We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel, with staff more like friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, with staff more like friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Fifth time here, and consistently good. Lovely crisp clean linen, spotlessly clean rooms and pool area, food quality amongst the best [with the chef more than happy to provide alternatives if the menu is not to your liking]. Views over the soft slopes of Grindelwald, rising up to the Eiger and Monch are breath-taking. The staff are absolutely brilliant, taking time to chat to everyone, slipping from one language to another seamlessly, and ensuring all is well. Jessica, Ann-Lo, Sonya and Alina were great fun, Maria, Caroline and Katerine were professional and slick while the owners Urs and Sylvia made a fuss of us all. Some people suggest it is a little dear, but you certainly get great value for money. The outdoor saltwater jacuzzi was delicious after a day's hiking, easing muscles in a most enjoyable way.
The hotel is only minutes away from the town, but separate enough not to be part of the hurly-burly of it.
Tip - if your stay is long enough, make sure you have a Jungfraubahn 6-day ticket: it may seem expensive, but it gives you unlimited access to most of the trains, buses and cable cars that feed the tourist sites in the area, and is a boon to part-time hikers who want to only walk part of the way!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LemurLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Belvedere guest.
With us for the 5th time, that are great news. Thank you so much for your great loyalty and thank you also for the wonderful review. We should ask you to write our new hotel brochure, as you have a superb talent to write. May be you will write the next "Harry Potter" and become the next writing billionaire. We hope that you will come back for your 6th visit soon, how about in the winter time, as Grindelwald has some very attractive skiing areas, but also a winter hiking paradise and lots of tobbogan runs.
Wishing you all the best, we remain with best regards.
Silvia & Urs-B. Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    125
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
256
463
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was our first visit to Switzerland and to Grindelwald. Not only was this a superb location from which to visit the fantastic sites in the Jungfrau region, the Belevedere Hotel was a perfect place to stay. With views of the Eiger and other nearby mountains the scenery was spectacular-especially whilst sipping a cold beer on the hotel Terrace each evening. The staff are fiendly, knowledgeable and professional. The facilities are ideal and the six course evening meal was a treat every night. The Thursday night "dessert" bufffet was an unforgettable experience. So much so that we're booking a winter trip so that my wife can experience what can only be described as "food heaven" for a second time. Jack Jacovou.

Room Tip: Eiger facing rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJacovou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Belvedere guest. Thank you so much for writing that wonderful review and thank you also for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. We are so happy to hear, that you fully enjoyed your stay and that you intend to come back next winter. Yes, the winter time in Grindelwald is just as beautiful and there is a lot to do, equally for skiers and non-skiers. Lots of winter hiking trails and toboggan runs make the non skiers happy, this besides all the wonderful possible excursions.
And good news for you. Our team in the kitchen, our chefs, will all also be with us next winter, they will therefore continue producing the same kind of food, which you enjoyed so much.
The view from the terrace, or our lobby, will be the same, just looking at a white, instead of a green valley. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, I remain with best regards.
Urs-B. Hauser and family (owners in 3rd generation).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

This is probably the nicest hotel I've stayed in abroad. Spotlessly clean rooms and public areas, exceptional staff, great food. We stayed for 4 nights as part of a tour.
I really liked the small things at this hotel like offering free cake with coffee / tea in the afternoons. Unfortunately I only got to try this twice as we were out exploring the area, but the cake was the nicest we had.
The wellness area was really lovely and welcome after a day out on our feet. The pool was a cool temperature, but nice for the summer. I don't normally like using a jacuzzi, but it was so spotlessly clean I couldn't resist! The outdoor area with the jacuzzi beds was equally great.
The room was a good size and had a large bathroom with bath and shower. Again - spotlessly clean. I liked that the hotel was doing their best for the environment and was more than happy with the soap and shower gel pumps and putting towels in the bath if I wanted them replaced. The robe and slippers were a nice touch.
The staff here are exceptional. Somehow managing to be very friendly and professional at the same time. An incident did occur with one of the waiters who unfortunately dropped a tray of orange juice on our arrival. I felt very sorry for the waiter involved who was apologetic and obviously very embarrased about it. I hope he didn't get into trouble as it was a very unfortunate accident!
This is an excellent hotel and I thoroughly reccommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC9079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Belvedere guests from Great Britain. Thank you so much for having joined the Swiss Classic Tour, which brought you also to our hotel. We are very happy to hear, that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. Many guests, who visited us on that tour, afterwards returned and stayed for a week or two.
We therefore hope to soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back also.
Wishing you all the best, we remain
with best regards
Urs-B. Hauser and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

This summer would be my third summer of visiting this hotel and I've stayed in rooms on all sides of the building - all comfortable. I even came out of my way off a trip to Paris to stay here for a few nights. It's true, the staff are very friendly. The food is varied and always enjoyable. The views are amazing.

It was the small touches, personal attention and consistent level of service that prompted me to write a review. I'd like to also thank Priska at the reception for all her help even after I left! I'm also sad to hear one server I've had every year will be moving away soon, I wish her well. It is the entire team that makes this place great though.

Next visit I hope will be in wintertime - and for a bit longer than just a few days!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTrave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Belvedere guests.
What a pleasure to hear, that you have been staying with us 3 times already. Thank you very much for your loyalty, we highly appreciate it. Wonderful to hear, that you wish to come back already next winter. Grindelwald offers a lot in the winter time, as member of "Best of the Alps". Skiers and non skiers get all happy as slopes and winter hiking trails are really attractive. I will make sure that Priska gets to read your review and also Jessica, our head of the restaurant, who is moving to London with her new British boyfriend. We are sure, that Alina, who is working for us for several years already, will make our guests of the restaurant just as happy as Jessica did. The Hauser family would like to thank Jessica for the great effort she undertook, to keep the quality of service high. She was mentioned in almost every questionnaire as a wonderful host. However Alina, her assistant, was usually mentioned together with her. So what else could we ask for as hotels owners, isn't that just great.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, we remain
Silvia and Urs Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

From the minute we came to Belvedere we had a wonderful time. We had a nice Junior Suite looking at the Eiger and Männlichen. We came quite late and directly went to dinner. We had the 3-course option and the food was lovely and nicely presented. We really liked the idea that we could choose whatever three options we wanted. We could have two entrées and one main course, two main courses and a dessert or even three desserts if that would have been what we wanted. We had our welcome Prosecco after the meal sitting on the terrace.
The hotel is spotlessly clean as is the pool and jaccuzzis. I loved the outside saltwater jaccuzzi, perfect after a long hike. There are bathrobes in the room and fresh towels at the pool area. Every evening the bedspread was taken away, the bathtowels fixed and a small peace of candy on the pillow.
The staff are all friendly and personal and always have time for a chat. We also got invited to go with the hotel bus to see how cheese was made but we choose to go up in the mountains instead. All in all, a great stay and we hope to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcelandicFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear Belvedere guests from Sweden. Thank you so much for your review and thank you for visiting our hotel in Grindelwald. Please spread the word in your country, in Sweden, as we would love to have more guests from Scandianavia. Grindelwald is unfortunately not yet well known in Sweden, why we don't know. What a pity that you did not come with us up to the mountain farmers, where you could have discovered, how they make the mountain cheese, where you could have tasted some of their cheese and also the fresh milk. Wow, the difference in taste of that fresh milk in comparaision to what you buy in shops, incredible. And you can buy some of their cheese and take it home, the perfect gift for family and friends, because really unique. We by the way visit the farmer also in the winter time, so if you would come back to enjoy great skiing or winter hiking, we could still go together.
Thanking you again for everything, we remain with best regards.
Silvia & Urs Hauser, owners in 3rd generation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We chose this hotel based on previous Tripadvisor reviews, and the fact that the owner had replied to each review which implied that the family were very involved in the running of the hotel. The warm impression this gave certainly continued, and then some, when we got there. Travelling with three children under 7, we're grateful if we're tolerated in nice hotels and tend to scuttle about shushing them a lot - but here they were so welcoming, so kind to the kids and they couldn't do enough for us. This made the experience so wonderful that we want to go back as soon as possible. We had a suite which was perfect in every way; from having two bathrooms and a pillow menu of 9 different types, down to the tubes of smarties for the kids in the welcome basket. We didn't plump for the Eiger view, and not sure this is necessary because you can't really miss it, wherever you go in Grindelwald! Members of staff were very informative and we based everything we did on recommendations from them. At the moment, the exchange rate certainly doesn't work in Sterling's favour so a lot of the tourist attractions (taking the train up to Jungfraujoch - unmissable) are surprisingly expensive (188 chf for one adult ticket = £150). However, we really felt we'd got great value for money for the hotel so it allowed us to swallow the rest. For example, we went half-board and dinner was an amazing three course meal. Sometimes it can be a bit of a risk going half-board but the food was simply stunning, including daily themes like tables and tables of the most exquisitely made patisseries or hors d'oeuvres. We really can't fault this hotel, it was lovely, simply lovely. When we returned, I found a long, chatty email from them in my inbox. The Hotel Belvedere gave us a huge warm hug from Switzerland and we're so pleased we chose it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collies39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear family from the UK. Thank you so much for having chosen the Belvedere for your stay in Grindelwald and many thanks for the wonderful review. Yes, the people on the stock market pushed the Swiss Franc up like crazy, making us expensive and our lives difficult. It looks like they want to kill Swiss tourism and the Swiss export industry. Our costs are however that high (for example £ 3'500.- per month for a chambermaid) and £ 20.- for a pound of meat, that we are unable to lower our rates. We do however our utmost to make our clients happy and hope that many wonderful people like you will be ready to pay the extra.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back, how about in the winter time. Your children would love the snow, eventually skiing or for sure tobogganing.
Wishing your family all the best, we remain.
Silvia & Urs Hauser with children Carole and Philip (who worked also at the hotel during they summer break from university)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed for a week at the Belvedere in August 2011 and (although we had stayed twice before) this was our best ever week-long hotel experience for many reasons. Our room was delightful - clean, airy and very well furnished. Stunning views too. The food was as delicious as ever and the different theme each evening added to the experience - as did the pianist and accordionist. The staff could not have been more delightful - efficient and professional but also very friendly and helpful. It was delightful to be greeted by the owners and their family members who take such pride in providing an outstanding holiday venue in the prettiest of setting imaginable. We could not have hoped for a better holiday. We shall return.

Room Tip: A balcony is useful to enjoy the best views. The Eiger rooms have the classic mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBessacarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Belvedere guests from the UK. We highly appreciate your loyalty, thank you so much. Thank you also for telling the people reading reviews at Tripadvisor, that it is worth returning to Grindelwald and the Belvedere several times. Some guests only stay one or two nights, think they have seen everything and have no intention to return. We have guests however, coming for 20 years and longer, who each time discover something new. A new hiking trail, a new water fall, a new attraction close by, it never gets boring. And it does not matter, if they prefer coming during the summer or the winter season, Grindelwald is beautiful all year round, that's why quite a big number of guests come in both seasons.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you again and we will tell our staff with pride, that you enjoyed their service and the food they prepared. Without our wonderful staff, we would not have the position with tripadvisor we have and I would like to thank them all with the bottom of my hearth.
Looking forward to welcoming you back, I remain with best regards.
Urs-B. Hauser & family and all staff members of course
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
#12 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing