We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
Nearby Hotels
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Caprice(Grindelwald)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Grindelwalderhof(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
$291
$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tschuggen(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Hotel Wolter(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$175
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Berghaus Bort(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$161
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gletschergarten(Grindelwald)
$214
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Spinne(Grindelwald)
$195
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,063)
Filter reviews
1,063 results
Traveler rating
870
149
28
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
870
149
28
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshauser familyoutdoor salt waterpillow menuoutdoor jacuzzitrain stationwelcome drinkamazing viewscorner roomeiger view roomfamily runsoupwonderful hotelover christmashalf boardwellness areajunior suiteeiger mountain
Filter
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 1,063 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our stays at the Belvedere are always enjoyable. The staff are friendly and welcoming and try to meet every need. Nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel has its own charm. It is not a characterless big chain hotel.
We liked the healthy food and the programme of daily activities.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Go by size to fit budget.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Belvedere Guest
Thank you very much for returning to our hotel. It's always a pleasure to have you with us. Thank you also for your nice comment. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Four of us (parents and 2 adolescent sons) used this hotel as a base for our 3 days hiking in the Grindelwald region. We had a family room with double bed, and 2 converted beds, and 2 bathrooms. Perhaps a bit on the small side but as most of our time was spent either out hiking or relaxing using the hotel's other facilities this didn't impact our stay at all. Staff extremely attentive, friendly and informative without being intrusive. Hotel very clean, well run with good facilities; indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms, and outdoor salt bath in the small but well kept garden looking across to the mountains. Hotel is well positioned to reach all local sites of interest either by public transportation or by car. Comfortable lounge and terrace areas with superb views to the Eiger. Good restaurant with excellent food and wine. We would not hesitate to use this hotel again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BooberBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us this summer. It's a real pleasure reading your great comment. We also have bigger family rooms for future visits for example the Roeti suite or the Wetterhorn suite. We also have junior suites we can connect for family use. Grindelwald is a beautiful place for hiking and our hotel is located perfectly next to the train station. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Hotel Belvedere is an outstanding hotel in many ways. It is situated in walking distance to the township of Grindelwald. We had a two bedroom suite travelling with another family member (adult). Wonderful views of the Eiger mountain with balconies from all rooms. Reception staff very attentive, polite and helpful. Rooms clean and spacious. Dining room pleasant, again with lovely views. Food selection and presentation very good. Weekend buffet outstanding. Extensive wine list with many wines from Switzerland, France and other countries. Hotel highly recommended by us. We would choose no other hotel in that area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Eiger mountain and valley below are highly recommended
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Belvedere guest

Thank you very much for staying with us this summer. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Belvedere. Our family suites are perfect for family vacations, as they have separate bedrooms for children. Also we have the possibility of connecting several of our double rooms to create two bedroom suites. Our suites with extra bedrooms are also popular with couples that have problems with snoring as there is no need to book more than one room. During high season we often have buffets in the evenings with starters, desserts and a special Grindelwald evening with local specialties. We have been adjusting our wine list recently to include more Swiss wine as we try to be as sustainable as possible and therefore do not wish to import tons of wine from the other side of the world.
We hope you got home safe and hope to welcome you with us again soon.

Best regards

The Hauser family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have been going to Grindelwald for over 10 years and stay at the the Belevdere Hotel always. THe Haur family, a 3rd generation hotelier, provides a very warm and friendly experience. You feel like you are coming to visit your relatives everytime you stay their. The location is perfect, just a few steps from the train station, the views of the valley and Eiger mountain will take your breath away, and the food and staff are original Swiss. A MUST STAY whenever you are in this part of the world. If you stay there and don't think it was the bomb, i will eat my hat...

Room Tip: Get one of the suites and make sure you ask for a room facing the valley, although there isnt a bad view in the place. Make sure you try the spetzel. The best in CH.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffrey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Belvedere guest,

Thank you very much for your beautiful comment. It's a pleasure to welcome you with us year after year and we would like to thank you for your loyalty. As you mentioned we always try to make everybody feel like home from the minute they arrive. We hope you will come visit us for many years to come. Looking forward to seeing you again soon we remain,

with best regards


The Hauser family & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Our room was large and modern with a large terrace. Central location, 3 minutes to the train station and center of town. Beautiful lobby terrace. Dinning room with a great view. Breakfast was very nice. Large pool, with 2 jaccuzis. The outdoor jaccuzi is one of a kind! Large, heated, out of this world.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank uri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for the great comment. We're glad you enjoyed our outdoor salt water jacuzzi and our terrace with the beautiful view to the famous Eiger north face. Our breakfast buffet, with a great choice of meats, eggs bread and Swiss muesli, is just the start you need for all the beautiful hikes and other activities in Grindelwald and the Jungfrau Region.
We hope to welcome you again with us soon.

Best regards,

The Hauser family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews