We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular views and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 10, 2011

i stayed at the belvedere hotel for 2 nights with my husband. it was our first stay. the hotels biggest asset is most definately the stunning views of the männlichen and especially of the eiger north face.
the hotel itself seems slightly dated.
we stayed in a junior suite which was decently sized and very clean. the bathroom facilities were quite basic. the balcony had a grubby looking carpet which management told us was going to be changed at the end of the summer season. the hotel is very well located a 5 minute walk from the train/ jungfraujoch train station and the village. it takes roughly 15 minutes to get to the first gondola.
there is a small spa area with a pool, a jacuzzi and sauna. it was great soaking in the jacuzzi after a hard days hike.
the staff were all without exception very friendly and efficient.
definitely a nice place to stay when in grindelwald.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pemberley_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Belvedere guests. Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. You call our hotel dated. The hotel was built by my grandfather, over 100 years ago. It is therefore definitely not new. I would rather say, that it has a lot of tradition, it has a long history. I think it is good that this can be seen, can be felt. We would like to build an extension and at that time renovate and restructure also the entire actual building. Since 5 years we are trying to get a building permit. So far without success. Please keep the fingers crossed, that we will soon get it. Despite the fact, that everything will be changed soon, we have continued renovating the place every year. Last year we did the interior of the pool area, a year before the lobby, the bar, the reception area, a year before the restaurant and some rooms and the year before we built the Outdoor salt water Jacuzzi and renovated rooms.
The carpets on the balconies will be taken away, they did not support our mountain weather. We are right now looking for a new product. Thank you very much for recommeding our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Urs-B. Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 996 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

Our expectations were high for this 4.5 star, #1 rated hotel in Grindelwald, and were unfortunately not met. The room (an Eiger facing junior suite), was spacious and comfortable, but not overly so. As mentioned by others, getting a cool night's sleep during the unseasonally warm weather was a challenge; it was not possible to open the windows to allow sufficient of the cool night air in without compromising our security and allowing the neighbours to peer in from their adjacent balcony. It was also moderately noisy with the windows open and allowed cigarette smoke to drift in.

We were also disappointed with the restaurant. It was never possible for us to get a nice table by the window (reserved for the tour bus patrons apparently), and for the first time in many years I had to send my meal back. My fish was so tough I could barely cut it with the steak knife proffered by the waiter in place of my fish knife when I first complained. Eventually the kitchen took it back and the Chef apologised and sent a replacement piece of fish (which was acceptable) with the explanation that the quality of that shipment of fish was "variable" (!!). Given that the hotel makes some claim to culinary excellence, this was unacceptable quality control from the kitchen and a great disappointment.

Finally, the hotel lacks that alpine charm of many of the others in town, being a big square concrete box, the view of which from our mountain walks seemed to be a scar on the village scenery.

Next time we might return to a hotel with alpine charm instead of the over-hyped Belvedere which was unable to deliver consistently on its promises.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sangio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Dear Belvedere guest from Australia.
we are really sorry, that we could not meet your expectations. You wrote yourself, they were very high, too high apparently. We are a 4* superior, not a 5 star and not a 5* star superior. You had a junior-suite with a fantastic view to the famous north face of the Eiger. Thank you for mentioning, that you did not feel good opening the balcony doors of your room for safety reasons. Nobody in 25 years has ever mentioned something like that. We are planning to change the hotel and to add a new wing. We will take that important point into consideration while planning.
You consider our hotel a scar in the scenery. Our hotel, that was built over 100 years ago. It was built like all hotels in that period. Go to Zermatt, to St. Moritz or elswhere, you find hotels like ours in all traditional resorts. Also Grindelwald has at least another 8 hotels, that look similar to ours, means no wodden Alpine style. To be very honest, I like our hotel, the way it looks and if love where it is located.
Regarding the fish, you are right, we had one evening a problem with a delivery of fresh fish.
The fish looked perfectly fine and the first piece which our chefs tasted, was very nice and tender. We soon found out however, that 9 out of 10 were not good, did not get tender. From the appearance one could however not see any difference. Would you have chosen the meat dish that evening, you would have been perfectly happy. We apologize that you got a bad piece.
You were also not happy to not get a window table. And you wrote something about bus patrons. We do not know any bus patrons and we do not have any in our hotel, at least not that I would know. We however have many regular guests and our seating policy in the restaurant is the following : The guests with the highest number of visits get the window table. This to thank them for their loyalty. It even happens, that guests who stayed with us 10x do not get a window table as they are all taken by guests who were with us over 10 times. You are complaining not getting a window table on your first visit. I would not like to hear your opinion if not getting a window table at your 10th visit.
We are happy to hear, that you are thinking of coming back to Grindelwald in the future. That you will not come back to the Belvedere,we of course regret, but fully understand.
Wishing you all the best, we remain with best regards.
Urs-B. Hauser & family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had a wonderful stay enjoying perfect service, a stunning room-view to the famous Eiger-Nordwand, enjoying the outside jacuzzi in the evening and delicous food - lovely!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear Belvedere guest.
Lovely, yes, your review is lovely, thank you so much and thank you for staying at our family run hotel. My wife Silvia and I are celebrating the 25th year since take over from my parents. Please keep the fingers crossed, that the hotel will still be run by the Hauser family in 25 years.
We of course hope that you will return soon.
With best regards.
Urs-B. Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Our first visit was from a guide review many years ago. It was sutch a good review that we just had to try the hotel. Well it was every bit as good as the review and we have returned when ever we can. My wife and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary this year and when I asked her where did she want to go to celebrate, the instant reply was " Belvedere". The hotel is the best and most friendly in the many in Europe that we have tried. Great food . They even try to match your waitress to your language ability. It is the small things that make all the difference. The surrounding countryside and walks are fantastic. The pool after a good day out! We will return! I do not complete these ratings as a rule but I must confirm the findings of the majority of the reports. Excellent and consistent every visit.

Room Tip: The front rooms that overlook the Eiger are just sensational
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear Belvedere guest.
Thank you so much for your loyalty. It is wonderful to hear, that you enjoyed your stay also this time. Congratulations to your 40th wedding anniversary. My wife Silvia and I are not quite there yet, we are celebrating our 25th this year. Please do come back again soon, as it is only thanks to wonderful people like you, that our small family run business could survive so far.
With best regards.
Silvia & Urs-B. Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

we enjoyed so much a whole week , we will return , restaurant and personnel are the leaders

Room Tip: good mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moti s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear Belvedere guest from Israel.
Many thanks for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. Thank you also for the review, which is short and clear. My wife Silvia and I have been invited by regular hotels guests to a wedding of their daughter in Israel and we had a wonderful time. Please return, how about for Chanukah, which this year falls together with Christmas.
Yours sincerely
Urs-B. Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The pink slab building looks a bit incongruous amongst the cuckoo clock chalets in the valley, but that is about the only thing out of place. It is close to the railway station, but not so close to suffer any real noise. Seven minutes sees you in the town itself.
The rooms generally face north or south, the south ones looking at the north face of the Eiger and the Grindelwald valley. The view from the latter rooms is spectacular. The place is kept very clean, with lovely crisp bed linen and with a turn-down facility in the evening if you so wish. The beds are typically continental being generally firmer than UK ones, but not so bad you feel you are lying on a board. They also have a pillow menu that is worth trying. Tea and coffee-making facilities are now provided, which is a bonus.
The staff are lovely, most of them treating you like an old friend and really eager to make your stay as good as it could be. If there is anything you want, they go out of their way to try to help provide it.
Meals are really special. Breakfast is buffet style, but with eggs cooked to order if you wish. Otherwise it tends to be typical continental fare, croissants, various breads and pastries, with meats, cheeses and confitures. Dinner is generally a six-course menu, including a salad buffet half way through: most of the courses are sized so you feel you can try them all, but without coming away feeling bloated and overfull. For those who do have small appetites, you can opt for three courses out of the six and pay a little less. The quality of the food is really good, and the menus are quite varied. Once a week they have a meat buffet and on another night there is a dessert buffet - sheer bliss! If there is anything you don't want, the staff will endeavour to supply alternatives. Some tables in the restaurant are sited by windows on the Eiger side, and it is enchanting to eat a meal watching the sun go down over the valley. The quality of the dining room staff is generally very high indeed, and most are multi-lingual: it is fascinating to hear them slip from English into French, German or Swedish as they negotiate the tables.
The pool is spacious with the room nice and light. The area has an indoor freshwater jacuzzi but the outdoor heated salt water jacuzzi is so delicious and hedonistic: after a day's hiking in the hills those complaining muscles soon succumb to the turbulence and warmth. A cold shower is there for the brave ones, but other than an accidental douche, I never plucked up enough courage to stay under for long.
It is really relaxing just sitting on the room's balcony or the hotel's verandah sipping a beer or wine and taking in the scenery, knowing that there is little you need to worry about, except leaving.
The Jungfraubahn 6-day ticket is a good buy, despite being pricey, as the mountain trains are generally very expensive on a trip-by-trip basis. The ticket covers trains, cable cars and buses in the Jungfrau area [Lauterbrunnen, Interlaken, Grindelwald, Murren and Wengen mainly] With one of these you can come and go as you please, so hiking easy, as you can pop on a train if you feel so inclined.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LemurLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We chose this hotel on the basis of the reports on trip advisor. Arriving at the hotel we were thinking can this hotel really live up to the reviews we had read. The answer - yes it does!!!

From start to finish we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Belvedere and are already planning to book again next year.

The food was very tasty and varied. When booking we were offered the choice of a three or a six course meal each night. We opted for three courses which was a good move as the servings were generous and we would never have done justice to six!

The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and always available when required.

After lovely days exploring the Jungfrau region we looked forward to our relaxing evenings in the hotel; using the pool, enjoying the view from our bedroom and from the dining room and, of course, to the evening meals.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erniewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear Belvedere guest from Great Britain.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We cannot get much better at the moment, but we have some building plans and would like to improve many of our facilities, also renovate the entire hotel. This will however not happen before 2014, and until then, the planning will continue. Also a building permit must be received, something that can take years in Switzerland, therefore 2014 will only be possible if everything will go well.
Hoping to have the great pleasure of welcoming you back before that, I remain with best regards.
Urs-B Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Hotel Kreuz & Post
#12 of 41 in Grindelwald
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Green Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $255 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing