We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at the hotel in June 2012... I have to say that is was the best experience that we had... the hotel has a fantastic view of the glacial beauty of Swiss Alps... it also was just a 10 minute walk away from the lovely riverside... situated in the quaint town of Grindelwald.. it is only an hour away from Interlaken... where all the adventure sports are hosted... The hotel itself has an excellent staff, great food and cozy rooms.. we had the bestest time at this hotel... although we do not ski I am sure this will be heaven for the skiiers..

Must recommend for a relaxing stay..

Room Tip: Get room on the second floor upto 25 #s... these are facing the mountains...the others have only a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PNB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 66 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2011

Hey peeps!
Well my partner and i arrived at the hotel around 11pm after a long transfur in the dark (boring) we where dropped at the sunstar and then taken by taxi to the hotel?? why i dont know? our crystal rep showed us to our room and even got us some milk after i said i was in need of some coffee, job well done by them me thinks!
the next morning my partner went for his early morning vitamins (marboro lights) to be confronted by the biggest mountains both of us had ever seen they seem to rise from the carpark! shock wasnt the word! oh and if you look to your right as people have mentioned and seemed concerned about there is a cemetery. all the people there seem friendly enough didnt say much and moved even less! what people dont like about cemeterys i have no idea, an invasion of the body snatchers? a real life thriller dance? who knows?....... back to the hotel.....
rooms where fine very 1980s travel lodge same layout too, the bathroom hmmm tiles tiles n more tiles but the pattern could keep you busy finding a path from one side of the room to the other while you where "busy" :-)
food: same everyday but all good, 3 types of cold meat 3 of cheese 4 of cereal, bread, juice, yogourt ect usual morning foods oh and a choice of tea or coffee.
as the dude below mentioned you could and can ski back to the hotel all be it 20m but whos counting, but if you got the speed right and your angle down the runs you could no doubt end up in the carpark? we only skied back to the hotel once rather icy in some parts theres me ooooh pretty mountains oh look a tree! is that a mountain goat i spy? then bang! ice and a rather long row of the naughty words! but all fun fun fun!
also you can use the pool for free at the sports center and a hotel round the corner the hotels is loads better plus they have a hot tub sauna and loungers to have a nice lil snooze.
hmm what else to say about the hotel...... salt! they need salt going into the carpark its a canny hill down and round to the hotel theres my partner minding his own and whoops down on his butt (lil chuckle inside from me) then the next day karma got its own back and i took a tumble skiis got thrown as i fell hip nice n bruised :-(
all in all a good hotel but if i ever went back id take some salt n sprinkle as i go ta ta for now travelers! :-)))

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durham6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We've just returned from a week's skiing trip. The Residence was a super base - a short 2 minute trip on the bus to the Firstbahn lift and a 5 minute walk to the town centre - you could almost ski back to the hotel from a blue run from the First area!
The room was a good size with plenty of storage and a decent sized bathroom with a shower with good water pressure - perfect after a hard day on the slopes. Although we were in a north facing room the view from the window was still good.
The hotel is very clean and has friendly staff. Breakfast was perfectly adequate with the usual continental breakfast in abundance (we took our own teabags to supplement the dreaded Lipton yellow Label tea bags).
The ski room and boot room with boot-warmers were just right and every morning we had nice dry boots.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulydoesdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We had not been told that the hotel provided pickup and delivery between hotel and station. Unfortunately we did not find this out until we had dragged our bags up steep hills.
Breakfast was good and rooms were reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EK639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Rooms are standard. Cleaned once a day. Only breakfast is available (bread, sliced cheese and ham, tea / coffee, juices, jams, muesli). Hot breakfast is not seen. The restaurant is usually only works as a bar. View from the window at the mountains. One big disadvantage: CEMETERY is located 20 meters away from the hotel !!! It wasn’t mentioned in reviews at all ...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Grindelwald is an excellent choice in in the Bernese Oberland and this hotel is nicely located away from the noise of the main street and traffic. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable without being luxurious. We only ate in once, but it was the best meal we had in town. We had a south facing room with a glorious view of the Wetterhorn mountain and glacier. The service was excellent too. We were collected and delivered back to the train station for example. The one thing we did find was that the owner was really not that friendly. Maybe he was just too busy or had more pressing things to do than spend time talking to clients.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

This is a really warm and friendly, family-run hotel. We had a huge suite to ourselves--it was summer and some rooms in the hotel are geared for large ski-parties so we were lucky to get one of them, though how the six or so people the suite can accommodate would manage with one bathroom was a mystery to me--with fantastic views of the mountains from three sides! This hotel has some of the best hotel beds I have slept in. They have an absolutely fabulous restaurant--don't bother to step out the hotel for dinner. The soup they made for our son, who was suffering from hay fever was absolutely wonderful and had him feel a whole lot better the next morning. You also get complimentary access to a heated pool and sauna at a nearby hotel. The deal usually includes a free pick up and drop off from the station, but it is also only a 10 mt walk which is a breeze if you are acclimatized to the altitude. All in all a great place!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alab_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#35 of 41 in Grindelwald
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
#29 of 41 in Grindelwald
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#14 of 41 in Grindelwald
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bodmi
Hotel Bodmi
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel & Apartments

Address: Rybigaessli 3, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $136 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing