We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy Hiking Group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
zurich
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Happy Hiking Group”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed here with a group of 15 friends - mixture of double rooms with/without bathroom and a quad with mezzanine. The owners were flexible and helpful with the booking and the rooms were all great - bright and modern, quiet and very clean with awesome views. Theres a good on-site bar and the atmosphere was lovely.
The food (dinner and breakfast) was just average but filling with reasonable choice - but as the hotel is a little bit out of town and we were tired, this wasn't that important

Room Tip: No-one had any complaints about their room - there's a lovely big terrace on the 2nd floor. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tritravellerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    53
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
53
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

First the good, no, the great part. The location and view are stunning. You wake up to the sound of cowbells. Breakfast is really good, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Bedding was clean as was the entire facility including shared bathrooms. Short walk to the nearest local bus stop, local buses are free with accommodations and you also get a discount card which is very handy, given the prices of the lifts and trains in the area. Decent bar/restaurant downstairs if you want a beer after your hike, although in the swing season it's closed Monday and Thursday. And the price was great, about $100 per night

However, the carpet is old and dingy, the walls are the Swiss equivalent of thin wood paneling, and the walls and doors are very thin so you can hear everything. We had a room near the road so it was very noisy from traffic (it's not a major highway by any means, but it's on a hill so the vehicles that do go by are at their noisiest). The pillows, which were real feather, caused both of us to have allergic reactions, so either they have been damp or they were not hypo-allergenic washed feathers (I suspect the latter). The pillows are also rather thin, I doubled mine over and it was still pretty flat.

If you are on a really tight budget and/or are using the room as a sleeping spot only, it's fine like any other clean, modest motel might be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzuki267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The best part of this hotel was the view from our window. It was the best for my entire trip in switzerland. The room was comfortable, could have been a bit bigger. Shared bathroom and toilets. Clean facilities. There is a restaurant downstairs, so if you get late getting there you always have the option of eating at the restaurant or in your room. The breakfast was great - everything was good quality! Quite a bit of walk from teh station if you are travelling with luggage, but very convinient if you are driving. The lady at reception spoke nicely, and helped us with all teh information we needed. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner_ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

The Alpenblick Hotel had a reasonable price for Swiss Bed and Breakfasts. We loved our comfortable room, which had a ladder leading into a very large loft. Everything was very clean and well-kept. Tiny bathroom, but adequate for our needs. Great breakfast and service, but unsettling (sexually-explicit) photos on walls in breakfast room. Not recommended for families wanting a pure atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefranks73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Twenty plus years ago, my husband often stayed at the Alpenblick with organized hiking and climbing groups. Fast forwarding to now, with extended family in tow, when looking for the right way to go to Grindelwald, his first phone call was to the Alpenblick. Our rooms were clean (impeccably), the food is filling fare, the price (of the rooms) is more than right, the knowledgeable owners kind and very professional. They gave hiking advice and excursion insight, checked the trains and busses for us, and were absolutely welcoming!!!
The Alpenblick is bit of walk from town, and that added to the charm of the whole experience for each of us. After all, we were there to hike and spend as much time as possible enjoying the magnificent mountains! Grindelwald and the Alpenblick are a superb foundation from which to explore the glorious trails of this special and majestic region. We are hoping to get back there next summer with even more family members in tow.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2010

This hotel was decent, and affordable in a town that's really, really expensive. That being said, there was nothing spectacular about it, except the view, of course, which was great (but that's probably true of any room in Grindelwald).

We had a shared shower/bathroom, which was fine because there was hardly anyone there. I would probably be annoyed, though, if I was there during ski season and had to wait to shower our use the bathroom, and there seemed to be only 2 of each in our section of the hotel (for probably at least 6 double occupancy rooms). The shower had intense, almost scary water pressure. Our "double" bed was really just two single beds pushed together, but this seemed to be the trend all throughout Switzerland.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2008

This is a great place for a reasonable comfortable stay. I was a part of a small group with Cloudbase Paragliding (Wilderness South Africa) that runs tours here every year (I guess they come back for a reason)... I opted for a double room without a private WC but this actually worked very well as there was a sink and a mirror. I never had to wait for the shower (that was very clean and dry) or the WC... oh, the beds are VERY comfy and the pillows were nice too. Fresh towels every day – I think this is rated 3 stars but the cleanest and most comfortable I’ve stated in (US or abroad).

The food is very good and I really enjoyed dinners. Breakfast is cereals, bread & cheese etc so if you are looking for a hot breakfast, you may be disappointed.. It was very quiet and dog friendly - there were several in residence although you never heard them.

The buses stop just up the road or you can walk (about 15 mins from the train station). I was a bit daunted as it takes 2 changes on the train to get to Grindelwald from Zurich but it was very easy and SO worth it. Eddie and his wife are very accommodating and I am looking forward to staying again next year.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pharmgal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lauberhorn
Hotel Lauberhorn
#17 of 41 in Grindelwald
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant

Property: Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 16, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel alpenblick is located in one of the most breathtaking valleys of the world, and is worth a visit in winter or summer time. In summer the hotel is the starting point for hike and bike trips in the wonderful mountains of Grindelwald. The bus stop is located in front of the hotel, so you can reach all the cable cars easily without walking. On our nice terrace, you can get a drink and enjoy the mountains after a hard day spent in the nature. In winter the ski slopes end directly in front of the hotel. With the skibus, which stops in front of the main door, you can reach easily all cable cars. The hotel Alpenblick is located at the end of the village, and not out of it. The village centre is about 10 minutes or 1 kilometre away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing