We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel , fantastic views but out of town”
Review of Hotel Blumlisalp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Blumlisalp
Ranked #8 of 22 Grindelwald B&B and Inns
Seasider in Scunthorpe
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hotel , fantastic views but out of town”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife & I stayed here on a group motorcycle tour & used it as a base for 3 nights. Our reception was poor but we did arrive in the middle of the staff serving dinner & there is no defined reception area. Our room was small but very clean, well decorated & had a balcony with, probably, the best view of a mountain landscape I have ever experienced.Over the course of our stay, the staff turned out to be exceptionally friendly (& excentric). The evening meals were of superb quality & very efficiently served. We got free bus passes for the local area but the last service was about 1900hrs. This hotel is situated at the top of town, which gives it amazing views but, in our case, made life a little awkward as it cost us over £20 to get a taxi back from the town centre (the alternative being a 2 mile uphill slog. This is authentic Switzerland (I have many years experience of the country & love it!"). If you don't want to venture out in the evening, this is for you! Would I stay here again? Without a doubt I would!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room at the front with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rottingdean, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is a proper swiss log cabin and looks stunning. The hotel staff when we got here were not to friendly and she was rather abrupt as we had a dog with us which we had placed on our booking but she said she was unaware of this so charged us extra.

The room had a fabulous veiw of the Eiger and the room was very clean and very traditional. We would stay again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simongrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

After a long drive from Champagne we stopped at Hotel Blumlisalp for a late Sunday lunch. With service and views to die for it was one of the most unforgattable experiences ever. The restaurant service was excellent and the food to die for. With a veiw of the snow covered mountains from our table, what could be better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is outside the town in a quiet environment.
We are an older couple. We decided quite late on vacation in Grindelwald. Our aim was to be out every day, all day on trips.
I chose a room with a balcony because I understood that only rooms with balcony face the view and are spacious. So it was.
We were there 8 nights.

Inside the hotel, is a restaurant. Bus stop in front the hotel. Room comfortable, also beds, clean.
Both the room and from the balcony you can enjoy the view. Who needs more than that between trip to trip?
There is no elevator, 3 floors, not much rooms. stairs convenience.
we got a room on the first floor so it was not too hard to raise the luggage. Help was not offered us . We had the same problem also other small hotels in Europe.
THe stuff was lovely.
The only thing that disturbed a little- noicy gests on the restaurant balcony till late hour.

Room Tip: room with balcony is big ,nice and had view. Try to get a room in east south direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannab48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We hiked for 5 days in the Jungfrau region in and around Grindelwald. We stayed the night at the Hotel Blumlisalp and couldn't have had been happier! The staff were all friendly and helpful, the room spotless and comfortable, the food in the restaurant delicious. If you are looking for a less touristy and quieter stay from the Wetterhorn hotel or area - this is your place..a 5 minutes walk from the Wetterhorn bus stop or in our case a 1/2 days hike from the Glecksteinhutte... :) Enjoy..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuekBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
814 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
558 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#19 of 41 in Grindelwald
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blumlisalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blumlisalp

Property: Hotel Blumlisalp
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 145, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Blumlisalp 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Blumlisalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing