We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Chalet Ave in the Summer 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Ave in the Summer 2
Chalet Ave in the Winter Chalet Ave in the Summer 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Chalet Ave in the Summer 2
Chalet Ave in the Winter
Chalet Ave in the Summer 1
Night view in winter
Chalet Ave in Spring
Chalet view from garage
Chalet Ave with Eiger view
Terrace big flat
Terrace
Fresh Water Fountain
Outside Garden Space
Big flat - dining room
Tile stove in dining room big apartment
Big flat - living room / fireplace
TV room - big apartment
Dining corner in kitchen big flat
Big flat - kitchen
Bedroom big apartment
Bedroom #1 big flat
Bedroom #2 big flat
Bedroom with 2 single beds in big apartment
Single bedroom big apartment
Bathroom 1 big apartment
Childrens room big apartment
Childrens room big apartment
Small flat - living room
Dining room small apartment
Small flat - kitchen
Bar and kitchen in small apartment
Small flat - Bedroom
Living space small apartment
Sauna
Eiger view from terrace
Eiger view from terrace
Eiger view from terrace
Eiger and Fiescherhorn from Chalet
Morning on the Finsteraarhorn
Eiger and Flowers on the terrace
Eiger North Face
Aperitif on the sundeck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region, Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
vera1327
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2016

This was one of the best places we've ever stayed at. The chalet was more like a home than a holiday rental. It had everything we needed. We were in the bigger apartment, and we had plenty of space and very comfortable beds. The things we liked best were: the sauna, sunbathing patio with a natural running water feature, the stunning view of the North Face of the Eiger from the balcony. It's a very quiet location, we even saw a mother deer with a baby deer just next to the patio. It was still close to the nearest town Grindelwald. It's easy to walk down the hill to the town, 20 min approx, and we even walked up the steep hill from Grindelwald on some occasions, but it is easier by bus or car! The owner was very welcoming. We used a hire car to make the most of the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
Dear Vera,
Thank you so much for this kind review about your stay at the Chalet Ave. It was a pleasure for us to have you as guests and we are very happy that you had a great time in Grindelwald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo R
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Eiger awaits you”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spectacular location with the mighty Eiger ever present. The chalet is well located in the town of Grindelwald in a very quiet location and yet just 50m from the bus that will take you to the town centre or First cable car.

Inside is extremely spacious with high quality Villeroy and Boch fittings, the chalet also benefits from an authentic Tylo sauna.

In short a great base from which to explore the stunning Jungfrau region of Switzerland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful location with spellbinding view of the Eiger
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aarnav200...
Rajkot, India
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Excellent ,superb no words for it.we were 13 in all with elders and young ones and everyone's facilities was properly satisfied.Bedsheets and towels were given very clean.superb collection of crockeries.Mt Eiger looked very beautiful from this chalet and at last I still remember the sweet taste of spring water which was in the garden.i had spent lovely moments in this chalet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.location.hospitality.etcetcetc.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepak_ru...
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Blissful place , like Heaven on Earth. Awesome host and owner Ms Mirjam L”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great location with view of the Eiger. Beautiful mornings, excellent accomodation. A perfect holiday home with all modern amenities, free wifi and thirst quenching fresh spring water 24/7 . The chalet is conveniently located . just a couple minutes walk to the shuttle bus stand and a few minutes away from the center of the town and the Grund and Grindelwald railway stations. Ample of summer and winter sports to enjoy.
The owner Ms Mirjam L is a sweet lady who makes it a home away from home Her better half is very cooperative and helpful too. We were a family of 13 people and enjoyed every moment of our stay. We recommend the Chalet Ave, and be Ms Mirjam"s guests

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitinpari...
Downey, California
1 review
“excellent location, facility and host”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Dealing with Mirjam from start to finish was excellent. Place location and facility was more than expected. i would strongly recommend this place. Price is right for larger group. It is more like home than rental

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: i like everything about it
Liked least: everything was perfect. there is nothing that i can find least liking
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally1953...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Chalet Ave has the most amazing location right opposite the North Face of the Eiger. We all spent a lot of time on the balcony just gazing at the view! Grindlewald has a huge selection of hiking trails and we enjoyed lots on both sides of the valley. The First Flyer and the trottibikes were a highlight, and a trip up the Jungfraujoch is expensive but worth it! This is easily the best self catered accommodation I have ever stayed in. So well equipped we were able to have all meals there, even for 9 people, and it was literally like staying in someone's home. I would definitely recommend this chalet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loulou222...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Beautiful views and great host.”
Reviewed January 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed as an extended family in Chalet Avenue for a week at Christmas. The apartment is so roomy with a really well stocked kitchen, comfortable beds and lovely dining and living areas. The view from the main bedroom and living area is truly spectacular. Mirjam was an outstanding host and was so helpful with any requests. We loved every minute of our stay here and would highly recommend it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing