We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Lauberhorn: I'm a fan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lauberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lauberhorn
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Lauberhorn: I'm a fan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've spent two ski-sport weekends at Hotel Lauberhorn in Grindelwald this winter and really feel like I've finally discovered the Swiss hotel that I've been searching for since I arrived here seven years ago. If you’re a mountain sports fan like me, Hotel Lauberhorn is the perfect place to stay in Grindelwald. The atmosphere is sporty, laid-back and friendly but the quality of service and attention to detail are second to none. For my job I often stay in top-class international hotels around the world but few have done as good a job of making me feel as welcome and at home as Hotel Lauberhorn. I put this down to the fact that the place is run by a husband and wife team who are fans of mountain sports but who clearly also have a passion and talent for the hospitality business. It’s great to see people doing “work” they are passionate about!
p.s. Did I mention the view? Welcome to the Swiss Alps!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 79norman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    53
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
80
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

It is absolutely great location, in a walking distance from the town and at the same time in the quiet countryside. Bus stop is just outside as well. The views to front of the hotel are stunning, you see lots if beautiful snowy roofs and mighty Eiger. The hotel is very clean and decorated with a taste. Staff are very friendly and helpful, they advised us on best skiing location for beginners, gave quite useful tips, etc. You feel really like at home, this is something most hotel networks lack these days. The breakfast was amazing, fresh bread and pastries, good choice of cheese and cereals, we especially liked the selection of teas - they have a dozen of jars with full-size herbal leaves and a number of specialty teas that you put in a infuser yourself and brew it. We will most likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in front have a stunning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkabalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Breakfast was outstanding here...woke up every morning excited to eat!

Friendly staff and clean rooms. Wifi was pretty good. Good location for hiking and other activities in Grindelwald...short drive but walkable to the town area with shopping/restaurants.

Awesome views from the balconies!

Room Tip: front facing rooms for mountain views would be best-include balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SNV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a week long walking holiday in July. Good facilities, if "quirky" room layout. Food is basic but food orders didn't really seem to be welcomed (eg you have to order by 6.30pm, and the choice was very limited).
Hotel is approximately 10 mins from Grindelwald centre, with a walk back uphill. The hotel owners are keen cyclists and appear to favour cyclists as guests. On the whole clean and comfortable, but reception mood was a little surly.

Room Tip: As for a front facing room - facing the Eiger. Fabulous view, but we faced a field at the back with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I 100% recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Grindelwald. The owners are friendly and helpful. My wife and I loved this place and really appreciated the neatness and cleanliness of the rooms. Summary: Great breakfast, great staff and great hotel! P.S. Beni (one of the owners) is a paragliding pilot. if you are looking for a great way to see the Alps in a unique perspective, talk to him.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danielphilipray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I absolutely recommend Hotel Lauberhorn to anyone who is looking to stay in Grindelwald and not spend a fortune on some of the higher-end hotels. It's the little extras that they do that really make you smile: the free sunscreen in the lobby, the games in the hangout rooms, the book exchange and the tiny bar that you can get a drink at. They also don't cheap out on the breakfast at all (which, amazingly, is included) - fresh espresso with hot milk, fresh muesli, local cheeses and fresh bread from the bakery etc. etc. The view from our hotel room was breath-taking as well. I was more than pleased - this hotel is worth every penny and then some.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicci_hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This place is totally set up for mountainbikers, the owners are very knowledgeable about the area and will help you choose the best route for you and provide a map. Bernie in particular helped us by planning a ride for our second day. They have electrolyte drink powder available for your water bottles at breakfast which is a decent spread, and even wash your bike gear overnight so it's ready for the next morning. We particularly liked the balcony with a great view of the Eiger north face. One con is that the ceilings are quite thin and we could here the people above us: their alarm going off and walking around but we slept pretty soundly due to all the exercise we got during the day. Yes, the shower stepped staright into the room but it wasn't a problem for us at all and the balcony and views more than made up for any small inconvenience. The prices were reasonable for Grindelwald too. Note that their wiring doesn't allow for an electric water jug to be used in the room but they were happy to provide me with hot water when I asked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onyabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.8 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lauberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauberhorn

Property: Hotel Lauberhorn
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 41 | info@hotel-lauberhorn.ch, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lauberhorn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The philosophy...carpe diem - seize the day. Our biker and paraglider friendly hotel is located on the sunny side of the Grindelwald valley. All rooms have a shower/toilet and a balcony with a beautiful view of the impressive mountain scenery. Pets are welcome. Visitor tax and VAT included in the price. Our guest cardgives you various reductions in Grindelwald and allows you to travel for free on the public buses to and around the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lauberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauberhorn Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing