We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, friendly, nothing flash”
Review of Bel Air Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bel Air Eden
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Easy to find, centrally located, killer views from balcony and friendly staff. Breakfast is included and good with bread, meat/cheese, hard boiled eggs, jam and cereal as well as coffee/tea and fresh juice. Decor is a bit dated and there is no staff in the evening. Parking is free and you get a pass for discounts to the sports center and other attractions. Bed is comfortable and duvets are warm. Free wifi that works in the room.

Bit pricey (160CHF) but all of Grindelwald is expensive. Be warned the grocery stores are closed on Sunday and buses outside the central town are very pricey. Consider buying the discount card at the train station if you are here a few days. Eat at Onkel Tom's Hütte.

Room Tip: We had room 28 which had wonderful views from the balcony and was very quiet being at the end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisakav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 97 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Well what can I say about this hotel, everything from the booking process to stay at the hotel was perfect. Location is very central, hardly 5mins from the main train station in Grindelwald. The town centre is hardly 10mins walk and everything is close by. Best part was that the hotel had a lift (a big relief when you are carrying 2 big suitcases).
We made our booking with Peter and he reserved the room for us without taking a credit card as a guarantee.
We booked a small room but upgraded to a big one facing the Eiger. And all I can say is every extra bit of money was totally worth it. We loved our room and the view. Room was very spacious and well laid out. Breakfast was included in the price and was very good and fresh. Wi-fi was also available and was fast. Hotel stored our luggage after check out.
Peter was really helpful, friendly and made us feel welcomed.

Would highly recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again if we visit Grindelwald.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the room facing the Eiger mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I are currently doing the Alpine Pass trek in the Bernese Oberland. The Bel Air in Grindenwald is, by far, the best hotel we have stayed in along the route. May be it was not the most modern or the fanciest, but the welcoming was excellent - we felt at home from the very first moment. And, more importantly, the room that they gave us, No29, had a balcony with the best views in the world - an wonderful view of the north side of the Eiger. That was priceless - absolutely priceless. So wonderful was the balcony that we decided not to go out for dinner. Instead, we order some food and ate it in the balcony, watching a memorable sunset. Seriously, the hours that we spent in the balcony is one of the things that you remember long after returning home. As I said before, totally priceless.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mateo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Found this through reviews here. A great value in an expensive area. Clean rooms, elevator, nice breakfast and fabulous views. Would definitely return. BUT ask for a room with a view NOT the train station side.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having stayed at the Bel Air Eden for at least the 4th time, I wanted to update my review.

First to say, if you are people that want a more than a small family run budget hotel, this might not be for you and there are plenty of places where you can pay more in Grindelwald - most places available on the internet for sure.

The bedrooms have been upgraded over time, are clean and comfortable. This is perfect for people like myself who want a place to stay but are far more interested enjoying the reason to be in Grindelwald - skiing in this case.

The hotel is perfectly located for the main ski area or in the summer walking or just for arriving by train. It is not a surprise that as more hotels from this area have appeared on this site the hotel has gone down the rankings a bit, but don't let this put you off staying here.

Definitely will be back again.

Room Tip: You can pay a supplement for an Eiger view (south facing) away from the road if this is your prefere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manhattan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our visit to this hotel was coloured by the fact that our room overlooked the main road into Grindelwald and thus it was noisy during the day. An Eiger-view room may have changed the way we thought about our stay. The room was narrow, the decor lacked imagination and there was a minuscule tv. There was, however, a lovely spread for breakfast. We would not choose to stay here again. Though, Switzerand is very expensive in every respect and this hotel cost very little. After reading the other reviews on Trip Advisor, we had hoped for a nicer experience.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Fine hotel close to the bahnhof / station. breakfast is fine. they offer parkingplaces for cars in the nearby garage, parkhaus. the owner works hard, and is very friendly, willing to answer all sorts of questions.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rvanklaveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
305 reviews
0 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#24 of 41 in Grindelwald
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cabana
Hotel Cabana
#21 of 41 in Grindelwald
108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lauberhorn
Hotel Lauberhorn
#18 of 41 in Grindelwald
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Eden

Address: Dorfstrasse 76 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $134 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bel Air Eden 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bel Air Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Eden Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing