We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely family run hotel of an excellent standard - spectacular setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely family run hotel of an excellent standard - spectacular setting”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our sixth return to the Belvedere. The staff are like family friends and the hotel is very welcoming and lovely. It has been run by the Hauser family for over 100 years. You can sit in the hot tub at the end of the day and look at the snow covered mountains and the food is fantastic. The staff are all very welcoming and helpful. There is a lot to do - skiing, snow shoeing, hiking and sight seeing as well as a programme if you want it of activities such as curling.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of mountains but if you want a view of the Eiger then request this (it will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest

Thank you for returning to our hotel. It was great to have you back. Thank you also for the nice words. As you mentioned correctly there is a lot to do around this time of year. Our hotel as a private ski instructor who is also a member of our family and we offer tobogganing and curling once a week as hotel activity so if you've never tried it this is your chance. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    133
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
261
483
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at the Belvedere. After a great first experience in Jan 2012 we were happy to go back again and were rewarded with a great week once again. The hotel is a wonderful family run establishment with a warm and welcoming feel. All the staff are pleasant and eager to help with any request. The rooms have a high standard and housekeeping does a fine job despite the piles of ski clothes from a family of four. The restaurant has lovely menus that are delicious and served with style. We enjoyed the nice size indoor pool and outdoor jacuzzi and we also made use of the saunas each day. The views from the rooms and restaurant are wonderful. Also the location is close to the train station but still very peaceful. We can't say enough good things about the Belvedere and expect we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: The family suites are great and usually so hard to find in Europe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHolidayhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest

Thank you very much for returning to our hotel and for your wonderful review. We're happy to hear that we managed to cater to your every need and look forward to pampering you at our hotel again in the future.

Best regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Belvedere Hotel, in the mountain village of Grindelwald, is in a great location. I went there with my family during Christmas 2012 and I was extremely impressed with the Christmas decorations! It is close to gondola stations and a train service to a different part of the mountains. The hotel provides a minibus service to drive you to the gondola stations with fixed times. Personally, the best two things about this hotel were the free internet wi-fi (accessible in any part of the hotel) and the pools. There is a traditonal indoor pool with an indoor hotub. And there's more; a saltwater outdoor pool, combining the cold climates with the warm luxury to make an astonishing, relaxing visit. The Hauser family, owners of the hotel, are very welcoming. As soon as I arrived at the hotel, Mr Hauser immediately greeted me. Not many hotel owners actually do this. If you are looking at other hotels around Grindelwald, bear in mind that they may not have a games room whereas the Belvedere provides this, including Table Football and Table Tennis. The food in the Belvedere hotel is creative! Every night there is a new six-course menu waiting for you. There is also a children's menu which includes the likes of french-fries. All staff speak English and are very helpful. The owner personally comes around each table on certain nights to give info on the weather and to have a general chat the meal time. This hotel is very much a family-run thing. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in Grindelwald!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us over the holidays. We're really glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you also for this great review. Our family has run this hotel for over 100 years and we try our best to make you feel like home. This time of the year is by far the best to enjoy our outside sole whirlpool as the temperature differences are quite the experience and after a long the on the slopes our 6 course dinner with many different choices offers just the right amount of energy you'll need to hit the slopes again the next day. We hope to welcome your family with us again soon and wish you a wonderful New Year.

Best regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Belvedere for 8 nights over (December) winter. The hotel is family owned and managed and we were fortunate enough to meet all the family members, who were very welcoming. In fact all the staff from the reception to the concierge were very friendly and helpful. Great health suite facility to help you relax after a day out on the snow. The views from our room of the Eiger and the village below we're nothing short of breathtaking! We will stay here again!

Room Tip: All the rooms were very good, but try to get a room overlooking the Eiger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest

Thank you for the kind words and for your stay with us in December.. We're glad we all got to meet you and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. We wish you a great New Year and a wonderful time back home.

best regards

The Hauser family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very comfortable, excellent food over Christmas 2012. The staff are without exception friendly - from chambermaids up to the owner. And they all speak excellent English! The hotel bus to the skilifts was very useful. The village bus stops right outside, and it's only 5 min walk to the railway station.

Room Tip: South facing with Eiger view - spectacular scenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,

Thank you for spending Christmas with us this year. We all had a wonderful time and hope you'll be back next year. Thank you also for your kind comment. Our skibus driver will be happy to take you to the First or Männlichen gondola anytime during the winter and as you mentioned correctly the local bus stops just outside the hotel if you wish to anywhere else. The transportation fee for transports within town is included in you ski or hiking pass. Hopefully you will visit us again soon.

best regards

The Hauser family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Excellent hotel with very friendly staff and the Hauser family as wonderful hosts! Rooms are modern.Excellent restaurant with variety of choices. Great facilities, very clean, and beautiful location. Worth to visit more than once.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sijstermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests,

Thank you very much for returning to the Belvedere. It was really great to have your family with us for Christmas. Thank you also for the kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your time and hope to see you again soon.

best regards

The Hauser family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights around the Christmas break, our 4th stay overall, but our first in winter. The hotel is a really well run family hotel with nice personal touches.

The views from the back of the hotel of the Eiger and Wetterhorn are really spectacular in Winter, including a view of the gorgeous snow capped houses, huts and chateaus on the mountain slopes.

The highlight of the trip was a Christmas event for kids outside in the hotel garden where all the children staying in the hotel got presents, got their pictures taken with Santa and got to ride on a mule. Our 6 year old loved it! Thanks to the Hauser family for organizing.

Overall a great, (albeit short) trip at a time of year when the town of Grindelwald, this hotels and its environs look spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YJalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,

Thank you very much for your short visit over Christmas. It was a pleasure to welcome you in the winter time for a change. We're glad you enjoyed our Christmas celebration with Santa. It has been a long tradition at the Belvedere and we always enjoy it. We hope to see you more often in the winter season from now on and wish you a great start into the New Year.

best regards

The Hauser family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Green Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing