We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Hotel & Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$406
$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eigerblick(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$182
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$234
$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$138
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Spinne(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$199
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$189
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Hotel Wolter(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$133
$129
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
22
25
18
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
25
18
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bus passgreat viewthree starbreadgood sizecerealbalconieswifiswitzerlandwalkablemountainsviewsfurniture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 69 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This Hotel is a great place to stay. We enjoyed the friendly and personable service from all the staff. The rooms are very clean and pleasant and the daily breakfast gave us a great for the day. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We 1st booked this hotel from the past review here and was sold on having Indian food.
We arrived 2nd week of June and were told there was no longer an Indian restaurant.
However the rooms were clean and the view was fantastic, it may be far for some to walk but for me after dinner it was a great stroll.
I love Grindelwald and hope to return in a few years.

Room Tip: Choose Mountain View it is worth every cent.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneezy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is located at the end of the Grindelwald town so its slightly out of the main market. But you get a bus into the town right outside which makes life really convenient. The hotel has spacious, clean rooms. But the USP is the staff! The lady at the reception and the staff in the restaurant were very nice and helpful (one of teh best I have seen in Switzerland). They always went out of their way to help us and ensure that we had a good time.
The hotel has an Indian restaurant which serves delicious, authentic Indian food. We actually got masala chai and samosas for the evening snack. The food is slightly expensive but worth every franc.
Free parking, free wifi and free breakfast, all for CHF 150 a day in August, made this a pretty good deal and an amazing experience for us.

Room Tip: They charge you 20 francs extra for a room view with the mountain view and balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnehaBeriwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you are an Indian and want Indian food then you will simply love this place. Vikas, the cook, makes it so tasty that you forget for a moment that you are out of India. Cuisine is authentic Indian and simply mind-blowing to come back to after a tiring day of sight-seeing. Even Interlaken or any place else could not give me such precise & yummy Indian taste.
Bridgit, the General Manager, and Alexandra, the Stewardess, are simply fantastic. Super energetic and always cheerful. Humility is not something Swiss know as a quality so don't feel insulted by their in-your-face replies - once you see the country you will realise everyone's like that. These ladies did make our stay and eating very very nice. On an odd rainy day, they don't hesitate to send a Driver to Stn to pick you up provided you inform in advance.
Rooms are very very small so you feel claustrophobic but the view of snow-capped Mount Eiger lying from the bed is blissful! Very clean and fresh. Beds & Pillows are nice and comfy.
The hotel is a good 20-25 minutes walk from Railway Station which makes its location very very irritating when you return in the evening. In Switz, you invariably walk a lot thru the day so legs couldn't be fresh at that time. Public Bus service is available from Railway Stn to Hotel provided you catch the last bus at 6:59 PM. Who would be back so early especially when you have only a few days to spend in one of the most expensive countries in the world, I mean who would visit again so one would want to make the most of this visit and days will obviously be long. Shops enroute are too expensive & close at 6 PM. Bars galore so you can always stop for a drink.
Grindelwald as a place to stay in is nice, peaceful country side in the hills. What I did was to stay here and travel all over Switz, which made my every day travel to various cities rather time consuming because Grindelwald is not centrally located at all. Its where the Railway network almost ends. Most visitors to Switz live in 2-3 cities for 2 nights each but I hate to pack bags every other day so I like to live in 1 place. For this Interlaken is a better option- close to hills, touristy & long nice promenade!
Indian plugs don't enter Swiss sockets. Carry an international travel adapter to suit your country's plugs.

Room Tip: Take a corner room, it gives a more roomier feeling!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank live_to_travel4250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed one week in April 2013 in Residence Hotel Grindelwald. The hotel is simple, but offers everything you need for a quiet week of holiday in Grindelwald. The hotel is located near the church in a quiet side street. You receive a free bus pass for the excellent bus service in Grindelwald. The hotel offers simp,le rooms or apartments. The apartments have a small kitchenette (that we did not use). The views are stunning and you can relax on the balcony with a glass of wine. The design of the rooms is simple and in traditional style. There is everything you need, and the beds are comfortable. The combination of the comfortable beds and the good mountain air made me sleep very well. Breakfast is simple, but sufficient. Try the alp cheese that comes from the cow that the hotel hires from the local farmer. The service in the family run hotel is excellent. When I was young, I travelled very often to the Alps with my parents. But nothing beats the stunning views in Grindelwald. From Grindelwald, it is also easy to explore further Switzerland provided you have a car. We made sidetrips to Bern, Basel, Thun, Zermatt, etc. Great (but expensive) holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and with a balcony. Why not opt for one of the apartments?
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stride2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews