We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ski hotel ever”
Review of Hotel Lauberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lauberhorn
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2008

When we contacted the hotel originally by e-mail, we knew we'd like it from the lovely responses we got from our hostess, Conni, and we certainly weren't disappointed. We knew we weren't booking a 5 star hotel but we got great value for money plus wonderful views from all our rooms and just the best ever service from Conni and Bennie. We had a lot of fun and they were happy to join in, as were all the lovely staff. Just can't fault the hotel and we'll certainly go back.

Stayed: January 2008
3  Thank kiwiteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 184 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2007

What a beautiful hotel in the town of Grindelwald. I was picked up by Conny, one of the hotel managers, and driven back to the hotel for check-in. My single room was a double bed with a balcony and an amazing view of the mountains! The bar downstairs was pleasant, along with books, tv and movies, a computer with free internet access. Breakfast was included, but I missed it as I wanted to catch a ski-bus headed back to the Bahnhof.

My only negative was being able to hear the next door neighbors when they returned around 10pm. When their sink pipes were running, you could really hear it in my room. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dukiedrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

We stayed 2 nights in a family room for 4 in Hotel Lauberhorn in magical Grindelwald, Switzerland for 260 Swiss Francs per night. We adore Grindelwald and have visited there 5 or 6 times over the years but this is the first time we took our 2 teenage boys there. Normally without kids, we just bounce into town and find a Zimmer Frei sign and end up with a clean nice accomodation. This time we booked ahead at Hotel Lauberhorn and were not disappointed.

It is a biking hotel in the heart of town about 10 minutes walk beyond the Grindelwald train station. As always in Switzerland, the hotel was very clean. Our room for 4 was spare and pretty small for 4 but servicable. As runners and hikers, we felt very comfortable with the biking contingent in the hotel. The breakfasts were high energy and included lots of fruit and whole grains for the active clientele. The hotel offers a very reasonable laundry service and did a huge batch of laundry for us for Euro 15 total while we were there. There was a free Internet machine in the lounge. The night we arrived we had car trouble and didn't arrive until after midnight and they left us a key and a detailed note to enable us to get into our room. They were also very helpful with local advice on hiking and running trails. Good simple hotel for the active crowd.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HawaiiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We came for the view of the Eiger and we were not disappointed at all! We are not picky travelers but if you are on the first floor beware that the people above you sound like elephants walking around and the walls are paper thin. I read the reviews about the hosts and the atmosphere at this hotel and that is the main reason I chose it. Unforunately the hostess, Coni, was not in a very good mood the 5 nights we stayed and came across as being annoyed by our questions. One example: She told us everything is closed on Sundays (which is usually the case in Europe) but when we drove into town ALL the stores were open. We did like the atmosphere of the hotel and the breakfast, that is included in the price, was nice. Unfortunately we felt like intruders every time we saw the hostess.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank annieoakle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

We ended up here on an 'allocation on arrival' ski package and loved the place. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the hotel has a lovely atmosphere, amazing views and fantastic sauna room. We loved it and would come back again for summer or winter holidays.

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank Londoner099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

This an excellent VFM hotel. Yes its 15 mins from the town centre and a little uphill but its worth it.
Rooms are basic so if you are the type wanting the more plush end of the market then its not for you. But if you want somewhere quiet, friendly, clean and comfortable then this is a must. Some rooms have great views of the Eiger.
There is free bike hire
Ski bus stops right outside (although they stop running by 6-7pm)
Breakfast is generous: cereals, fruit, bread/jam/cheese etc...
The staff are as good as it gets: friendly, genuine, attentive, helpful but not intrusive
There is a great lounge area which yes is a little dated decor wise but it is very homely, plus there is another adjoining lounge with TV and free internet access and a great collection of picture travel books
Its quiet at night and free from snowboarding 'kids' (when I was there anyway)
Guest were a mixture but mainly Swiss
I would not

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank Roblil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel, the views were amazing, our room had a balcony with great views of the Eiger!! The room was clean and tidy and had the Swiss feel we were after. The breakfast was very good, and the staff were really friendly. This is an excellent 2* hotel. But it is a good twenty plus minute, up hill walk from the centre of town and the train station to the hotel, although the buses are always on time, they didn't really start early enough for us and they finish by 6pm. The hotel only does a few snacks in the evening, so it really means walking after a long day or catching a taxi to a restaurant.
Regardless of the walk we had a great time at the Hotel Lauberhorn and with a car it' would be perfect, with it's wonderful people and lovely views.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WonderingLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#14 of 41 in Grindelwald
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Berghaus Bort
Berghaus Bort
#11 of 41 in Grindelwald
186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lauberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauberhorn

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 41 | info@hotel-lauberhorn.ch, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $165 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lauberhorn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We (conny And Beni Kaufmann) Took Over The Hotel Lauberhorn From The Family Howald In May 2005. Since Then, The Somewhat Older, Traditional 2* Chalet Style Hotel Is Under Constant Remodeling And Is Now Slowly Turning Into A Colorful And Fun-loving Lifestyle Concept. Since 2017 We Belong To A 2* Superior Hotel. The Lauberhorn Is A Casual Hotel, Simple But Contemporary With A Strong Headed Personality And Refreshing Hospitality In A Particularly Relaxed Atmosphere. We Are A Downright Niche Product Which Can Not And Does Not Want To Please Everyone. We Do Many Things Better, Some Things Different, A Couple Of Things Less Consequent Or Not At All. Here Are People Behind, Not Money. As We Reinvest The Profit Into Our Hotel And Are Able To Do A Lot Or Almost Everything In And Around The Hotel Ourselves – You Won’t Find Any Pompous Features Here. Come As A Friend, As An Explorer Of The Joy Of Life, Indulgence Relaxation And Pleasure. Holiday In The Lauberhorn Is A Matter Of Lifestyle, Not A Matter Of Age. Load Energy And Well-being, Leave Your Social And Professional Status At Home, Be Yourself And Enjoy Our Attempt Of Being A Little Different. If This Philosophy Appeals To You, You Should Be Able To Have Fun With Us And Enjoy Your Stay To The Maximum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lauberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauberhorn Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing