a pleasant experience...didn't feel the need to rush back a second night

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcmdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Barry's, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We are very sorry that the choice in our restaurant is limited during the the low season. In the shoulder seasons (April / May and October / November) we are keeping open our Restaurant but with a smaller menu offer. From June till Mid of October and in Winter (Mid December until March) a bigger selection of dishes is awaiting our guests. Thank you very much for your understanding and best regards from Grindelwald
Daniel & Gisela Heller, hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent food extremely tasty. Great atmosphere, friendly & attentive. All three courses fantastic.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never been so well received in a touristic place in Switzerland”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The Barry's was my best experience since a long time in a touristic place in Switzerland. Usually, your are not very well served and the service can be very poor... Here, that's not the case! Young waitresses, very professional and cool at the same time, nice atmosphere and great food! We eat a "Fondue Chinoise" accompanied by so many stuff that I cannot remember.
The place was a bit busy and noisy, but that's the drawback of being successful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barry's also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Barry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing