We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience”
Review of Hotel Bodmi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bodmi
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2004

In June of 2003 my wife and I spent a week at Hotel Bodmi. We had researched this hotel but did not make a reservation in advance. We just put it at the top of our list to stay at if we made it to Grindelwald. Upon our departure from Appenzell, we asked the information service in Appenzell to secure us a room at Hotel Bodmi if one were available. Luckly, there was. We were so impressed with Hotel Bodmi, we knew we would return on our next trip. In June of 2004 we returned for a two week stay. Hotel Bodmi is without a doubt one of the nicest palces we have stayed in Switzerland. Kurt and Elisabeth, the owners, are the most gracious hosts. The chef prepares the most delicious food, and the staff really makes an effort to get to know the customers. The quality of the hotel and the concerns the owners have for quality are refelcted in the fact that the staff is the same this year as last year. The waitresses we got to know last year also attended to us this year. My wife and I highly recommend that if you plan to stay in Grindelwald do so at Hotel Bodmi. You will not be disappointed.

14  Thank MTarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 112 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Roanoke, Virginia
139
Reviewed September 9, 2003

In August 2003, my husband and I had reservations at the Hotel Bodmi.
The hotel was described on the internet as a pretty hotel in quiet surroundings. This appealed to me because I did not want a hotel that was around very loud discos, intersections, etc... So I contacted The Hotel Bodmi and asked about rates. They responded quickly with the rates and description of the room. I wrote back with questions...'was there a good view of the mountains from the room?'.. 'was there a private balcony?'...etc. They responded immediately and told me the room had a private balcony and a good view of the mountains. So I officially booked this hotel. I knew that I would have a late arrival and asked if I would loose the room, but they said that since I had secured the room with a credit card it would be okay.. but I should notify them if I was going to be after 11pm...then they would leave the key in a box outside... WELL.. I had been visiting friends near Lake Constance and had stayed longer than anticipated. We were going to be VERY late getting to Grindelwald... a 3 hour drive away! I did not have a computer to notify Hotel Bodmi of my late arrival...and further more...I had been so busy with my friends that neither of us had had ANYTHING to eat that day... we were starving. This was my first visit to Switzerland and I did not know where to go for a quick meal...we decided to drive straight to Grindelwald...we'd rather be hungry than sleeping on the street!! We finally arrived at 10:50 pm and the manager was still at the desk. My husband asked if any food was being served anywhere in Grindelwald and the manager said that every place was closed...BUT he would arranged to have food sent to our room..cheeses breads, meats..and COLD BEER!!! After just a few minutes, the food arrived and was immediately devoured. The room itself was IMMACULATE..not one thing dirty, out of place, messy.. a bottle of mineral water was left as a courtesy and a bar of Swiss Chocolate was given to us as well... I opened the door to the balcony...but all was black...except for a light shining on a cliff...or something..I knew something was there. Next morning, at around 6 a.m. I opened my eyes...and shock ..SHOCK...there was the view of the mountains...the 'good view' they said I would have from the balcony... it wasn't a good view...it was IN YOUR FACE SPECTACULAR!!!!!!!! A glacier sparkling yellow orange in the morning light was welcoming us to Grindelwald. The room was sparkling clean...nice furniture and the bathroom, modern and spotless!

The service was marvelous...the owners themselves tend to you and the breakfast buffet was full of cheeses, bread, rolls, juices, fruits, great coffee, the BEST yogurt on the planet and clean clean clean surroundings...and if you're lucky you could eat on the terrace and look at that view of the EIGER...I cry just thinking about it ..This place is the BEST hotel I have ever stayed at including all the fanciest places in Las Vegas, which pales in comparison... the Hotel is classic Swiss...not pretentious, but IMMACULATE... and that meal that they gave us the night we arrived late....they never even charged to us!!!! I should not reveal my best kept secret...but this Hotel is fine... you will not be disappointed.

39  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank 舜茹周
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Südzimmer bieten eine herrliche Aussicht auf das Jungfraumassiv
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Klaus Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank NoSt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
#29 of 41 in Grindelwald
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#17 of 41 in Grindelwald
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bodmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodmi

Address: Terrassenweg 104, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#9 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#12 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $288 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bodmi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation like in a picture book. A hotel for individuals! Our hotel offers you all comfort with spa in the stable and a unique view. Very quiet location within green meadows, situated directly at the ski-runs, hiking-trails and ski-school area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bodmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodmi Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing