We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a great 2-night stay in a room on the top floor. The room was cozy and clean, beds were comfortable, showers were good, staff were friendly, and breakfast foods (breads, yogurt, cereal, boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses, tea, coffee, juice) were of high quality. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the train station (about 15 minutes) but this didn't bother us. It had great views of the mountains, as advertised in the name. One tip is to bring your own soap and shampoo. We stayed in a room with bathroom and there was only liquid soap provided, nothing for the shower. Liked this place a lot & would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milchtoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Best part about the place was the staff and the breakfast. I still crave the fresh bread. As a non-smoking nurse, the smokey smell from the bar was a little much. We kept the windows open and made sure we shut our door right away. There is a no smoking in the hotel rooms but the smell is overwhelming still. The staff was so nice and recommended places to visit. The shower was fine.Would stay there again. The only affordable place in town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TayArnold479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We were blown away by the locality. Our windows opened up to a view of the Eiger, a surreal experience at night as we had a full moon.
The dining facility was top class and provided great food on the 2 occasions we used the facility for evening meals.
The room price included breakfast and here again we were not disappointed. Great care was taken by the staff to present the food that was on offer.
All in all a fantastic find for our stay in Grindelwalt.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've stayed at the Alpenblick several times now and wanted to stress that the management and staff really are exceptional. I had prompt replies to 2 emails I sent before I arrived, they arranged a very early breakfast for me when I had a dash to the airport and when my car wouldn't start, Jurg even came out with his car and jump leads to give me a boost and save the day. Thank you all very much for your efforts.

Best wishes, Andy (from 'Powdies')

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

good breakfast, food, location, nice staff and clean rooms.

Very good value for the price not much more than the cost of a dorm bed hostel in this expensive town.

only caveat is if your room neighbours are noisy you might be disturbed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was absolutely everything we needed. It was very clean, the staff was wonderful, and the room was very comfortable. We had a private room with an en suite bath and although the bathroom is small, it's all we needed. The shower was great with a height-adjustable showerhead! We had the room at the end of the hall, so we were furthest away from the big, beautiful deck with the most amazing view, but that was fine because it meant no one walked past our room. We spent every afternoon relaxing on the deck after spending the day hiking and exploring. The restaurant was pretty good, too and the food there was reasonably priced (when compared to the rest of the places to eat in town). We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPMom805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed with a group of friends while passing through on our bicycles. We booked a six-bedded room and our low expectations were barely met. One of the beds was pretty much useless due to springs sticking out everywhere. The one guy had to sleep on the floor. The rest of the beds was nothing to write home about either, BUT the hotel is in a great location and the people are very friendly. I suspect that the "regular" double rooms are better than this one example, which might be set aside for the more budget-oriented groups.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigCityCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.9 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
982 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gasthof Panorama
Gasthof Panorama
#33 of 41 in Grindelwald
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#36 of 41 in Grindelwald
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 16, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $80 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel alpenblick is located in one of the most breathtaking valleys of the world, and is worth a visit in winter or summer time. In summer the hotel is the starting point for hike and bike trips in the wonderful mountains of Grindelwald. The bus stop is located in front of the hotel, so you can reach all the cable cars easily without walking. On our nice terrace, you can get a drink and enjoy the mountains after a hard day spent in the nature. In winter the ski slopes end directly in front of the hotel. With the skibus, which stops in front of the main door, you can reach easily all cable cars. The hotel Alpenblick is located at the end of the village, and not out of it. The village centre is about 10 minutes or 1 kilometre away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing