We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, just amazing!”
Review of Hotel Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cabana
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing, just amazing!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The only thing I would say about this place is that it's amazing. Great location, breath taking views (make sure you take a room which faces the valley on the back). Brilliant breakfast spread. Very helpful staff. Only downside is that it is a bit of a walk from Grindelwald train station but the owners are willing to pick and drop if told in advance. Liked it so much that I sent my parents as well and they too have the same opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishi9437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    28
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

After travelling around Europe for a month and experiencing the various sorts of service you can receive, this hotel was just amazing. Only a 5 minute walk down the hill from the train station, so very close to all the restaurants and shops. Firstly, AMAZING views. Absolutely breathtaking. We sat on our balcony for hours just taking in the views. Breakfast was the best selection we have had whilst in Europe. Many pastries, drinks, cheese etc and all of it fresh. Staff were lovely and offered us coffee and omelettes as soon as we sat down. Service was so helpful, booked our tickets to Jungfrau. On our last day we had to leave super early and miss breakfast, so staff made us a huge bag of food the night before to take with us! Wifi worked fine for us, not a single issue. Room was big and bathroom more spacious then most we have encountered. I honestly could not fault this hotel. When I next come to Grindelwald I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

"WOW!" is the only one word when we walked outside of our door. We were three couples and stayed at Cabana for 3 nights. Our rooms face the Eiger at ground floor with stunning view and a verdant lawn. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff are very kind and friendly. The breakfast was wonderful as well, they served many kinds of bread, croissants, yogurt and fruits muesli. 10 min walk to the train station and supermarket. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for reasonably priced accommodation in Grindelwald.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond_Chen1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Although it is a bit further out of town than I thought, and not walking distance for us, we still found this hotel to be great. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a room on the ground floor which had a little patio with 2 chairs and a table outside our door with the most magnificent mountain view. The room was quite comfortable with a minibar and kettle to make a hot drink. The breakfast was the standard European type food but quite good and plenty of it. My favourite part of the hotel though was the cute red lift--I mean it IS RED. It's only tiny (fitting 2 people and a bit of luggage) but it whizzes you from floor to floor in no time.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 are on the ground floor with patios. Other rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel after positive reviews read and was disappointed. True that all swisserland is expensive, won't mention that as a reason, but just arrived from a similarly priced hotel in Zermatt and Cabana is far from that because of:
- not fully reovated in many years. Suite's kitchen andn bath old but wors is the carpet... It is way too old and stinks much after so much chemicals on it.
- no wifi signal in the room. I had to sit next to the room entrance were I had the only spot with any signal
- breakfast good I read? Average perhaps. No service to prepare a homellet, bad juice, limited bakery. Only good thing the cheese assortment.
- Cold people not service oriented. Last hotel we stayed at we felt at home at owners were after guests all day.
- limited room cleanning. With the environment excuse. bed lining is not cleaned daily, something I don't mind much since I don't do so at home neither, but other papers and stuff on the floor are not cleaned. I think they just surpassed the max radioactivity levels on the carpet.

Good thing on this hotel, which I guess is the main reason for the positive reviews, is the views of the Eiger mountain. But don't be misguided, I think this views you can get in most hotels in the town. Personally I'd look for something better at least until they renovate.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank elejabarrieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bettinabohren, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Cabana, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Google Translation
Danke für Ihre ehrliche Rückmeldung.
Die Bodenbeläge haben im vergangenen Jahr sehr gelitten und wir haben diese trotz grossem Reinigungsaufwand nicht mehr sauber bekommen, daher werden wir sämtliche Teppiche diesen Herbst ersetzen.
Gerne glauben wir, dass Sie nach Ihrem Aufenthalt im Coeur des Alpes in Zermatt enttäuscht waren vom Standard im Hotel Cabana. Wir bewegen uns aber auch nicht im gleichen Preissegment - die Zimmerpreise im Hotel Cabana sind 2-4 x tiefer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have recently stayed here for 9 nights. The room was fresh, clean, well appointed, spacious and had a wonderful balcony with a view of the North Face of the Eiger. The balcony is partly covered so is protected even if it rains (only once in 9 days for us). Absolutely stunning. The buffet breakfasts were excellent with a wide range of cheeses and cold meats on different types of bread, croissants, yoghurt, fresh fruit and more. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Much of our contact was with a relatively new member of staff, Ursula, whose advice and comments were really useful and interesting and who wore a beautiful local costume on Switzerland's National Day. The hotel is quiet and just 400m from the village centre. We have absolutely no doubts about recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Grindelwald.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the North Face of the Eiger. It may be more expensive but the views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnandSteveinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for a 25th anniversary vacation to Switzerland. Room 6 was on the 2nd floor, which is one floor down from the lobby/reception area and was a corner room so we had a great breeze. We couldn't get the wifi to cooperate enough to upload pictures to FB or IMessage, but it was ok for checking email. I loved the breakfast - the morning host spoke a little English and was friendly and very responsive to anything we asked for. The hot pot in the room was a nice touch and the instant coffee wasn't bad. I LOVED the balcony overlooking the mountains, especially with the fleece blankets to cover up in. We had a few flies in the room as European hotels don't seem to come with window screens. The beds were super comfy and the down comforters were actually down and not poly-fill. The only cons are that there was a faint odor of mothballs in the room when we arrived and the bathroom was tiny. We left the balcony door and windows open, which cleared up the mothball smell by the next morning. We had a car, but most guests appeared to come by train. One morning the hostess drove a couple to train station with their luggage, which I thought was a nice touch. The backyard of the hotel faces the backyard of a neighborhood and we enjoyed this slice of Swiss life: one day an older couple was haying just yards from the window.

Room Tip: Room 6 faces the mountains and is a corner room for extra light and window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsClean76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#19 of 41 in Grindelwald
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabana

Property: Hotel Cabana
Address: Dorfstrasse 46, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cabana 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabana Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing