We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best bar in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avocado Bar

Avocado Bar
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: Avocado Bar is a chilled out bar located in the beautiful mountain village Grindelwald. We take pride in creating a relaxed positive environment for all. The kind of place people walk into without knowing anyone, and leave with a handful of good freinds.Atmosphere!!!!!!!!!!!!
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best bar in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a great time hanging out in this bar every night we were in town. Good drinks, comfortable atmosphere, and most of all a friendly owner. It was nice to come here each night after a long day of travelling in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    31
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“young crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

felt a bit ancient amongst the younger crowd of route setters and coaches that were there for the climbing competition, but it is in an excellent spot and very relaxed. we grabbed the sofa in the corner then noticed everyone came in and sat at the bar. I can imagine it buzzing with snow boarders in the winter.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SilverStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent place for drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The bartenders were friendly, the drinks were good, and the band wasn't bad either. The place gets packed (there aren't really many choices in town).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjshelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We found Alex outside his bar before it opened. He took 20 minutes giving us recommendations about the town... We promised to come back when he was open. This bar is so great, it's charming and grungy at the same time. You can sit over an old fashion sleigh with small candles for a cosy drink or belly up to the bar with the local skiers and hang out with Alex. We spent hours talking with other patrons, playing games they had laying around and just watching the snow fall.

Helpful?
1 Thank KathyK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Our little basecamp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great staff, busy but not too busy.

We had a great time and ended up there most days, we got a seat most visits. Even a little outdoor event during their old school night which was entertaining :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elbows29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avocado Bar also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Avocado Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing