We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, wonderful old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Gletschergarten for 4 days in June and had a delightful time, in spite of the fact that it rained off and on. Our room opened out onto a balcony with a lovely view of the mountains and with the doors open, we were able to lie in bed snuggled under a down comforter while watching the clouds crawl over the face of the mountain. Very sensual! The staff was very helpful and came up with hikes for us to take even while a light rain was falling. We found that the rain didn't bother us at all -- in fact, it kept things nice and cool. The only downside to the room was that it overlooked a road that had a good bit of traffic on it and the sound carried right up through the open windows. However, when we closed the windows it was greatly muffled, and wgeb we turned on our white noise machine, we couldn't hear the traffic at all. The breakfast buffet was terrific. We would stay here again, most definitely!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gletschergarten
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 830 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2010

Staying at Hotel Gletschergarten was a great experience! We wanted a few days of spring skiing and relaxation in the Swiss Alps and got exactly what we were looking for. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, providing advice regarding the best package for our stay (we took the half-board option including ski passes), transport to and from the train station, and many suggestions for us to best enjoy our stay. The food at the restaurant was very good and they graciously provided vegetarian-friendly alternatives to the daily set menu for dinner.
The traditional charm of the hotel fit well with the overall atmosphere of Grindelwald. Our room was large and clean and we particularly enjoyed the mountain-view skylight as well as the wonderful view from our terrace. Transport to and from the ski slopes was quite convenient, and it was nice to have the option of the hotel steam room after a full day of skiing, followed by drinks by the fire in the cozy lounge.
Overall, our stay at Hotel Gletschergarten contributed to our great enjoyment of the Swiss Alps.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

The hotel is located on the main street, toward the upper end of Grindelwald, and offers great views of the Wetterhorn and Eiger. It has been operated by the same family for 4 generations and they have obviously figured out hospitality. The owners and staff were all very helpful and pleasant. While we didn't have dinner in the hotel restaurant, we had two breakfasts and they were lovely. There are also a hotel bar, sauna, and Internet corner (also free WiFi, though the reach may be limited).

Our room (#23) had recently been redone... It was very spacious; the furniture was new; and the bathroom was clean and modern. The balcony, which had a couple of chairs and a table, faced the Wetterhorn.

There is ample parking adjacent to the hotel. It is about a 5 minute walk down to the shops in town and maybe 10 or 15 minute walk to the train station. We bought train TKTS from the hotel and took the Jungfraujoch train up into the mountains. It is expensive, but if you can swing it, the views are amazing.

All in all, we loved this hotel and Grindelwald. The town doesn't seem as bustling as Zermatt, it there are plenty of shops and restaurants. The skiing isn't bad either! (-;

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques_Catier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

. Our hotel Gletchergarten had quaintly remained back at least 20 years ago, and with each passing day and night we would not have had it any other way. Family artefacts and mementos, antiques and photos arranged without the minimalist bravado of an interior decorator were as it should be. 110 years of generations have run Gletchergarten and daughter and son in law slowly chip away at generational differences. Still, it is the reluctance to shoot into the present which keeps this hotel as it should be. In many ways, this is the beauty of Grindelwald because quite frankly to move forward at speed would destroy it. At Gletchergarten there was a choice of views; a mountain view, a mountain and a mountain view. The room we had was large by any standard. Our hosts armed us with much information regarding skiing and sledding (sledging) and hiking. The meal at night (optional) was exceptional. If you want pizzaz and glitz you won't find it here, however if you want a true representaion of Swiss life, here it is.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinky333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This is a charmimg real Swiss hotel with a great location. There's a busstop right in front of the hotel with free shuttles into town and back. There was no busses aftre 7pm, but the stroll from town is not difficult and actually very nice to walk.
The owners are extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about the area.
The rooms are roomy, very clean and tidy. This is not a modern hotel, rather old but this all adds to the character.
The evening meal was of a good standard for a hotel and not too expensive!

Grindelward is a great base for exploring this area. We would recommend the trip on the train to the Jungfraujoch, it was spectalcular ... definately a priceless experience.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Li4SouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We visited this family run hotel on our 2 week honeymoon and were blown away by not only the view, but friendly staff, and fantastic fresh local food. The host at the inn helped us arrange everything from reservations to cable car tickets. They made good suggestions for hiking trails that took us away from crowds. Rooms are neat and clean and the beds are very comfortable. Maybe our favorite spot in the hotel is the private decks overlooking the alps and the quaint town. Spectacular views. Highly recommended.

ATL, Ga

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrnbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

The Hotel Gletschergarten was one of the best experiences I have ever had. It was made most pleasurable by the owner who gave us great advice for how to spend the 8 daylight hours we had in Grindelwald. She told us to take the gondola up to Mannlichen, walk over to Kleine Scheidegg and then take the train back down. This was a perfect suggestion for us and we loved every minute of it.

The hotel was excellent. Our room with a view was perfect. It was well-furnished and roomy enough. The breakfast was delicious. The owner gave us a coupon for dinner at the hotel which we did not use, but I suspect that the meal would have been very good and the price turned out to be excellent at CHF29 since restaurants in Grindelwald are very expensive.

I can't wait to return to Grindelwald and will definitely go back to the Hotel Gletschergarten.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packedlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
954 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $207 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing