We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware”
Review of Hotel Lauberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lauberhorn
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Lauberhorn and enjoyed the breakfast. Upon asking for suggestions on where to hike, the proprietors, were extremely rude and not helpful. Overall, they seem to be arrogant. Be careful when booking with this hotel, as we were not aware that we had a room without a TV. It does not state that on the website. Also, we got charged 5 Swiss Francs for using our credit card which is also not disclosed on their website. The walls in the hotel rooms are also very thin so you can hear everyone around you. Other than that, the view is absolutely breathtaking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ClaudiaR1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 180 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you want a perfect base for exploring the Jungfrau region then this is stunning. Connie and Benni are excellent hosts who know everything there is to know about exploring and organising your day. Went paragliding with Beni up at First, just awesome and Beni is one of the most laid back guys you will ever meet. We stayed in the blue room, excellent views of the Eiger from the bedroom and surprisingly the toilet, you need to be in a very open relationship with windows in the en suit. Breakfasts were awesome and kept you going for the days activities. Just kept pinching ourselves that we had three nights in this majestic place. Top highlight in our Swiss holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham Rodgers R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was a very nice and clean hotel, room size is not small, it was OK. The view from the balcony was magnificent, the breakfast was very good. Pay attention that the reception is open about 8 hours only during the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abo_Omar_Almazroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The good:
The place is very clean , recently renovated and all facilities are in excellent shape.
Breakfast is great, with good chose of cheese , tea, jams, yogurt and freshly baked bread.
The room we were at (eiger balcony) was spacious and nice.
The staff is helpful whenever asked.
The bad:
The location is 25 min uphill from city center - there is a free local bus that ends at 6.30 pm so if you want to have dinner after or you are not in the timeline of the bus you need to walk.
The Shower located in the room on 20 cm step. - very dangerous to go out from :) seriously.
The bed is squiking and noisy

over all - good stay for bike riders and young people (or you have a car)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smoshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Solid hotel, good deal. No frills, good quality for the price paid. Small, quaint place run independently which I favor over chains or large busy hotels especially in a beautiful place like Grindelwald in one of the most beautiful areas I've visited. Beautiful location with a balcony (ask for a view facing Mt. Eiger!). Downside were the very thin walls as I could literally hear people talking and moving around in their beds next door and upstairs (!) and the sound of road in front of hotel. I'd give it 3.5 stars if that were an option but will round up cause that's the way I am!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wombwhiplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

View from the room was good however that's all...
When I could not open the key, no staff was found and I could not order the drink in the bar
since there was no person...
Far from the Grindelwald Station thus shuttle service was provided.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenji-Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

As others have said: the mountain views from the front-facing side of the hotel are truly world-class; the breakfasts are generous and tasty with many choices, though I've had better espresso; the rooms are not flashy or large but are quite good (the showers, though small, have superior water pressure and the hot water comes up instantly); the hosts and staff know everything there is to know about hiking, paragliding, mountain biking, and probably every other sport in the area; the location is very nice if you don't mind walking uphill to get there (and if you do, probably Grindelwald is not the right place for you to visit since it's all hills) -- and the owners can sometimes be not all that friendly and even a bit defensive in strange ways, which is why I don't give it the 'Excellent' that it might otherwise deserve. Sometimes they were great, sometimes not. Some of the staff, like Susana, were super friendly and helpful at all times.

As far as 'sleep quality', one side of the hotel can be extremely sunny and loud (birds singing) in the early morning -- it would be better if there were real curtains on that side of the hotel to keep the sunlight out. Otherwise it was fine.

I would stay here again if I was going to stay in Grindelwald, because in almost every way they do go above and beyond with many nice little extras, but personally I'd choose another town as my base for a Jungfrau hiking trip next time.

Room Tip: Face the Alps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HudsonValleyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
843 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
526 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#17 of 41 in Grindelwald
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lauberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauberhorn

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 41 | info@hotel-lauberhorn.ch, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $146 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lauberhorn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We (conny And Beni Kaufmann) Took Over The Hotel Lauberhorn From The Family Howald In May 2005. Since Then, The Somewhat Older, Traditional 2* Chalet Style Hotel Is Under Constant Remodeling And Is Now Slowly Turning Into A Colorful And Fun-loving Lifestyle Concept. Since 2017 We Belong To A 2* Superior Hotel. The Lauberhorn Is A Casual Hotel, Simple But Contemporary With A Strong Headed Personality And Refreshing Hospitality In A Particularly Relaxed Atmosphere. We Are A Downright Niche Product Which Can Not And Does Not Want To Please Everyone. We Do Many Things Better, Some Things Different, A Couple Of Things Less Consequent Or Not At All. Here Are People Behind, Not Money. As We Reinvest The Profit Into Our Hotel And Are Able To Do A Lot Or Almost Everything In And Around The Hotel Ourselves – You Won’t Find Any Pompous Features Here. Come As A Friend, As An Explorer Of The Joy Of Life, Indulgence Relaxation And Pleasure. Holiday In The Lauberhorn Is A Matter Of Lifestyle, Not A Matter Of Age. Load Energy And Well-being, Leave Your Social And Professional Status At Home, Be Yourself And Enjoy Our Attempt Of Being A Little Different. If This Philosophy Appeals To You, You Should Be Able To Have Fun With Us And Enjoy Your Stay To The Maximum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lauberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauberhorn Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing