We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel with fantastic mountain views”
Review of Bel Air Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bel Air Eden
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in this lovely hotel which is very convenient for Grindelwald station. Staff were friendly, helpful and unobtrusive.

We chose a south-facing room with a balcony for CHF160 per night which gave wonderful views of the Eiger and the beautiful Grindelwald valley.

The standard of cleanliness was excellent with a linen change during our stay and a nice touch being a chocolate left on our bed every day. Breakfast was excellent offering yoghurts, swiss-porridge or conventional processed cerials with a great range of breads, spreads, eggs, cheese or meat slices to follow. All this really set us up for the day.

There is no facility for evening meals so you'll either have to make plan to eat out or buy in some stock from the local COOP store. Beware that restaurant prices are *very* high - around CHF18-30 for a single course.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a south-facing room if you can!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rc_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Bel Air Eden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 88 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2010

This hotel is located right behind the train station so it was an easy walk with our bags. It was a great find (thank you Trip Advisor). It was reasonably priced, very clean and quiet, and very comfortable. I didn't bring my hairdryer because most of the hotels had one built in, but I asked the owner and he readily provided one for me. If the weather had been better we would have had a fabulous view of the Eiger from our balcony. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lvtoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Hotel Bel-Air Eden is located quite handily right behind Grindelwald train station. It is definitely a budget hotel but the staff is friendly and helpful. The included breakfast had a good selection of the usual items; yogurt, cereal, boiled eggs, cheeses, meats, croissants, breads, toast, coffee, tea, juices, etc. But the room was very small, tiny bathroom and it definitely needed a bit of a facelift. No blow dryer in the bathroom was an inconvenience as I didn’t pack my own……we were travelling around Europe for 5 weeks and I didn’t want to have to haul one around. The beds were pretty hard and uncomfortable. If you are looking for a small, no frills hotel for a good price in Grindelwald, this is the place for you. Not sure we would book again, we probably would give up a few more Euros for a little more luxury. Grindelwald itself is gorgeous…..what a location! If it’s a clear enough day, you must go up the Jungfraujoch…….and remember that anyone with a Eurorail pass…….check the details first……but you should be able to get a 25% discount on this excursion (which is quite expensive at 127 euros per person). You must show your Eurorail pass when you go to purchase the tickets at the train station. We loved Grindelwald and recommend it to everyone. Eat at the C & M café…….excellent food for good prices and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

It was really 2 min or less from the Grindelwald Station. Easy access to the main area. 10 min(or less) walk to Gondola Station to First.
Breakfast was pretty good. Several kinds of cheese and ham, rolls breads, yogurt and boiled eggs and extra other stuff along with tea or coffee.
We didn't have mountain view with the rate we had. But if you have one, it should be great.
Shower was fine and good water pressure and lots of hot water.
We had triple room. So room was a bit small but good enough.
No shampoo/conditioner/hairdryer in a room.
There is free wifi throughout the hotel which had good connection.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HHHYYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This is a family run hotel set near the train station in the beautiful village of Grindelwald.
The hotel is very reasonably priced compared to others in the area and great vlue for money. The breakfasts are wonderful. The hotel and rooms are beautifully decorated with so many small 'touches' to make it feel like home. We came for 5 nights and stayed for 9. Loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennilaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

The hotel is rated as a 2* but the services offered by the hotel that included plenty of maps and guides/ train and bus time info and info on local area, an excellent breakfast laid out every morning with plenty of choice- fresh bread/ boiled eggs/ jams/ meats/ fresh juices etc, alongside the excellent hospitality off the staff and all round condition, cleanliness and presentation of the hotel itself- even down to umbrellas being available at the main door should you wish to borrow one during the day or evening, meant that our stay was more like one that you would expect of a 4 or 5 * rated hotel!  I would recommend this hotel to everyone.  It is opposite the train station -no dragging of suitcases for miles to get to the hotel once off the train!  It is also next to all Grindelwald has to offer-the 'first' cable car being 5 minutes up the road and the Mannlichen cable car being 5 minutes down the road.  Thoroughly recommended and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamLass25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Having just completed another stay at the Bel Air Eden Hotel, this is perhaps one of the best budget hotels in Switzerland. The price is amazing and the room we stayed in had obviously been renovated recently.

For skiers like me in the winter or walkers in the summer, you are right across the road from the train station which takes you to 'the top of Europe'

The owners are very friendly and English is spoken and the breakfast buffet is great.

I almost never stay at the same hotel twice, but I will be returning for the sixth (I think) time next year

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manhattan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Lehmann`s Herberge
Lehmann`s Herberge
#27 of 41 in Grindelwald
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#26 of 41 in Grindelwald
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Eden

Address: Dorfstrasse 76 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $121 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bel Air Eden 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bel Air Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Eden Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing