We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Slice of Swiss Life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Hotel Steinbock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Steinbock
Ranked #3 of 22 Grindelwald B&B and Inns
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Slice of Swiss Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our stay at the Chalet Hotel Steinbock was equisite. The location could not have been more perfect and the staff and the food superb. It is most beautiful village you will ever visit and the local shops and restaurants remind me of the old days. It is truly a "must stay" when considering a trip to Switzerland.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view facing the Eiger mountain. You will not want to leave this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Steinbock guests from California.
Many thanks for your wonderful review and for having chosen the Steinbock for your stay in Grindelwald. Grindelwald is a naturally grown village. It was a farmer village before the first tourists started to come about 150 years ago. It has almost no modern buildings, most houses are in the very traditional chalet style. The mountain scenery is unique, as you mention. The famous Eiger (remember Eiger sanction with Clint Eastwood) is only one of many beautiful mountains. Hoping that you will return, be it in the winter of the summer, we remain with best regards.
Jackie & Salvatore Ponzio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel this month and were gobsmacked by the terrible customer service, bad attitude of staff and the amount of flies in this hotel. On our arrival, which was late afternoon, there was no-one at reception, which we soon realised was a regular occurrence. The only staff around were restaurant staff who just ignored us and when we asked if anyone could help us they just shrugged their shoulders at us and continued with their work. We started to feel very unwelcome. We were left standing in the entrance of the hotel for 15 minutes with no idea when anyone would be around to check us in.
The restaurant and hotel were literally crawling with flies, the ceiling was covered with them so much so they were crawling over our bags, it was disgusting especially in an area where food is being served. Finally one of the restaurant staff who shrugged her shoulders at us, when asking if she could check us in, decided she would check us in. So all along she was able to help us but decided she would check us in when she felt like it.

We had no help with our heavy bags even though they could see we were struggling and she was very abrupt with us. No mention of when dinner was or when breakfast was – not that we were going to eat there after seeing all those flies. She just gave us the key and pointed at the lift.

The rooms were basic and tired looking but fairly clean . However one of the maids burst into our room in the morning, without knocking. All in all this is a 1-2 star hotel at most with a 0 star customer service. If you still decide you want to stay here stay on a room only basis and avoid the restaurant at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrams57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypcbeam, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Steinbock guests.
We are really very sorry for what happened to you in our small budget hotel Steinbock. This summer is pretty wet and therefore flies are entering the bulding whereever a door or a window is open. By the way, we are not the only hotel/restaurant with that problem. We had several experts taking a look at the situation, but there would be only one solution and that would be a special chemical spray, that would have to be applied regularly. Not really a healthy solution and very expensive in addition. Thanks God, we have that problem only on some days during the hottest period of the year. We however have a wonderful big terrace in summer, where lunch and dinner can be enjoyed and there, outside, we have no fly problem.
You arrived late afternoon, probably during the dinner break of our secretary. The waiters present (Italians) probably had to go and look for somebody speaking English and being able to do the check-in procedure, and that took some time. We apologize. We are sorry, that we have no luggage service, but our very small budget hotel cannot afford any porters. We however have an elevator, something most budget hotels don't have.
The rooms by the way have the size of a 4 star hotel room and we have no idea why you are calling them tired. The rooms are rustic, wodden ceiling and walls, the quality of the furniture is of a top standard, a brand that many 4 star hotels cannot afford.
Again, we apologize for everything that went wrong.
Yours sincerely.
Salvatore Ponzio,(manager and co-owner) and Urs Hauser (co-owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Hotel Steinbock in the centre of Grindelwald, Switzerland.
We were camping and the heavens opened in biblical style so we needed a posh camping place,ie a hotel.
Not cheap at 90 Swiss francs per person per night plus tax and B'fast.
Room was fine, good view of the Eiger through the rain and at the front. Room good size but a tad dull....but dry !! We tried to get into the Restaurant but it was filled, and I mean really filled up with visitors from Japan....we went across the road and purchased another part of the Bernese Oberland, ie the part we must have missed on our previous visits !!!
The Hotel breakfast was ok, just.
All a bit soul less and predictable and expensive....but dry.
Would we go back, probably not, would look for a B&B in the lower town.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room, view of the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianandnikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypcbeam, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Steinbock guest.
thank you for your stay in our hotel. We are sorry to hear, that you would not return. CHF 90.- might be expensive for you now. Our rate in Swiss Francs,was even higher 10 years ago, but at that time the Swiss Franc was not so strong. Your currency, only 3 years ago was 2.25 to the Swiss Franc. You would have paid £ 40.- but now with the actual exchange rate you had to pay over £ 60.- That is a difference of over 30%, It is the Swiss Franc that got expensive not our hotel. Our rates, as mentioned are lower than 10 years ago, our salary costs (average £ 3'500.- per month and person) are however much higher, yes the highest in the world and therefore even with CHF 90.- we make no profit, we must be happy if we get even.
You have seen many Japanese. Most of them probably were Koreans or Chinese. Thanks to that clientele, coming also in groups, we might survive that European financial crisis, that pushed the Swiss Franc so high. It is now 30% to 40% overvalued and makes our life and that of our clients very difficult.
The rooms by the way, have the size and comfort of a 4 star hotel. Only because the previous owners did not build a proper reception and no lobby, we are rated 3 stars only.
With best regards.
Salvatore Ponzio (manager and co-owner) and Urs Hauser (co-owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainb0wtraveler
Level Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

The rooms were clean and comfortable, restaurant food was decent, and the breakfast buffet in the morning was a bit on the sparse side. The wifi signal was weak and inconsistent. They provide a vat of water to boil your eggs in the morning - great for being able to make soft or hard boiled eggs! Cheese served in the morning - delicious, and they also had bread and cold cereal. Walk to the train station was about a 10 minute walk downhill from the hotel. Location was beautiful, but unfortunately, we were there before the ski season opened and very few shops were open. There is a little grocery market about a 2 minute walk away or a Coop grocery about 8 minutes walk.

Beware of the shower head -- if you turn on the water full blast, you and whole room will get sprayed when you pull out the knob to move the water up to the showerhead! Beds were excellent and comfortable with a down comforter for each bed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainb0wtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear guest of the Chalet Hotel Steinbock Grindelwald.
Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. Before the winter season starts, the resort is very quiet, our hotel one of the few open. There were not many guests when you stayed with us and it is therefore very difficult to offer a bigger breakfast buffet. A wide choice of breads, meats, cheeses would mean, that far over half of it would have to be thrown away after each breakfast. Did you ask the waiter to prepare some dishes for you, fried eggs for example or to offer what you considered missing ?
Your judgment at the bottom is better than on top, you give only once 3 points (value) 4 or even 5 for the other issues. What a pity, that you put only 3 dots on the top.
Thank you for mentioning the problem with the shower, we will try to get that fixed.
With best regards
Urs and Salvatore (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Hotel Steinbock is in a perfect central location in Grindelwald. A 5 minute walk takes you to the main shopping area, to the First Gondola and the train station. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern. The restaurant was the best food we had in all of our Switzerland journey's. Ponzia and the entire wait staff provided excellent service and were attentive to their customers. We were able to enjoy the last street festival celebration where the hotel barbecued a whole pig and bratwurst. The pizza is the best around and the pasta dishes are outstanding. The gave us a day pass for the local bus that goes to a few of the neighboring communities and it stops right out the hotels front door. The provided breakfast was excellent with everything you might expect, eggs, cheese, bread, meats, jams, jellies, cereals, yogurts, fruit, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Steinbock guest.
Thank you very much for having chosen the Steinbock for yoru stay in Grindelwald. Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are very happy, that you wrote a review, as happy guests hardly ever do, unhappy ones however almost always.
We wish you all the best and hope, that you will return soon again.
with best regards.
Salvatore Ponzio, manager and co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Disappointing experience considering all the good reviews about the staff in this hotel.
Travelled with my Dad who is approaching 90.
Essential he has disabled facilities available when travelling.
E-mailed hotel regarding such a room well in advance of staying and phoned twice before giving credit card details. I was assured in writing and verbally a disabled room was available in the hotel and would be given to Dad.
We arrived early evening and discovered the room had been given to a group of very fit and lively young people.
I did not consider the room which had been allocated to my father to be safe but had no choice but to stay . We had been travelling continuously for 10 hours and were very tired . It was not possible to start looking for alternatives in a popular resort in high summer.
Whilst I had an apology from reception, this was not very helpful considering all the time I had spent prior to arrival trying to get the right room for my father. It was an unsuitable room for someone with mobility issues.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Byford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Sir. We fully understand your disappointment. The Steinbock, our very small chalet hotel has got only one room, that is suitable for people in a wheelchair. Unfortunately, where people work, mistakes are made and our secretary that very day did not read the correspondence well enough, something that should not happen, but here we are, it did. We are really very sorry.
Yours sincerely, Urs-B. Hauser, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#14 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.5 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Steinbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Steinbock

Property: Chalet Hotel Steinbock
Address: Dorfstrasse 189, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel Steinbock 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Hotel Steinbock is a beautiful wooden chalet, right in the centre of Grindelwald, just next to the first gondola (skiing area in winter, hiking paradise in the summer). The Steinbock was mentioned in books in 1700, but was completely rebuilt in 1991. It is famous for its restaurant - the most popular restaurant in town - with Italian and Swiss cuisine. The restaurant is famous for the huge steaks, the great pizzas, the excellent liver, to just name a few dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Hotel Steinbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing