We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic and welcoming hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just come back from a fantastic weeks snowboarding in Grindelwald and were very lucky to have chosen this hotel! We have had exceptional service from all the waiting, bar and housekeeping staff during our stay! Our room had the most amazing view and the food in the restaurant was delicious every day. The outdoor jacuzzi was the perfect way to relax in the afternoons after a fantastic days boarding. I really cannot wait to come back and visit this hotel and all it's staff again. Many thanks for making our holiday so special!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadeygilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Belvedere guests.
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and thank you also for having chosen the family run Hotel Belvedere for your stay in Grindelwald. We are more than just happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since over 100 years, the Hauser family and their staff do their utmost to make their guests happy. Wonderful to hear, that you have the intention of coming back soon. May I suggest you try the summer season, when the meadows are dark green with mountain flowers of all colours and when the cows, sheep and goats are grazing all around. The variety of excursions in the summer is incredible, also the hiking and biking trails. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and remain with best regards
Silvia & Urs-B. Hauser with family and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from an impromptu weekend in the Interlaken area and stayed at the Belvedere.
I have travelled all over the world, but I have to say the service at this place was hard to beat. We booked a family suite (kids got separate adjoining room with bunk beads). From the minute we arrived great hospitality. The restaurant was amazing (I had very poor expectations coming in at high Ski season). 6 courses and an amazing variety.Presentation great and an outstanding cheese board. Alina in the restaurant was very kind. Kids extremely well looked after.
Worth every penny. Not a cheap rental for the night, but for a Swiss hotel very spacious.
Excellent pool and jacuzzi also ( did not use Spa)
Situated 3-5 min walk from the station. Today we took the morning bus to Bussalp and enjoyed sledging. Amazing views coming down. Was hampered by the fact my wife and eldest kid hate activities in snow, but my youngest and I had a great time, with the other walking down. A bit nerve racking when the buses come up the hill as they share certain parts of the run to get up and down, but they alert you pretty much from afar so you can slow down.
I am sure we will be back there soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naruto7860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Belvedere guest

Thank you for choosing the Belvedere for your visit in Grindelwald. We're very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our 6 course menu offers a wide variety of foods and we also take special care of our guest with any kind of allergies. Our kitchen can prepare almost everything on the menu for anyone with allergies. When you go to Bussalp unfortunately you might cross several buses on the way down. Next time you could also try Alpigeln. There you have no buses and it's sometimes also open till 10pm. As only half of your family enjoys winter sport you could also come here in the summer or spring. This is when the alpine flours are wonderful. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Belvedereis located near the railway station on the main road into Grindelwald. Neither the road nor the railway impinge on the ambience of the hotel but the location near the free bus route and station make it convenient for skiing.
The rooms are all of a good size and the decor is typically Swiss hotel ie would be regarded as slightly dated by some. Those at the back have a view over the mountains and the Wetterhorn but if you want to pay quite a bit more, you can have a view over the Eiger. During the skiing season, this extra does not really seem worth it as you can see it well from the lounge and dining room during the hours of daylight.
The hotel runs a minibus to the Mannlichen lift and First lift first thing in the morning with pick up in the late afternoon. Although you can catch the free bus from outside the hotel, the minibus is a little extra luxury and the driver was very flexible and helpful.
The hotel, like most Swiss hotels, offers half board (breakfast and evening meal) and this is well having. The dinners are either a basic 3 courses or 6 courses for a supplement. It is difficult to think how more than 3 courses could be managed. However, a more flexible meal regime is being introduced this year which enables guests to eat elsewhere or in the bistro and this is in response to guest feedback. The dinner with live piano music seems a good option. Guests should be aware of the Swiss hotel custom of moving you towards the apparently desirable window seats with a view, according to previous visits and length of stay.
There is an outside hot tub and covered small pool and, for skiers, a boot and ski room.
The staff were all very helpful from start to finish in this family owned (Hauser) hotel and for its location and value, I would put it number 1 in Grindelwald.

Room Tip: If a view of the Eiger is important, pay the extra but not really necessary in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Belvedere guest

Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and for your wonderful and very extensive comment. We're very happy to read that you enjoy coming to us and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our 4th stay at the Belvedere and it's as charming as ever and probably the nicest hotel overall we've ever stayed in. The service as always is perfect - very friendly staff many of whom have been with the Hausers for years and who seem genuinely pleased to see you back and for whom nothing is too much trouble.

the food is excellent and the overall standard of the hotel is very high. Extremely useful to have the hotel bus service to take us to First and Mannlichen. The pool and spa area are an additional high point. Good to have a real musician playing the piano this year. We plan to come back every year as long as our legs are mobile.

Room Tip: South facing Eiger view rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kundry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Belvedere guest

Thank you very much for your great review. It was a pleasure to welcome you back. We do have a lot of employees that have been with us for several years, especially in the restaurant. This is very important to us as they know the hotel and the area very well and can therefore usually answer any question you might have. We look forward to seeing you again next year and wish you a great rest of the year.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very clean facilities and very friendly staff. Only stayed 1 night so I can not rate really the facilities but it made a pretty good impression.

Staff was helpful in organising and preparing activities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dude2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our sixth return to the Belvedere. The staff are like family friends and the hotel is very welcoming and lovely. It has been run by the Hauser family for over 100 years. You can sit in the hot tub at the end of the day and look at the snow covered mountains and the food is fantastic. The staff are all very welcoming and helpful. There is a lot to do - skiing, snow shoeing, hiking and sight seeing as well as a programme if you want it of activities such as curling.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of mountains but if you want a view of the Eiger then request this (it will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Belvedere guest

Thank you for returning to our hotel. It was great to have you back. Thank you also for the nice words. As you mentioned correctly there is a lot to do around this time of year. Our hotel as a private ski instructor who is also a member of our family and we offer tobogganing and curling once a week as hotel activity so if you've never tried it this is your chance. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at the Belvedere. After a great first experience in Jan 2012 we were happy to go back again and were rewarded with a great week once again. The hotel is a wonderful family run establishment with a warm and welcoming feel. All the staff are pleasant and eager to help with any request. The rooms have a high standard and housekeeping does a fine job despite the piles of ski clothes from a family of four. The restaurant has lovely menus that are delicious and served with style. We enjoyed the nice size indoor pool and outdoor jacuzzi and we also made use of the saunas each day. The views from the rooms and restaurant are wonderful. Also the location is close to the train station but still very peaceful. We can't say enough good things about the Belvedere and expect we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: The family suites are great and usually so hard to find in Europe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonHolidayhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Belvedere guest

Thank you very much for returning to our hotel and for your wonderful review. We're happy to hear that we managed to cater to your every need and look forward to pampering you at our hotel again in the future.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
615 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $283 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing