We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently traveled through Switzerland and Germany and this was our favorite hotel of the whole trip! The hospitality was amazing. Breakfast was great. We happened to visit during the off season , so the town was quiet, but it was beautiful because they had just received snow. We would have loved to stay another night, but this was just a stop-over so we could visit the Top of Europe. We look forward to visiting in the Summer!

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of their remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluefrogs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 592 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

We go to Grindelwald every year for skiing and always stay here in the serviced apartments. While the apartments in themselves are nothing brilliant there is something about the hotel that is very warm and inviting. We love staying here - it is brilliantly located on the main street with all the restaurants and shops near by. The Grindelwald first cable car station is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and enough ski rental places are across the road.
Grindelwald itself is a lovely place and Interlaken is close enough if you need to go to a bigger town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nirbhay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

From arranging the trip, to check-in and the entire stay there, the experience was what hotel stays should be about. Strangely, I felt like an individual. After staying at hotels worldwide, I was so pleasantly surprised. Its remarkable that the Eiger Hotel got past my jadedness about hotel hospitality. These guys are pros and remarkable. The owner, Gisella, even stopped by to chat with me when I was having breakfast. I stayed in their twin room with a seating room with an Eiger view. Talk about special. I couldn't wait to get to breakfast. Great food and great views. The staff arranged for a sack lunch when I went to the Jungfraujoch. The hotel got me tickets - another amazing deal. They also provided me hiking poles gratis - which my bum knees very much appreciated. They give you rides to and back from the train station. Book with them directly. They correspond beautifully by email and phone. I got to know all their staff by name. Comfort, friendliness, top notch food and detailed attention to care. Can't wait to return. Also a great shout out to the person on TripAdvisor who guided my entire trip to Switzerland. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: Book directly and tell the staff what you need. They will tell you about discounts and deals not fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cung6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had an amazing experience from check in to check out! Beautiful clean room with gorgeous views. Very kind and helpful staff. Breakfast was included with lots of great options. I would strongly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have been staying in the hotel in September 2012. After one of the best experience with check-in (they should send there receptionsts for practice from all around the world and the world be a much better place :) ) we parked our car in the parking just behind the hotel (free of charge, which is very useful in Grindelwald).
Room is big, very comfortable, with amazing views to Eiger mountain from the balcony. But the furnishing starts to be a little bit outdated, especially in the bathroom. But nothing serious, still very good.
Breakfast is superb, with many local products, fresh delicious bread, farm cheese and butter, farm ham, etc..
Hotel is practically in the center of the village with many shops around (incredibly expensive). The train station is few minutes walk away.
Hotel has nice fitness and it is possible to go for a free swim to a public pool.
I would reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbik0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in great comfort in a room on the 4th. floor overlooking the mountains. It had a verandah and glorious views.
The restaurant is great and all staff in the hotel are most pleasant.
Breakfast is good and typically Swiss.
The location is excellent being just five or six minutes from the station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabah777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We had a very good deal booking this hotel as a package with the trip up to Jungfrau. Hotel is near the train station and there's a co-op nearby for groceries.

Our double rooms was at 3rd floor of Eiger 2 so going back and forth was a bit of a hassle. That said, it wasn't not too bad as the hotel staff helped to carry our luggage to the room. I think we got upgraded from a Basic room to a Classic room. We had a sitting corner and balcony but there wasn't much of a view because there was another building blocking our view. Minibar and coffee (Delizio machine) was complimentary. WIFI is available in main building only.

Still, fantastic place and value for the price we paid with the Jungfrau Anniversary Offer!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $180 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing