We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent food”

Central Hotel Wolter Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Inconsistent food”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice during our holiday. We had lunch on the terrace and thoroughly enjoyed both the food and the views.

We returned on another day for dinner and ate inside. What a mistake, the food beared no resemblance to the quality of the food at lunch. Possibly there was a different chef on. The meat was dry and really lacked flavour.

The staff are really pleasant and were very helpful.

Not sure we'd return but if we did it would be lunch on the terrace with our fingers crossed!

Helpful?
Thank ChunkyMonkey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great food and views”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stopped for a late snack lunch and were not disappointed. We had a late lunch of salad and baguette. Our son asked for chips , the plate was so large even he could not finish them and the waitress encouraged my husband and I to help him. The views up to the mountains alone make the Wolter worth a visit , but when you add the great food it is a must for any traveller to Grindelwald

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swissonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely looking puds and great WiFi”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

stopped off for a bite of lunch and liked it so much we went back for dinner. I should have opted for the small portion but the Pork Rosti was extremely tasty. Hubby had a fitness platter with Kangaroo and proclaimed it excellent. Other diners had popped in just for desert which I wish I had space for. very friendly staff and one of the fastest WIFIs in the town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SilverStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level 6 Contributor
724 reviews
518 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“In april aspargus menu”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We took a plate of dried meats veggies and cheeses and my hubby a onion soup with cheese and bread.
We ate outside. Sunny and warm.
Very nice and relaxing place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivimero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Central Hotel Wolter Grindelwald”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just love Hotel Central Wolter Restaurant, the ambience, the food and the service. The owners, Family Kaufman, are very friendly and always make a point to welcome us and have a litlle chat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valmuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Hotel Wolter Restaurant also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Central Hotel Wolter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing