We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good quality budget hotel - an ideal base for skiers/ boarders”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We've just returned from a week's skiing trip. The Residence was a super base - a short 2 minute trip on the bus to the Firstbahn lift and a 5 minute walk to the town centre - you could almost ski back to the hotel from a blue run from the First area!
The room was a good size with plenty of storage and a decent sized bathroom with a shower with good water pressure - perfect after a hard day on the slopes. Although we were in a north facing room the view from the window was still good.
The hotel is very clean and has friendly staff. Breakfast was perfectly adequate with the usual continental breakfast in abundance (we took our own teabags to supplement the dreaded Lipton yellow Label tea bags).
The ski room and boot room with boot-warmers were just right and every morning we had nice dry boots.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulydoesdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2010

We had not been told that the hotel provided pickup and delivery between hotel and station. Unfortunately we did not find this out until we had dragged our bags up steep hills.
Breakfast was good and rooms were reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EK639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Rooms are standard. Cleaned once a day. Only breakfast is available (bread, sliced cheese and ham, tea / coffee, juices, jams, muesli). Hot breakfast is not seen. The restaurant is usually only works as a bar. View from the window at the mountains. One big disadvantage: CEMETERY is located 20 meters away from the hotel !!! It wasn’t mentioned in reviews at all ...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Grindelwald is an excellent choice in in the Bernese Oberland and this hotel is nicely located away from the noise of the main street and traffic. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable without being luxurious. We only ate in once, but it was the best meal we had in town. We had a south facing room with a glorious view of the Wetterhorn mountain and glacier. The service was excellent too. We were collected and delivered back to the train station for example. The one thing we did find was that the owner was really not that friendly. Maybe he was just too busy or had more pressing things to do than spend time talking to clients.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

This is a really warm and friendly, family-run hotel. We had a huge suite to ourselves--it was summer and some rooms in the hotel are geared for large ski-parties so we were lucky to get one of them, though how the six or so people the suite can accommodate would manage with one bathroom was a mystery to me--with fantastic views of the mountains from three sides! This hotel has some of the best hotel beds I have slept in. They have an absolutely fabulous restaurant--don't bother to step out the hotel for dinner. The soup they made for our son, who was suffering from hay fever was absolutely wonderful and had him feel a whole lot better the next morning. You also get complimentary access to a heated pool and sauna at a nearby hotel. The deal usually includes a free pick up and drop off from the station, but it is also only a 10 mt walk which is a breeze if you are acclimatized to the altitude. All in all a great place!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alab_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2009

An ideal place and best value for money. Travelling through Switzerland, we decided to stop in Grindelwald and what a fantastic place. The hotel is nicely located and we were more than satisfied with the accommodation and services. The owner and staff are friendly and the local food served is outstanding! We can highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Grindelwald Hotel Residence
17 Jan 2009
Super Hotel we stayed on a half board basis booked as part of a package,we had a north facing room which was very clean and of ample size and well equiped.The food is a dream,4 course evening meals and all you can eat breakfast.The staff are very friendly and helpfull.

The location of the Hotel is at the opposite end of the village to the railway station which means a 5 minute bus ride instead of a 15 minute walk in ski boots,because this is Switzerland everything runs like clockwork so this is not a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisLear555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#18 of 41 in Grindelwald
160 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#34 of 41 in Grindelwald
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lauberhorn
Hotel Lauberhorn
#19 of 41 in Grindelwald
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#17 of 41 in Grindelwald
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel & Apartments

Address: Rybigaessli 3, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $155 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing