We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Residence Result”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Residence Result”
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Grindelwald Hotel Residence
17 Jan 2009
Super Hotel we stayed on a half board basis booked as part of a package,we had a north facing room which was very clean and of ample size and well equiped.The food is a dream,4 course evening meals and all you can eat breakfast.The staff are very friendly and helpfull.

The location of the Hotel is at the opposite end of the village to the railway station which means a 5 minute bus ride instead of a 15 minute walk in ski boots,because this is Switzerland everything runs like clockwork so this is not a problem.

  • Liked — Fantastic Food
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLear555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Friendly staff always willing to help and advise us on the nest days weather! The evening meals were very different, mostly things that we would have never ordered ourselves but almost without exception were very tasty! Got to try some proper swiss food that we would have missed out on otherwise. Nice rooms, with a top notch daily cleaning service.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank salutethefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Termoli, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

The hotel is a typical mountain building with balconies rich of flowers. It is located 10 mins walking from city center, but it has a large free parking in front of the entrance.
My girlfriend and I booked a double superior room, which only difference from standard room is the presence of a balcony that looks toward eiger....what a great view!
The room is really clean, adequately spacious -related to a mountain room- with a really confortable bed and shutters to get almost completely darkness if you like it.
Breakfast is satisfying, but it is moreover a continental one, with no cooked food.
The receptionist was really kind with us, especially for the first breakfast,which we cannot have, because it is served from 7,00 am. That day we planned an excursion and the cheapest start was at 6,55 am, so she prepared us a delicious packed lunch, with sandwiches, choccolate and fruit, and she left it on a table in the lobby with our name on!! Great.
The only problem with this accomodation is the price which is a bit high for a three star hotel, but i think is aligned with otheer Grindelwald accomodation.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

The biggest detraction from this hotel is it's location, it is on the far side of town from the train station, so if you are not driving then it is about a 15 minute walk to get there. Also, the staff was cordial but not particularly helpful in giving information on recreational opportunities in the town. The rooms were pretty average, and the breakfast was good. Overall, I think there are probably hotels in Grindelwald that are a better value.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ctcharle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We stayed half board in this hotel as part of a Ski package holiday.
It is located at the other end of Grindlewald from the railway station. Grindelwald is not very large but when carrying skis to go up the mountain on the cog railway we took the ski bus to the station. Not a problem since the buses were frequent and the journey only took 5 minutes.

The hotel itself looked as if it had fairly recently been refurbished and our room was large and comfortable with private facilities.

The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent with a buffet breakfast and four course evening meal, always beautifully presented.

Although we didn't try it the hotel offered free admission to the pool at a nearby hotel.

  • Liked — Friendliness and food
  • Disliked — At other end of town than railway station
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enessde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Switzerland was somewhere we had long wanted to visit but thought it would too expensive for us, we were wrong. We booked on line with Crystal Lakes and Mountains and when the tickets came there was clear travelling instructions along with tickets for the train. I was a bit apprehensive about travelling on our own on the trains, but I needn't have worried as it was straight forward and everything is well signposted.

We picked Grindelwald as it appeared to be a good centre for walking and it was. The Hotel Residence was very good and the food excellent a different menu every night (we went for two weeks) the staff were also very friendly.

In with the holiday was a Swiss Pass which enabled us to buy a Jungfrau pass half price about £60.00 each for six days but it was well worth it, we certainly got our money's worth and also saw some amazing places. All the trains were on time and clean, in general were very impressed with the cleanliness and the politeness of the Swiss.

We are a couple in our late 50's so night life is not so important, I not sure what the town centre was like at night as after a days walking in beautiful areas all we wanted was a hot bath, good food and a comfy bed all of which we got at the Residence. The view from our room was not too bad, we were at the side of the hotel and did get a decent view of the Wetterhorn.

We were so impressed with Switzerland that we are going back this year but to a different part; I would however have hesitation in recommending the Hotel Residence.

  • Liked — The excellent food
  • Disliked — pleased with everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandDilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Booked directly with hotel. Communicated with Mr. Herbert Rensch, who despite my offer , did not want my Visa as guarantee even tho I booked about 6 months prior to our trip and even at check-in they did not ask for for our Visa.

Check in was smooth, staff very friendly, warm and welcoming.After the coldness of hotel staff at the Du Lac in Bellagio it was so refreshing to be here.

Room: We booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite with kitchen. Unit was great. Well stocked, full size fridge/freezer, oven, stovetop, dishwasher utensils. We stayed 3 nights, but could have comfortably spent a week here, provided we brought our own linens. Bedrooms comfy but basic. Pillows too soft even tho I tried using two. No topsheet only fitted sheets and then a duvet which creeps me out as I do not like using hotel comforters. Bathrooms well appointed.

Location: Excellent. Balcony overlooked the Eiger. Walking distance to Firstbahn and Grindelwaldbahn. Close to restaurants, walkable to Coop for groceries.

Rate: 360CHF = 360 Canadian, including breakfast for family of 4. Breakfast was good. Breads, cheeses, cold cuts, cereal, tea/coffee, but no hot component. Free parking.

Overall a great hotel, wonderful staff and view second to none.

  • Liked — Location and wonderful staff
  • Disliked — Bed linens need updating ie better pillows , mattresses and two sheets.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sungirlxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lauberhorn
Hotel Lauberhorn
#18 of 41 in Grindelwald
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#14 of 41 in Grindelwald
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gasthof Panorama
Gasthof Panorama
#35 of 41 in Grindelwald
28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#32 of 41 in Grindelwald
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#24 of 41 in Grindelwald
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel Restaurant

Property: Residence Hotel Restaurant
Address: Rybigaessli 3, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Hotel Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing