We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our 4th family ski holiday in the Belvedere. On all occasions the staff have been welcoming, friendly and helpful. The views from the hotel are fantastic; the contrast of the towering Eiger and the pretty chalets with the orderly trains that climb to Kleine Scheidegg on the opposite side of the valley are a delight to look at whilst having breakfast. The food is excellent and beautifully presented and the tasteful, unobtrusive live piano music creates the right atmosphere for a lovely evening. The hotel's shuttle service to and from the lifts is very welcome, particularly after a long days skiing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear returning Belvedere guests,
What a great pleasure to have had you back with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences here on tripadvisor. We're very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for the nice comments on our staff and the comments on our food and pianist in particular. We'll be happy to share your comment with our team. We look forward to your next stay. Until then we wish you all the best and a wonderful time back home.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    133
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
261
483
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langenthal, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Nice location not too far from the train station. Pretty great spa, though the steam room could use a renovation. Got free upgrade to a big, comfortable room. Didn't try the restaurant. Hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. Recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake_82ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We thank you for the lovely comment and assure you that we are planning on renovating the sauna and steam bath area this year.
We hope to welcome you with us again soon.

best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is the local treasure with its fine cuisine, rich history, friendly staff that make u feel like a special guest, incredible views from each window, wonderful spa area, and great location! The place worth returning! The only thing that made us sad was that we had to leave

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Belvedere guests,
We're so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your departure saddens us as much as it saddens you. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences here on tripadvisor. We enjoyed having you with and are looking forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is our third time in the Belvedere. Once again we had a great time there. We stayed 12 days this time. Everybody knows us by now and we are like part of the family. The Hausers, the owner-manager family make sure that guest feel welcome and are very accommodating to fulfill special needs. The food was excellent and creative. We will go again!

Room Tip: Southside room provides an impressive view to the Eiger North face - and the Scheidegg ski area for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSchilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Belvedere guests,
Thank you so much for returning to our hotel and for writing this lovely comment. We were very happy to see you again and are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were in Grindelwald in November of 2013. After an overnight flight from Atlanta and an all day train ride we arrived in Grindelwald and were warmly greeted by the Hauser family. The hotel is very conveniently located to the rail station and the center of the quaint village. The rooms were excellent with a beautiful view. Breakfast the next morning was outstanding. The view from the dining room was breathtaking! I highly recommend a stay at this charming family owned and operated hotel. We look forward to returning again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldawg31794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Belvedere guests,

Thank you for staying with us last November. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. November is quite a quiet season in Grindelwald but there are many things to do even in the quiet time. We're also glad to read that we could make you feel so comfortable with us and we're looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A most enjoyable week spent at the Belvedere. This was our 2nd. stay in the hotel. Previously we spent a Christmas break back in 2006. The hotel has a wellness centre and the hot tub (in the garden) great to relax in after a days skiing or walking. The swimming pool was quiet and well looked after. We found all the staff helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and we did like the night service where the bed was turned down and the bathroom given a tidy up. Meals were excellent sometimes there was a little wait between courses but well worth waiting for. One draw back was the price of the wines we thought them expensive. Grindelwald is a beautiful area fabulous views and transport excellent. P. Bly

Room Tip: High floor gives a wonderful view of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 557paulleeds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for returning to our hotel. We were happy to have you back after so many years. Thank you also for your lovely comment. We were quite surprised to hear that you think our wine prices are expensive. Our wine list guarantees a nice mix of wines in the middle and upper price class, but our prices are very competitive especially when it comes to French classic bottles, which we sell at a very competitive rate. We don't carry any cheap wines as you mentioned correctly but for 50 CHF you will find several decent wines. Also at the moment we are restructuring our wine list as we want to focus more on local wines in accordance with our sustainability values and efforts. We hope you got home safe and look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Grindelwald is an excellent place for an active holiday (hiking, skiing or mountain biking) in a marvelous environment. People are very friendly and that is not always the case in touristic villages.

The hotel has well to excellent facilities (rooms and wellness), an excellent staff and restaurant. Rooms are spacious and have a marvelous view on the mountains. Staff is excellent and always tries to fulfill your request, whether it is a breakfast package because you need to leave early, you have a flat tire on your car (they arrange repair) or you need a doctor. The kitchen brigade prepares good breakfast and excellent diner. We also appreciate the cozy family atmosphere and the fact that staff and the family who owns the hotel knows their guests and remembers your preferences from previous visits.

We definitely hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Take a room with view on the Eiger. View is marvelous and (sspecially during winter) you are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear returning Belvedere guest,

Thank you very much for coming back to our hotel and for your wonderful comment. We appreciate reading that you enjoyed your latest stay with us and hope to come back soon. We're of course happy to help anytime with whatever issues come up and we're glad the repair worked out and you could enjoy your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Green Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HRS, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing