We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque setting”
Review of Hotel Wetterhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Wetterhorn
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Picturesque setting”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel is out of the town center, but has free bus service and free parking. Good value for money. Very clean. Nice restaurant for home cooking food and great view. Perfect for wolkers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoresh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel was ok and clean. breakfast was acceptable. restaurant was so so. only issue but significant one: the hotel is far from the center (5-10 minute drive) and rooms have views on a big parking lot (to be fair, the mountains in the background are gorgeous). I would recommend this hotel for people who want to hike or be away from the town center. It was probably not the best choice for my family as we would have preferred to be closer to the city as it was not convenient to go back and forth with two young children.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nico_versailles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Went up to the Hotel Wetterhorn for lunch after having visited Oberer Gletscher, and wanting to save a bit of money (and also being on a diet after all the apfelstrudels), asked for two glasses of tap water to go with our meal.

Waitress delivered the water but then told us, "Of course you know the tap water will also cost you money". When the bill arrived, we saw they had charged us 3 Francs per glass, which is roughly two POUNDS per glass...

Summarises nicely what is wrong with Switzerland - prices completely out of context with the rest of Europe...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank zzyzxUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Very picturesque setting, rooms dorm like & basic with bunk beds, but clean & probably typical fare for hikers & rock climbers. Had a good meal in restaurant. Waitress was very pleasant (from eastern Germany). It wasn't very busy as the weather was poor, so no doubt we got good service because of that. Plenty of parking as the hotel had it's own spaces plus a large public car park in front of the hotel. It was the highest hotel in Grindelwald so the view was great. Very convenient for walkers. We were motorcyclists & it suited us too.

  • Liked — waitress
  • Disliked — poorly lit room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wetterhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Residence Hotel Restaurant
Residence Hotel Restaurant
#34 of 41 in Grindelwald
59 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#32 of 41 in Grindelwald
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lauberhorn
Hotel Lauberhorn
#17 of 41 in Grindelwald
165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#28 of 41 in Grindelwald
85 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#20 of 41 in Grindelwald
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wetterhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wetterhorn

Property: Hotel Wetterhorn
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 159, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wetterhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Wetterhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing