We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Cheesey review!”
Review of Restaurant Rendez-vous - CLOSED

Restaurant Rendez-vous
Cuisines: Swiss
Restaurant details
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My Cheesey review!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was the first dinner we ate in Grindelwald, so I just had to get the cheese fondue, and my wife got a vegetarian dish (can't remember exactly what it was called, but a vegetable patty with french fries and salads). The fondue was a whole lot of cheese, of which I had to use the rest of my wife's leftovers to finish the liquid gold ( my wife just frowned for saying that). Other patrons have mentioned this, and I would agree., just get it for one even if there are two of you because you'll be Swissed out! As for my wife's dish she loved everything, especially the beet salad. The service was good , they had a smile on their face even when we asked questions, ( you'll understand what I'm talking about when you travel) even on they way out all staff members and even what seemed like local patrons thanked us for the visit to this homey establishment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveandKeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very friendly waitress who looked after us well. A little expensive (so is all Switzerland) - circa £40 for 2 pizzas, a salad and bottle of wine, but great service

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank StuartH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great food inside or out on the terrace”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Food was well cooked & good value; menu more varied than others locally; decor a bit dated inside but lively outside; our waitress seemed over stressed although the restaurant was not packed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hildenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cheese Fondue”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nice place. If you are lucky with the weather sit outside, beautiful views...
We ordered cheese fondue for 2, that what we have expected, very delicious. The best we have ever tried.
The service is quick and nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lstaj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheese Fondo”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Location of the restaurant is very good. we tried the mxed salad which was delicious. We also tried the cheese fondo but make sure if you are a couple to order for 1 person only and not for 2.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mbaizai1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Rendez-vous also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing