We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in a beautiful village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Modern/updated hotel that is privately owned by 3rd generation family. Amazing service; entire staff very helpful and firendly! Food was excellent and amazing; great service, here again. Remarkable location at the base of the Eiger Mountain; fantastic views and convenient to train station and for travelling. Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Belvedere guest
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back with us soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 970 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

Having been there five times before, we knew what was ahead. The train run to Grindelwald is out of this world, seeing the Eiger as you enter the valley is breathtaking. The hotel is a few hundred yards away from the station [though you rarely hear the trains], and the bellboy will quickly pick you up when you call them. The hotel is located with the rear facing the Eiger, and the front facing the Wetterhorn, but the Eiger rooms are out and away the best places to be. The rear of the hotel includes the terrace where you can sit and relax while looking at the foothills, which in my mind look like a realisation of the Shires from Lord of the Rings - unbelievably picturesque, green and enchanting. The front desk staff greet you with a smile and a glass of bubbly, while the porter takes your bags to the room.
Rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped [including hospitality tray, which not too many hotels offer in Switzerland]. Bed linen is crisp and white, and there is a pillow menu for those who wish to experiment. The bathroom was supplied with liquid hand and bath gel, and some nicely fragranced soap was available on request [earlier guests had suggested this, after finding the bath gel inconvenient to access]. Towels were decently sized, and of good quality.
Dinner was either a 3- or 6-course menu [tell the waiter/ress before you start, to benefit] and of excellent quality. Nothing could be nicer than to eat their meals with a nice glass of wine, all the time looking at the scenery. Once a week there are buffets for hors d'ouvres, mains and desserts, all of which are superb. A pianist accompanies the evening meal, which adds to the finesse of the place. Breakfast is a buffet, with a selection of breads, pastries and a hot dish. Cheeses, meats and jams are also available, and the chef will make up omelettes or waffles on request. The waiting staff are excellent, and make you feel really at home, especially Sonya and Ann-Lo.
They have a wonderful indoor swimming pool, with an indoor whirlpool, but best of all is the outdoor heated salt water spa, where you feel really hedonistic sitting in the cool open air while having the aerated water soothing the aching muscles from the day's walk.
The hotel isn't the cheapest, but in terms of value for money, in my view it can't be beaten.
I never tire from being in Grindelwald, and being at the Belvedere makes it that much more special.
If you are offered the half price Jungfraubahn pass [6 days unlimited travel on the trains, cable cars and buses in the locality] it seems expensive, but really is good value.

Room Tip: Eiger rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LemurLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear returning Belvedere guest
It was a great pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel. We highly appreciate your loyalty. Thank you very much for your very kind comment. We'll be happy to inform Ann-Lo and Sonya that you enjoyed their service. As you know they have been with us for several decades and are definitely a permanent part of our hospitality family. Our packages with the Jungfraubahn pass are a great deal if you wish to hike and discover the mountains while you're in Grindelwald.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope you have a great rest of the year back home.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were met at the train station, whisked to the hotel, greeted with champagne and treats, given a lovely room, and ate like royalty! This hotel has a great location, easy walking distance to and from train, the staff is wonderful (all of them - especially in dining), the food was so very surprisingly great. We had the 6-course menu, and every dish was just so very, very good. For the salad course, you visit the salad bar where there must be 20-30 different selections of wonderful produce and yummies. We definitely did not expect the menu to be so very different and special each night and were just so happy. There is an outdoor and indoor lounge where you can sit and just enjoy the spectacular view. You can walk easily to everything in town. We arrived in the afternoon and the staff recommended we take the "Glacier Walk" which was just beautiful and a great way to stretch our legs. At the turn-around spot, there is a hotel that offers for 6 Euro (I think) a walk through the stunning canyon walls over the glacial river. If you are not afraid of heights, this is a wonderful addition. While we were walking, we saw 4 men "Cliff Diving" in harnesses. Wow. Not for me, but they sure enjoyed it! Upon leaving, we were taking a 6am train, and the staff made us a "traveling breakfast" and had it ready for us the night before. I did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank addax12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a lovely review. Our highest goal is to make everyone's stay as easy and enjoyable as possible. This is why we offer a pick-up service from the train station. Once you arrive at the hotel we offer a complimentary welcome drink so you can relax from the journey. Our 6 course menu comes with a wide selection of choices a for example the salad bar you mentioned. We also have a great cheese selection and different buffets during the week. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I arrived jet lagged, exhausted, and needing to restore before business meetings in Zurich. From the moment I walked in, I knew I had chosen well: reception was warm and welcoming, porter available, my room opened onto a glorious view of the Eiger and was spacious, spotless, gracious, generously appointed (plenty of storage and hangers, seating, towels, kettle and tea, robes). Quick and accurate room service, large spotless indoor pool, outdoor saltwater jacuzzi looking out to mountains was beyond a good dream. Even a bad fall I had did not spoil my delight; I received excellent attention in its aftermath with ice cheerfully delivered to my room and taxis called to take me to a fine Interlaken medical office; good town and country walking advice; half board was generous in food choice, superbly prepared to one's preferences--and the selection of cheeses from which to choose after dinner was not only wide but the finest Switzerland has. One had the dangerous freedom to choose as much cheese as one wanted. The hotel is family run, which shows in the personal touches and continuity of staff all of whom take pride in being a larger family. This was an unusual trip traveling alone; at no point did I feel either isolated or intruded upon. Parking good; good proximity to everything--hotel is close to the train, a pretty walk to the gondola to Mannlichen, 30" from Interlaken, and 20" from the Lauterbrunnen Valley. My view from my table-and-chaired, flower-covered balcony of the changing moods of the Eiger would have been perfection enough but the people and the hotel facilities made it a perfect four-day hiatus in a busy life. My thanks to all who quietly, kindly, and expertly made this possible, all in impeccable English with a gentle sense of humor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Belvedere guest

Thank you very much for your comment. Reading it is a true pleasure. We're really glad we could make your stay so pleasant and relaxing.There really isn't anything we could add to your great review. Thank you very much. If you ever need to relax in Switzerland again, we would be happy to welcome you back.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have recently returned from our stay at the Hotel Belvedere. Although we have previously stayed at the hotel we have not done so for 4 or 5 years. We were worried that standards may have dropped since our last stay. Happily the wonderful standards of service and cuisine were just as high. The rooms are specious and spotlessly clean. The food was excellent, a wide ranging buffet breakfast and a generous 6-course dinner each evening with various choices and differing buffets on most evenings. The chef was particularly attentive to my mothers specific dietary needs, something she greatly appreciated. Nothing was too much trouble for the dining room and kitchen staff - many thanks. My only slight gripe was the service from reception but we drew this to the attention of the family owners who sent a very kind e-mail on our return to the UK. I was only sorry that not all Family Hauser were present, we particularly missed Urs and Sylvia and send them both our very best wishes. Phillip and Carole - you were both excellent, stepping up during what must be a difficult time for you both. We hope very much to see all of you again - hopefully during the forthcoming winter season.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellently appointed, those with an Eiger view are a must if you have not visited the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Belvedere guests

It was a great pleasure to welcome you back after so many years. Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our service. Our chefs are specialized on various dietary needs so never hesitate to ask for anything. Health is very important to us and we know how difficult it can be to find a restaurant that knows how to cater to your special requirements. We really look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We found the Belvedere to be a wonderful hotel, but did suffer some of the drawbacks of a larger hotel when it came to service.

The highlights: great staff who were very friendly and helpful in nearly every case, excellent food for breakfast and dinner (we just went with a 3-course dinner and it was plenty of food!), a nice location extremely close to the train station, and the outdoor salt-water whirlpool was fantastic!

The drawbacks: the "superior" rooms were decent, but not as attractive as a quality Hilton room in the US. Our room facing away from the Eiger faced the railroad tracks - so we heard the trains every morning starting at 6 am. Perhaps the noise level would have been better if we had left our window closed.

And we ran into a couple of service issues.

First, I specifically limited my hotel search to places that had a Finnish sauna. The Belvedere does have a very lovely sauna - but apparently it's only available on request. The first night we were lucky because someone had already requested it. But the next three nights we had trouble. The 2nd night they said we requested it too late (we needed to ask before 7:30 pm, although it doesn't say that anywhere). They made an exception and turned it on. But the next two nights we followed protocol and requested it well in advance...and BOTH nights they were so busy our request was forgotten until we finally had to remind them (and then wait for it to heat up). Very disappointing. (fortunately we consoled ourselves in the wonderful whirlpool - and the first time they gave us a glass of champagne by way of apology)

Second, the hotel assigns people to specific tables in the dining room for meals. I think it would be easier if it was first come, first serve....but it's a way of rewarding guests. Anyhow, we were given a very lovely table by the window and told that's where we would sit every meal - thus setting an expectation. All was well until our final morning when we arrive to find people sitting at our table. We sought out a staff person who apologized - but gave no explanation - and led us to another nice table. But we noticed a room number already there and asked several times, "isn't this someone else's table?" We were assured all was well. Not true. As we were leaving the dining room we were approached by a very angry British couple that told us "there are rules" and that "you can't just pick any table." It was very uncomfortable for us and we had to explain that we were given that table by staff. If the hotel decides to set an expectation that you will sit a certain place every meal, then they have to be prepared for the trouble that can cause. But it was not ok that we were put in a situation where we had to deal with rightfully upset guests.

So, I would be willing to stay at this hotel again and would have an enjoyable time - the food really was fabulous and the staff (particularly the dining staff) was great aside from the two problems mentioned above. However, I would probably look around first to see if there was a smaller hotel that also has the amenities we are looking for. We stayed at a smaler hotel in Zermatt - Cour des Alps - that was less expensive and completely wowed us in terms of the luxury of the rooms and the level of personal service.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you probably want to spring for a room facing the Eiger to avoid the sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. We're sorry to hear that not everything worked out as planed. Our sauna is open for public use during the day and can be reserved for private use in the evening. In the summer we don't heat the sauna unless it's requested, as not many people wish to use the sauna in the summer. In the winter it runs every day. We're sorry that your request was forgotten twice. We had a few problems with our front desk staff over the summer but were able to solve them by now.
As you also mentioned we assign tables, which you usually keep during your stay. We discussed your table situation in our staff meeting. We don't know how this could have happened as the system is very clear. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience and assure you that this will never happen again. We hope you could still enjoy your stay and would be happy to welcome you again to show you a perfect stay.

Best regards

Philip Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

1. The hotel is located in an excellent location near the metro and surrounded by grindelwald village and mountains.
2. Staff are helpful and friendly
3. Breakfast is good . Lot of different cheese to choose from (remember you are in Switzerland).
4. It would be a good idea if the hotel provides a chef who makes omelette in the open instead of ordering one.

Room Tip: Get the room that faces the mountains and river. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbaizai1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Belvedere guest
Thank you for the kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast buffet offers a wide selection not only of cheese but also of meet, bread and yoghourts. As you also mentioned you can also order omelets, pancakes and eggs. Our cook is not in the breakfast room as we don't have the necessary installations. This is something we'll change when we rebuild the hotel. We wish you a great fall and hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back some day.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $237 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing