We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in a long while”
Review of Avocado Bar

Avocado Bar
Ranked #6 of 72 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Avocado Bar is a chilled out bar located in the beautiful mountain village Grindelwald. We take pride in creating a relaxed positive environment for all. The kind of place people walk into without knowing anyone, and leave with a handful of good freinds.Atmosphere!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The place is really nice and warm. Take the me to chat the owner, or play the guitar and sing, or just feel at home there :)

Thank alkemyst77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Owner at Avocado Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thanks a lot for the feed back.

It was really nice to meet you and your group. Let me know if your ever coming back this way. I'm not really sure if i want you guys to play darts here any more after nearly hitting me several times, but good times.

Good luck recreating the Big Bang in Geneva, please let me know if your going to create a black hole.

All the best,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Avocado Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I visited Grindelwald in May for 8 days and enjoyed spending a few nights in the Avocado Bar. It has some really comfy spots to snuggle up or, as we did one night, sit at the bar and chat with the locals. We enjoyed the freshness of the Bar as it has a separate smoking area - being surrounded by smokers is an issue with us when travelling in Europe. But, not at this Bar. Also, the toilets were spotless. We are scotch drinkers and Alex the owner had quite a selection. We actually got snacks to nibble with our scotch. We arrived late one night and got to enjoy a bit of a jam with a few locals. Pretty cool and comfy as well.

Thank sophie54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Owner at Avocado Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thankyou so much for posting such a nice review.

We are quite new to Trip Advisor and to already get such a nice review is really overwhelming.

Please let us know if theres anything you would do different.
If your ever headed back to this side of the world please let us know if we can help in anyway.

Thanks again and all the best

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

More a bar than a restaurant (in fact I didn't see anyone eating anything) but a very relaxing place to spend an evening after a day walking in the mountains. Visited in May so very quiet with a few locals (who always left early) and a handful of resident ex-pats and tourists. The bar is managed by multilingual Manuela who entertains everyone with dry wit and the occasional profanity learnt no doubt from the mouth of the Australian owner. Beer choice good (recommend the Rogenbrau in bottles or the Vollmond - she told me it was only brewed on the night of the full moon but might have been joking...). Avoid the draught - Appenzeller - not very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Owner at Avocado Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thanks a lot for your review.

Its seems like you really enjoyed yourself here.

To respond to some of your point:

No we do not serve food. We are currently lacking the infrastructure for starting a food concept. Although we planned to have a small food concept since before the bar actually opened, we are yet to serve food.
Hopefully next time your in Grindelwald we will also be able to offer you food.

As for the "Vollmond" (full moon) beer, yes it is only brewed on a full moon. We found this quite impressive as well as the taste, and couldn't resist stoking it in the bar.

As for the draft beer:
I`m really sorry that you didn`t like it. We usually get good responses for the draft. We also especially order the smallest kegs possible so the beer is as fresh as possible as well as clearing the pipes daily. Maybe something wasn`t right or maybe it was the same as it always is.

Either way drop back in and ill buy you a beer of your choice.

Thanks again for your review, and i hope to see you soon.

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Thank Iza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Manoon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avocado Bar also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Avocado Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing