We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aparthotel Eiger”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Aparthotel Eiger”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments at this hotel. It was a 2 bed with balcony. Great size, nice kitchen very well equipped. Balcony view of mountains. Nice big TV with UK freeview channels
which we weren't expecting and also we had wifi in the room which we also weren't expecting as the hotel info said free wifi only in hotel public areas. So very nice. Rooms were very clean and beds really comfortable with lovely pillows and bedding. Staff helpful and friendly, Melanie on front desk checked us in and she couldn't have been more welcoming. Good value and right in centre of Grindelwald so great location. Will stay again in the future. This area of Switzerland is amazing and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    144
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
149
260
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Good location , eiger mountain view,
dinner was nice too :) the restaurant was busy , the interior of the rest was made of wood to give effect of a chalet. Nice buffet , we enjoyed
Nice rooms with balcony
Would visit again, we had spent only one night but hopefully would stay for more

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFeet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was our second visit to the hotel (our first being in 2006) and the staff sweetly remembered us. 2 weeks of perfect bliss in the hotel. We stayed in the studio apartment (which could do with a bit of an update), the room was immaculate and the beds were very comfy. Fabulous views of the Eiger!

The food in the various eateries within the hotel were brilliant. The Mongolian BBQ in Barry's restaurant was fab, slight delay in trying to get drinks but this was purely due to how busy the restaurant was and the girls were run off their feet.

Our favourite was the memory bar, there were some great deals on burgers and I loved the Rostis.

Free coffee and cake every day was a lovely treat and a nice way to unwind from a long day in the mountains.

Very central location and we would not stay anywhere else in Grindelwald and we can't wait to go back. Staff really make your holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up to get best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChunkyMonkey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a studio apt with a balcony~I didn't want to leave. Greeted with a glass of wine and friendliness, we checked in. The apartment hotel is in a 60s or 70s style building~not a charming Swiss Chalet, but was nevertheless amazing. It is in a location with plenty of infrastructure (some would say touristy) to serve you. This place has a coffee/tea with cake hour you don't want to miss! It also has a fabulous spa/gym and free classes like Pilates, Hatha yoga and Jazzercise. There is Wifi, parking and a washer and dryer. Things to do without driving include train rides to The top of the World, cable car rides and hiking trails. You can visit cheese makers and a glacier gorge. They speak English and are very nice. I loved the studio with balcony with a view and fixed my own breakfast and dinner, because for Americans Switzerland is very expensive. Yes, some things could use a facelift like the carpets and exterior paint, but I wouldn't let that bother me. This is a great value and an easy walk from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitanurseOxnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The city is quite small and the Hotel is right on middle of it, so for location is really one of the best options! It also has a great view from the balcony if you get one direct to the alps! Another really good thing that impressed us was the restaurant, which has a really nice environment mixed between bar and cosy restaurant very romantic.
One observation is you need to go naked if you go to the Sauna, or pay and reserve a time alone with your partner/family.
There is a public pool very nice nearby in the center which you can also pay a day since there is no pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabasjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We struck gold with this accommodation, right in the heart of Grindelwald. With absolutely everything within walking distance. The car was parked out the back and didn't move for the duration of our stay. The rooms were tidy and the kitchenette was a bonus for us as we could have our usual breakfast without fuss. The beds were comfy and clean. The gymnasium was fully equipped and free if you wanted to make use of it. There is a grocery store 3 shops away and the train station is a 5 minute walk. We will definitely stay here again should we return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Eiger and what a pleasure it was.
We stayed on a half board basis and ate in Barrys Restaurant each evening. The food was of excellent standard and such a varied menu, in fact it was difficult to choose. Well done to the Chef on turning out such fantastic meals. Well done also to all of the staff who went out of their way to help make our stay so good. A special thanks to the owners who every day came to ask if we were okay and a special thanks to Nicole and Mirka. Breakfast was a buffet type and reasonable. Beware over the bacon and eggs! they go pretty fast, mainly due to the small quantity on offer.
The only negative I can think of was that I paid quite a lot to upgrade our room for one with a balcony, Room 534. The décor and furnishings was quite shabby and the lighting was poor, in fact in the bathroom it was even gloomier. We did complain about the lack of light and after promises of extra lights non was forthcoming.
This was our first visit to Switzerland which we loved and Grindelwald itself is a superb bas to venture out for walking. As we are both in our sixties we would hope to return, you certainly need to be reasonably fit
An unforgettable experience..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graval007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Property: Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing