We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Run Hotel”
Review of Gletscherschlucht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gletscherschlucht
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for a week's walking holiday and it proved a perfect base. The hotel is very comfortable and the location lovely being nearer to the edge of the town. However, it was the friendliness of the owners and staff which made it such an enjoyable stay, together with the lovely fod served daily. If felt very much like an individual, well run family hotel which I could not fault.

Room Tip: The rooms are typically Swiss in style and would benefit from some modernisation, but everything els...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived here after a VERY long drive from Tuscany. We were quite surprised that there were a couple of industrial buildings nearby but it really didn't distract from the other views around this hotel. There is a huge waterfall coming down from the lake in the glacier above the hotel and it's quite something to know that you're looking at the North Face of the Eiger on your arrival! There's also PLENTY of parking here and a nice view of Grindelwald town. The lady who greeted us when we walked in was a bit busy and so seemed a little bit distracted, but as soon as she took us up to the room she was really pleasant. She showed us around the room and how to use the key (not as straightforward as it sounds!), and let us know that if we wanted to eat downstairs in the restaurant we'd need to be a bit quick as the kitchen closed at 9pm (this was about 8.15 so it was a fair comment). On getting into the room - wow! It was huge, with pine panelling everywhere. There was also a mezzanine level where there were kids' beds. The bathroom was beautifully clean and a nice size. We opened the window when in the room as we really couldn't believe that the noise from the waterfall could be so closed out by the windows, but it definitely was - with the windows closed, you could perhaps just think that there was a small air conditioning unit some way away. A very quiet room indeed.
We went down to the restaurant and the lady had set two places at a table for us which I thought was a really nice, welcoming touch. We had a Rösti each, both of which were delicious, and the beer was excellent - very welcoming after such a long drive!
The beds were superbly comfortable and I slept really well. The shower was powerful and there was plenty of hot water. There was more than enough choice at breakfast and it was nice to sit and look out over Grindelwald and the Alps. After we checked out, we really should have got going, but we took a bit of time to read the information panels outside the hotel about the local area and the Glacier itself. We actually thought it was a real shame that we weren't staying a little longer so that we could have explored the Gletscherschlucht itself and the Crystal Museum. Very pleasant and a recommended place to stay away from the bustle of Grindelwald itself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxyroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

ok, so the lady who greeted us in the restaurant, and I only assume she was the manager, who then walked us to the reception desk above, falls a bit short on personality, but the lovely young waitress (with amazing service skills) made up for it throughout our stay. In fact, we didn't really see "Mrs. Wonderful" beyond our arrival.

Don't let this hold you back .... the location of this property, the quality of the restaurant, the modern rooms with the feel of "real" Switzerland ..... that's what you need to focus on, and this place does not disappoint in any of those categories.

Located at the foot of the mountains with a backdrop of pine trees and the overlooking the little stream to the village of Grindelwald across the meadow (photo focuses in on one of those lovely Swiss homes) .... nothing could be more in keeping with the nature and local flavor of the Berner Alpenland. As I sit here writing this on the in-room desk, expecting one last great breakfast buffet, and reflecting on one of those great days yesterday, where the TOP OF EUROPE mountain visit reduced our Bucket List by ONE, I can only hope that you, too, will have your once-in-a-lifetime experience atop the Jungfrau, Eiger and Moench mountain peaks enhanced by your stay here at the Gletscherschlucht (and be sure you pronounce it correctly) B & B.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 12 at the corner of the building ..... added view toward the glacier gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuroCaliGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

4th generation owned hotel....friendly, clean, great food, very hospitable!! Only got to stay one night and would have stayed longer. Loved this town and this hotel! The entire staff was eager to help us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with our wonderful experience at Gletscherschlucht. We called late in the evening to arrange a room and they waited for our 10:45 pm arrival. We hadn't eaten and they were kind enough to provide a small snack and tea for us. They were very welcoming and warm in receiving us.

The breakfast is excellent. Dinner is also good and shop owners in town actually recommend our own hotel when we asked about good places to eat.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable, well equipped. Internet is decent but signal strength is not as strong upstairs.

It can be tricky to find at night, but our gps got us there without a hitch and, if you have a keen eye, you can find your way here by following yellow hotel street signs that point toward the hotel as you enter town. We enjoyed being just outside town. And there are good skate and cross country tracks at the end of the driveway. Buses come hourly to the hotel, so getting into town is easy with a little planning.

Overall, we thought this place was great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Me and my wife and another couple arrived to Gridelwald after a lond day in the near villages and decided to sleep at grindelwald beacuse it was snowing and the views were outstanding.
in spite of the previous reviews here. we found this boutique hotel excellent in its wooden new structure, spacious room with a clean bathroon and heating and also an oustanding view from the mountains and gridelwald.
Sleeping in the hotel which is belt from wood makes the hotel a romantic experience as if you are living in a real house in swizerland surrounded with Alps view.
The only disadvantage is that breakfast has poor variety of food.
The owners by the way were very kind.
and free wifi

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazmouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived with an extra traveler that we met along our travels and was given a super hard time about her staying with us even though the website said that extra cots were available upon request. We were told that "well she can stay at another hotel." while traveling through Switzerland for 2-weeks I have never run across someone do rude!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kulovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lauberhorn
Hotel Lauberhorn
#19 of 41 in Grindelwald
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gasthof Panorama
Gasthof Panorama
#32 of 41 in Grindelwald
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#35 of 41 in Grindelwald
74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gletscherschlucht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gletscherschlucht

Address: Mettenbergstrasse 11, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $149 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gletscherschlucht 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gletscherschlucht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing