We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view and excellent diner.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saitama, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing view and excellent diner.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed 3nights. 3rd day morning, we could see the beautiful morning scene from our room.
Top of Eiger brightened golden. Weather report said,today was cloudy. We saw the brightness. How about the Jungfrau joch weather? We believed this scene. We went up to "Top of europe" by first train. We could see beautiful Jungfrau or eigergletscher, had a happy morning.
Every day we saw Eiger and village landscape. Several times , saw the mountain train came and went.
We love this scene.
We enjoyed dinner 2 times at the hotel restaurant. Main dishes were delicious.
Most favored taste was the dessert. 1st days cake with raspberry sauce and next time chocolate mousse, both of them were perfect. We had a good memory.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riyu18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Belvedere guest from Japan,
Domo arigato for your wonderful comment. It is very kind of you to take this time for us. We are very happy to read your positive comment. We hope you traveled home safe and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    133
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
261
483
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Belvedere Hotel is ideally situated. Our room looked out over picture- postcard chalets, nestled into the hillside beneath the mighty Eiger. Snow glistened on the mountain tops and sunlight caught the cables of the various gondolas taking you upwards. Trains chugged through this wonderland adding movement to unbelievably beautiful scenery. The Hotel was far from an anti-climax to the view. Friendly and helpful staff, warm, clean and spacious accommodation and food to tempt a saint! Despite several days of rain we really enjoyed our time in Grindelwald. Plenty of good walking. Fun hopping off various trains and gondolas and always sure of good food on our return.
Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for view of the Eiger and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IML1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Belvedere guests,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment. We're happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay even though the weather was not the sunniest we ever had. Luckily our region has a lot to offer, also for bed weather days, for example a trip to the Trümmelbachfalls (waterfall in the mountain) or the Beatus caves. We hope to welcome you back soon with better weather.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We continue to stay at the Belvedere simply because it always delivers. It is great to see so many staff that have been there from when we initially stayed there 8 years ago, and the continual slight changes they make to try ever more to provide a perfect hotel and holiday.That we will certainly go again next year probably says all that is necessary.

Ian and Lynn Andrews, Bucks, UK

Room Tip: We always have a room with an Eiger view and would recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Belvedere guests,

Thank you very much for your loyalty. We always look forward to welcoming you and are always sad to see you leave. We hope you got home safe and and once again look forward to welcoming you next year.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Belvedere is a lovely property - located close to town but just far enough away to be in a quiet location. Views are beautiful and we were fortunate to have clear weather during our visit. Beds are comfortable and housekeeping is excellent - the room was wonderfully clean. Lounge is a comfortable spot to relax with a cocktail, which we did while writing in our journals and the bartender was attentive. Breakfast offered a wide range of options and front desk staff were helpful when asked for suggestions and directions.
While it was a great stay, this hotel is one of the most expensive we've ever stayed in. As nice as this hotel was, I think others offer a similar view and I would try another location next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for your stay with us and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very aware that we are an expensive hotel and being expensive in Switzerland means being very expensive everywhere else. Our prices are high because we offer a high quality of service and yes there are many nice views from many places in Grindelwald, but the view from our Eiger view rooms are the best in town. We hope you got home safe and wish you all the best.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The 4 night stay I have just had at this hotel was the highlight of our trip.
Everything was amazing - the room, the service from all the staff, the food at the restaurant, the proximity to the station and the town, the outdoor spa.
We loved being there, and as we left made a promise to ourselves to return and see this magic village in winter. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MikeT_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Belvedere guests

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. We very much look forward to welcoming you in winter. Winter is absolutely amazing here and we're sure you'll love it. Until the we wish you a wonderful time back home.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Belvedere Hotel is a great choice for your stay in Grindelwald. It is run very hands-on by the family that owns it, and it shows. They have attended to so many details to make their hotel excellent. Our room was immaculate, large, and had a great view of the Eiger. The bathroom is well laid out and the shower was strong. The bed is extremely comfortable and you can choose from 7 different pillows. There is a very nice pool which is indoors and with an outdoor jacuzzi that you access through a passage from the pool. There is a nice lounge where you can enjoy a drink or coffee (with complimentary piece of cake if you are a guest). Although they are located a few minutes walk from the train station, they have a free shuttle to take you to and from if you don't want to walk with your suitcase. The hotel location is not on the main strip of shops and hotels, but rather, is on the other side of the train station, and in a much quieter and more peaceful setting. The breakfast buffet is amazing - plentiful fresh fruit, cheese, smoked salmon, many kinds of bread and rolls, croissants, cereals, yogurts, granola, fruit juice, sausage, etc. etc. They will make any kind of egg you want or fresh pancakes. They have a great selection of black teas, green teas, and flavored teas. The wifi is reliable. There is a power strip next to the desk for plugging in your laptop, tablet, phone charging, etc. Also other outlets where you need them and in the bathroom. One of the best things about the hotel is the staff. Everyone we dealt with at the front desk, the lounge, housekeeping, the guy who drove the shuttle, and the restaurant staff (see my separate review on that) were fantastic. They were really nice, friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. There was not request that they did not try to accommodate, and in my experience, always did.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XXNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We're very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to fulfill your every wish. We hope you got home safe and look forward to welcoming you back with us some day.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our third stay at Belvedere and overall it is an excellent experience. This is a first rate 4 star hotel. The views from the hotel can only be described as stunning and the staff are all so efficient and friendly and a great credit to the hotel. The food is very good, however not on the same excellent level as in the previous years. We must have been spoilt as we noticed the difference. Before you could book half board, but that has now stopped and you have to pay for dinner separately, except if you are on a package holiday. This is a shame as we preferred the half board option. The hotel is also a bit noisier than it has been in previous years and strangely the owner recommended that we address the noise issue of our neighbours rather than him or his staff. We rather strongly disagreed with this and the matter was resolved by him after all. We hope this approach isn’t recommended this to more senior travellers perhaps wouldn’t be so able to stand up for themselves and who definitely would not want to have a confrontation with fellow guests.

The rooms are very comfortable and the maid service efficient and friendly.
This is the place to go if you love walking in mountains and Grindelwald has easy access by rail, cable-car and gondola, to both sides of the valley. Take the ‘First’ gondola from the village for fabulous, scenic walks, or the ‘Männlichen’ gondola to meet the cable-car down to Wengen. Views are absolutely amazing!

Leaving the Belvedere was a sad occasion and I think we will definitely be back!

Tip: Also use the many webcams online to check on visibility before you plan your day.

Room Tip: Tip: Also use the many webcams online to check on visibility before you plan your day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandSarah6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Belvedere guest,
many thanks for your wonderful loyalty and thank you so much for the excellent review.
I read all questionnaires from our guests with great interest and interesting enough, we have more comments telling us that the quality of the food has even improved, than others, saying that it was better before. Regarding half board, I regret that we had to change our system. During the winter seson by the way, we are still offering half board. We changed for the summer season for the following reason. Year after year, the number of guests booking half board decreased. Two years ago, when we offered half board for the last summer, there were less than 15% of the guests taking it. 5 years back there were still about 80%.
You are right, that the hotel was quieter before. Before the financial crisis, before the Swiss Franc gained so much value, 70% of our guests stayed with us for one week or longer and we were working almost exclusively with a private clientele. In the mean time, the average stay has gone down to less than 2 days unfortunately and we also get some small seminars or VIP groups. The problem in your case however was one single family, that was still jumping around theirs rooms early morning. By experience we have found out, that the most effectiv way to get peace and quiet is if the guest who is disturbed, is calling the room concerned, telling them that as their neighbours you would like to sleep. A US hotel mangager once suggested that method to me, when I had a problem with my neighbours in his hotel. I have been using that method several times since in all kind of hotels and countries and it really works. We also had to make the experience, that if somebody from the reception calls the noisy guests, that these clients can get really mad at the hotel staff and it even happened, more than once, that guests left the hotel for that reason, telling us, that they would not accept such calls.
Anyhow, it is a delicate matter and never pleasant, for whom ever.
We are hoping, that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a 4th visit next year, be it in the winter or the summer season. We can highly recommend you the winter season also, be it for skiing, winter hiking, tobogganing or just to relax in a beautiful white landscape.

With best regards
Urs-B. Hauser, family and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HRS, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing