We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,214)
Filter reviews
1,214 results
Traveler rating
1,071
125
12
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,071
125
12
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station fourth generation game room gracious hosts family run authentic swiss family owned hotel charming hotel swiss chalet cable car amazing views large balcony our room was spacious wonderful stay yogurt bernese oberland hiking trails
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 1,214 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2016

The staff at this lovely, flower-covered Swiss chalet-style hotel was what really made this hotel a standout. They were always looking to help - advice, activities, bookings, even storing our luggage when we went for an overnight hike and offering free shuttle rides to and from the train station. When we had to cut our hike short by a day, we had our hearts set on returning to the Gletschergarten and we got lucky that a cancellation opened up a room for us. The location is very convenient for the lifts up to Pfingstegg and Frist, which was perfect for our hiking and summer activities, and it's no more than 5 or 10 minutes stroll to the heart of downtown Grindelwald. The included breakfast isn't super-fancy but it's more than adequate, and the hotel also has coin-laundry and a game room downstairs.

We had considered spending more time in Interlaken but we're glad we skipped it (only for a lunch stop) and maximized our time in Grindelwald - much cuter, much more Swiss, much more activity-oriented rather than brand-name-shopping oriented.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iandarkpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. It is located about a 10 minute walk from the train station in a quieter area of Grindelwald. We loved our stay here. The couple who run the hotel are friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome! The dinners were delicious and I would recommend eating here! Breakfasts were equally good. We will definitely stay here again when in Grindelwald!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank hikergal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016

The hotel certainly lived up to its excellent reviews. The hotel as a whole really made you feel that you were in Switzerland. The daily breakfast and evening dinners were excellent. The owners, always present, were most helpful in guiding guests on how best to see the area's highlights. The location in town, near the church, was well located in proximity to a bus stop and the train station. We did a lot of hiking in the area and this hotel was an excellent base for that. I would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank hermesk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

Hotel Gletschergarten has everything you imagine about Swiss Alps. Lovely flowers on the balcony, an old historical feel to the place, yet modernized and clean. The owners are gracious people and hospitable. You will enjoy meeting with Gabriela and Gery. We had dinner at their restaurant one night and it was delicious. We really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank GoGatorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Gery and Gabriela are very informative and accommodating with all their guests. Gery is especially wonderful at helping hikers find the best trails for the day's weather pattern. Both hosts are very attentive to special needs of their guests and making sure their guests have a very satisfying and comfortable stay. Rooms are large, with balconies in the front and sides that look over the mountains. There was a room safe with a key. Housekeeping was excellent. The bathtub was deep.
The hotel is about a ten-minute walk up the hill from downtown, with a bus stop on both sides of the street, just steps from the front door. Traffic road noise dies down in the evening, leaving the hotel quiet for sleeping. Many breakfast offerings (boiled eggs, great breads and rolls, fruits, yoghurt, veggies, nuts) were available, including sunflower, pumpkin, and flax seeds which we both liked very much. The Bircher muesli was especially tasty. The four-course dinners were gourmet, and the salad bar was a special treat, with all fresh vegetables of great variety. We also apprciated the convenience of having a laundry room downstairs as we had been hiking for two weeks and needed to wash some of our clothes.
The bedding was very comfortable... pillows were good. We can't recommend this hotel and Gabriela and Gery enough!!!

Room tip: Front (road-facing) rooms have best views Rooms in back are quieter, especially during the day.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GreenMountainHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews