We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views from above Grindelwald”
Review of Hotel Bodmi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bodmi
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were here for three nights and loved it. It is a ten minute climb out of the village (20 minutes if you are dragging your luggage from the station). Not so easy to find in the dark, but when you wake up in the morning and see where you are - it is magic.

The hotel sits alone up high under the First Gondola. All round views are amazing. We had a south facing junior suite which was lovely. Plenty of space and a huge terrace. Our only small gripe was the proximity of our room to the gondolas swinging past and interested faces staring in. Next time we will try to get a room on the other south westerly side of the hotel. But, we were out most of the day and the gondola only runs until 17h30.

Staff were really lovely, food was fine and the wine list was reasonably priced. Try some of the goats cheese. We were watched by the goats themselves as we enjoyed our meals. Our little dog was very welcome, and he enjoyed it all (almost) as much as we did.

Room Tip: South facing room - preferably away from the Gondola
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 112 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

Used the Hotel Bodmi as a base for a weeks walking holiday in Grindelwald, Bernese Oberland.
We were on half board and the holiday was booked through Inghams. There is quite a bit of choice as far as hotels go in this resort. We chose this one because it fitted our criteria when in the Alps. Big enough to cope, small enough to care.

Arrived to an amazingly warm reception from Verena, it felt as if the sun had come out (even though it was tipping down with rain outside). We were then given a whistle-stop tour of the important parts of the hotel before taking us to our room.

We stayed in a Junior Suite; ours faced south and west (BIG balcony that ran around the corner of the hotel). Great view of the Wetterhorn and Mattenberg. It was of a good size (the suite NOT the Wetterhorn) and had a separate sitting area with settee, chair and table to throw yourself or your gear on after "a hard day in the hills". It also received the sun`s warming rays in the morning so as to get you out of bed for the sumptious breakfast.

The food was wonderful. Breakfast buffet style with selection of bread, ham, salami, home-made butter, cheese, boiled eggs, yoghurts, cereals, jams....I could go on and on. If you wanted a hot breakfast that was available at a supplement. The evening meals were even better; four courses, imaginative and plenty on the plate. Weizen bier and a wine list to die for too!!!

All the staff deserve a medal for their friendliness and hard work. A charming lady member of staff (who`s name escapes me) would always bring me an extra pot of coffee at breakfast as I loved the stuff, without being asked! They were all THAT good!

If you want to get about you can walk down to town BUT let the Bus (21) take the effort out of getting back. We used our area passes after slogging up the hill a couple of times. In fact, get an Area pass, then all the trains (apart from Jungfraujoch), cable cars, gondolas and buses are free.

I really can`t praise the work of Elizabeth and Kurt enough. Always had the time for a chat and a joke or a handy bit of advice. Do yourself a favour if you`re thinking of staying anywhere in Grindelwald. Stay here!

Room Tip: Ours had a great view of the mountains, the cable car and the goats. Room 221
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbeerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

small family run hotel close by nursery slope and easy access to both main ski facilities. Ski hire shop and inside storage for skis.
Comfortable rooms wonderful suites. Slightly limited menus. Great for families.
Outside town so not interesting for busy nightlife but mainly for serious skiers and families
We have been there three times

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms southside have a marvelous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdsong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife and I travel to Europe annually. We no longer go to the impressive European cities, with their churches and grand historical sites, instead we look for places that just make us feel good. In Grindelwald, we have found Bodmi. Viewing Grindelwald from the Bodmi terrace is like viewing a great Christmas garden, with villages below and the awesome Eiger and Wetterhorn in the background.
The Bodmi Hotel is great, but their kitchen is superb! Believe me, we have tried the competition. The staff is the friendliest, and Elisabeth and Kurt are the most gracious of hosts. If you decide to go to the environs of Interlaken, try Bodmi and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aw&bcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Bodmi Hotel is in a wonderful location but the hotel is brought to life by the attentiveness and helpfulness of all the staff and the owners Kurt and Elizabeth. The Eiger facing rooms have a spectacular view of the mountains and the rooms are comfortable and clean.

The highlight of the breakfast is the home made goats cheese made by Kurt using milk from the hotels herd of goats.

All in all a truly memorable stay, I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuyThomas037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We have been going back to Hotel Bodmi in June for a number of years as we like the area with it's stunning scenery for walking in the high alpine paths. Hotel Bodmi is spotless and in a great position located high above the village of Grindlewald overlooking the Eiger North Face. The food is well above the standards you would expect from a village hotel and the staff are about the friendliest we have ever found in any hotel anywhere in the world. The rooms are not five star luxury but are comfortable with all the facilities you will need for a stay. Good to be able to go down to dinner in casual clothes afterall this is a hiking and winter sports area. If the weather is warm then breakfast is served on the terrace with a view of the Eiger North Face. Elizabeth & Kurt make you feel very welcome indeed and run their hotel to the very highest standards but in a relaxed and confortable way. They even keep a small herd of goats which supply the breakfast bar with fresh goats cheese. Go for the slightly smaller rooms at the front of the hotel with a view of the Eiger, stunning on a clear morning.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 911travellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

My wife and could not fault this hotel when we stayed there for a summer week. We arrived around 9.30pm because trains were running late (Yes, even in Switzerland!); they fetched us from the train station and gave us a meal in our room. My wife needed a doctor; they drove us to the surgery. We chose a cheaper North-facing room; it was vast, with sitting area, balcony, and a stunning view of the 12,000 ft. Wetterhorn. South-facing rooms face the massive Eiger. The breakfasts and dinners were excellent. Best of all for us was the absolute silence at night. Yes, it was a stiff 20-minute walk up from the town - or there are buses roughly every hour. But the views and the peace make up for the effort.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BritabroadSouthwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
#29 of 41 in Grindelwald
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bodmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodmi

Address: Terrassenweg 104, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#9 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#12 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $290 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bodmi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation like in a picture book. A hotel for individuals! Our hotel offers you all comfort with spa in the stable and a unique view. Very quiet location within green meadows, situated directly at the ski-runs, hiking-trails and ski-school area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bodmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodmi Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing