We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Central Hotel Wolter(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$194
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$431
$387
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gletschergarten(Grindelwald)
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkhotel Schoenegg(Grindelwald)
$250
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Spinne(Grindelwald)
$557
$485
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tschuggen(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$252
$242
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveler rating
436
171
33
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
171
33
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmemory barlifestyle roomexcellent gymhalf boardthe main streetthe hotel stafffantastic hotela la carte menucoffee makerbalcony roombooked this hotelmini bartrain stationgreat viewski holidaywellness centrebreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 664 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Relying on Travel Advisor we booked a deluxe double view room. The staff greeted us in a friendly manner and accommodated a request for a feather pillow replacement. The mountain view was fine but the 4th floor room with a balcony overlooked the noisy street. It was very warm in the room so we opened the door and endured car, truck and motorcycle traffic, not to mention the smell of a cigar from a balcony below. We closed the door and left the room for a stroll and dinner. Dinner at the casual restaurant on the street was fine but returning to a hot room was not pleasant. We opened the balcony door, a hallway window and our room door to get some ventilation. It helped a bit but we had to close our room door when went to bed. Despite the noise from the street below we made it to sleep but we were awakened around midnight by loud partying from across the street that went on until 2AM
and there there was a heavy smell of cigarettes wafting into the room from the balcony below. We are sensitive to it so we had to close the balcony door once again. It was so
warm in the room that we had to reopen the door at 3am and fell asleep until 5:30 when the
cigarettes were lit up again from below. We waited until 6 and opened the room and
balcony doors to cool it down. Finally, we got some sleep!

The staff offered to move us to a different room but we passed because rainy weather was coming in and frankly we didn't want to stay in the town any longer, so we abandoned our prepaid room and left town looking for some tranquility.

We recommend that you look for a hotel further up the valley for a peaceful stay.



We recommend that youbask from a room

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a building away from the street
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atldsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

How lovely to come back from a holiday and refelect back on it and find it was all you hoped it would be and more. This was our experience in Grindelwald at the hotel Eiger.
We went with Inghams for 12 days to help celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary.
Our flight was with Swiss Air and the organisation was excellent and the fly/rail worked really well. Our case arrived at the hotel the same evening & with our flight being at tea time on the way back we had our case checked in at the railway station by the staff of the Hotel on the morning of our return flight & they returned with our paperwork including our boarding cards. We went straight to security on arrival at the airport in Zurich & picked our case up at Manchester. ( I believe if you travel with other companies than Swiss Air you pick your case up at the Swiss airport & check in yourself.)
As for Inghams they were there to meet us at every location & Rob our resort rep. was very helpful & informative. Although we knew most of what we wanted to do during our stay he was happy to give us tips on how best to enjoy our days and where to sit on the trains etc. for better views & positions. All of the information given beforehand in the brochure was accurate so we could do all we expected. If you have the chance of the free "blossom jacuzzi" with your booking enjoy it we did.
Now for the Hotel Eiger, well just great, we had booked a south facing room for the view of the Eiger & we had it ( 525 ) it was on a higher floor, but had a lovely view of the Eiger as well as being able to see the glacier & other mountains near by.
The room was nice & clean and spacious with plenty of storage space. There was a small seating area with a large TV, which as others said was nice to be able to move the position for watching in all areas. The fridge was a good size and really useful. Nice size bathroom with bath & good shower and plenty of hot water.
All of the hotel areas were really clean & the decor was nice and relaxing. The Selfness centre was great. The saunas etc. were lovely & there is access to a small outdoor area to relax with loungers as well as two indoor ones. This was where we liked and with having good warm weather this was nice to relax in. There was also a continual supply of water, juices and fruit while using the facilities. These were free of charge and very varied, we've not had this before. In fact there was fresh fruit available in several areas of the hotal all day.
As for the food, breakfast was varied and plentyful and served in a nice relaxed atmosphere. Lots of varied bread, meat & cheeses. The evening meals were, as everyone else has said, very varied and of an excellent presentation. They were always hot and portions were large. The menu was a bit confusing to understand to begin with, but just keep asking, and the stir fry buffet is good. The prices of drinks is reasonable for there with a selection of ok priced wines, but they are expensive everywhere compared to home. It is better to get large beers though for the cost.
We were surprised with champagne for breakfast on the morning of our anniversary & the owner had a chat with us and congratulated us. We were also treated to a lovely dressed table in the evening & had a wonderful meal to end our day.
We went to the welcome meeting on the day we arrived, it was nice to meet other hotel guests and the staff gave us information about events going on during our stay. We were supplied with drinks & nibbles. We also went to the BBQ on Mannlichen that the hotel organises. There is no charge if half board & you visit a local farm on the way for wine & cheese on the way. The food is again good and the location special.
The afternoon tea & cakes is popular and if you are around at the time worth a visit, we went a few times when we got back to the hotel early.
We found the hotel offered everything we wanted, including washing & drying facilities at a very reasonable charge, in all areas and would certainly use it again if we were to return to Grindelwald again.
If we were to fault anything it would only be that the pillows are very soft, even with two, & the rooms are a bit warm, especially if you get warm weather as we did. If that is all we can say though then we think the hotel speaks for itself.
If you are thinking of going to Grindelwald don't hesitate to choose this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff & all are pleasant & friendly. We will certainly do so if we return.

Room Tip: Choose a south facing room if you can, it's worth the extra.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewLeedsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

As part of our trip through France and Switzerland, this hotel stood head and shoulders above the rest.
From the outside it looks like a quaint restaurant/bar, however recently refurbished 2 years ago they have a spawling amount of rooms, excellent gym and spa facilities (naked and mixed..so be warned) and two sun terraces adjacent to a coffee lounge on the second floor.
Staff were very friendly and informative.
Food was incredible...probably the best I've eaten on any holiday. Half board menu consisited of choosing from their main restauarant menu (unlike other hotels were you are restricted to a few main courses) and had a variety of fresh produce to rival any top class restaurant that I've eaten in. I was very impressed.

Congrats to Gisella and co for running a superb hotel.

Room Tip: South facing is preferable to obtain views of the eiger. The front of the hotel can be noisy if you're a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We returned to the Eiger this year(2011) after a very good holiday in 2008 and stays at other resorts in Switzerland. We were not disappointed. An excelllent two weeks. A warm reception as soon as we walked through the door.Comfort in the room, a warm welcome in the dining room and excellent food all proved we had made the right choice for our holiday this year. The only down side was the weather which was not as good as in the past but we cannot blame the Eiger for that. We shall certainly be returning in the future.
Thanks again for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed here for 11 nights, doing some walking and sightseeing using local transport. The hotel was really good, great room with plenty of space and stunning views from the balcony (Eiger north wall etc etc). The staff were very friendly and the proprietor makes a point of talking to all guests at breakfast or dinner. When we said we had not slept well she asked if there was anything they could do to make it better but it was just a case of first night in a strange bed!
The food is excellent, with lots of choice both breakfast and evenings, including a help-yourself barbeque/stir-fry arrangement (you choose from lots of meats, seafood and veggies and selection of flavoured oils and then the kitchen stir-fried them) - there was a full menu every evening with a daily special as well. There was also free coffee and cake in the late afternoon.

the fitness centre has great equipment but we went for the walking and as the weather was good we did not use the indoor facilities.

We would happily return and are hoping that more of our family will be able to come with us next time.

Room Tip: it's well worth having a south-facing balcony
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live4hols1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews