We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant service”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and i have just come back from a holiday in Grindelwald Switzerland . We had been before two years ago and stayed at the fitness hotel Eiger . I gingerly booked the same hotel knowing that if you go back sometimes it is never the same . I am so impressed with the way the service has improved and nothing was too much trouble at all ,directions. heating . ironing board and plug adaptors all there all given with a smile . Every day the food was so special with multiple options .
We had a corner room this year and although it didnt have a balcony it was very spacious with a scrumptious bathroom.
Big thank you to all the staff from the maids upwards ,service this good needs to be applauded

Room Tip: corner room was very spacious with the advantage of a bed settee if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthZimmerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    143
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
144
254
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room was wonderfully clean and comfy. The in-house restaurant served lovely food and everyone in the place were friendly and helpful.

There is a separate smoking room where you can buy cigars as well. You can order from the restaurant, if you want your food spoiled by smoke ;-)

There was Swiss live music in the restaurant in the evening - an absolute joy.

During the summer, there are lots of local events. The night we were there, the whole street was closed off and there were jugglers and food stands and several shops stayed open late.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariPottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We are a family of 4 and we stayed in one of their apartments up the hill. Loved the town, staff and the apartment. We had the view of majestic Eiger mountain from our balcony. Breakfast was really nice with a huge spread of hot and cold items. The apartment itself was ok, kind of dated. Bed and pillows were terrible, bathroom quite big, but looks quite old, shower is not that great. No microwave in kitchen, not sure if this is Swiss standard. Staff was very helpful. Very spacious for families, would love to stay if they spruce up the bathroom. Washer and dryer didn't work.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kush_1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho, USA
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is in a nice location on the main street. It has a beautiful loby and the staff seems nice. We expected a view of the alps, but instead got a view of the alley (very noisy at night). They called it a family suite, but it was the same size as a regular room with a bunck bed added - not what we expected for the price. The bathroom was large, although no place to do hair and makeup outside the bathroom with 4 people staying in the room.

I didn't try the exercise room, but it looked like they had very nice equipment.

The breakfast was wonderful. They had yummy rolls, meat, cheese, eggs, cereal, yogurt, etc. Everything was fresh and good.

The internet was free but very spotty.

The room was warm, so we had to keep them open to cool down the room. Unfortunately this caused the room to be very noisy.

Room Tip: avoid one with windows on the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Started of fairly well, the service was good and it seemed like they were very focused on their service but some staff are very juniors. But things only got worse from there on!
The rooms are very dated and not very large, for the price we paid and compared to other hotels in the village it was a bit of a let down.

Things went bad to worse when I spend most of the night fighting a rash, it was only in the early hours I could see and realized it was bed bugs (see photos).

My hand and body has a lot of bite and I hadn’t had more than an hour sleep the night before. I went to the reception and showed them the photos I took and the bites, they didn’t seem overly apologetic or concerned, they asked a cleaner to go to my room, luckily I had caught one of the bugs in in a jar and they could see it was bed bugs, otherwise they would have probably denied it.
Was told the room would be cleaned again. Luckily by the afternoon a more senior manager come on site and offered a change of room for the “incident” in the morning.

At checkout I did tell them it wasn’t a very good stay and all they could say was that they never had it before and they were sorry. Which didn’t really help me much, a decent hotel would have probably offered a refund for the first night.

They are trying hard on the service and did the little things well, but I think they are forgetting the fundamentals, nice clean rooms and ad good nights sleep!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mas_The_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I'm not writing this review because we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, our well-appointed apartment, our amazing view and the fabulous breakfasts. I'm writing this because of the first class service we received AFTER our stay. Our son had left an electronic device (his DS player) in a desk in the loft, so we called after we left to see if someone had found it. Melanie was a great help. She contacted the person who cleaned the room, they went back to look for it, called me to confirm they found it, packaged it up and mailed it to my home address, fully intact. We received it within a week and a half with a nice note attached. A big thanks to Melanie and anyone else who helped out.
I would recommend this hotel to the pickiest person I know! Thanks for a wonderful, Grindelwald experience!!

Room Tip: We chose Rm 606. It had everything a family needs in the kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adr1ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

After an exhaustive series of emails regarding room sizes and amenities, my wife and I decided to reserve a junior suite. In the course of these emails, I made certain that the junior suites had a regular "hanging stand under shower". (this is one of the things I am very picky about,,,I hate hand held showers). When we checked into the room, we were dismayed to see that the bathroom only had a large tub with a hand held shower...no place to hang the shower and no curtain or other barrier to keep the shower spray contained. Since we were staying for several days we decided to change to a "lifestyle" room with a regular shower.

The junior suite was large but had not been renovated. The furnishing and decor were dated but in generally ok condition.

The lifestyle room had been renovated but was still somewhat spartan, poorly designed and smaller than we would have liked. The clothes storage space was limited and was located right next to the bed. (making it very difficult to gain access to this space). The king bed was two separate twin beds placed along side each other. The mattresses were old, lumpy and not comfortable. The lighting was poor causing the room to be dark and dreary. The room was not air conditioned. There was often only one person manning reception which led to long waits for service. Also, surprisingly, reception was unmanned from 10 pm until 7:00 am

On the plus side, we enjoyed a nice private balcony with a breathtaking view of the Eiger, the breakfast service and quality were exceptional and the shower water pressure was very strong. Memories bar/restaurant on the first floor offered quality food and good service at reasonable prices. The central location of the hotel was convenient.

We will be returning to Grindewald but will not return to the Eiger. One afternoon I looked at several other hotels and was very impressed with the Sunstar . Their superior double rooms were new, modern, well-furnished and much larger than the "lifestyle" rooms. All rooms in this category had great views of the Eiger. Plus all their rooms had standard hanging showers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PickyAboutHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Property: Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing