We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago for two nights. Great place with wonderful host and his family that cannot do enough to help you and enjoy the area!!!

The breakfast and dinner were wonderful.

Love to return

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSinINDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    95
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
229
399
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just returned from our 6th trip to this magnificent area, and the Gletschergarten is far and away the loveliest and most accommodating of the many hotels we have stayed in in Switzerland. The rooms are immaculate and the views from the balconies and sky-lights are absolutely breathtaking. Just imagine sitting looking out on the Eiger and sipping delicious wines from the hotel bar! Or looking up through the skylight at the moon shining on the mountains! Then there are the dinners prepared by the house chef, a Frenchman who has been on staff for 33 years: filet béarnaise, grilled turkey, and we could go on an on. BUT the very best part is the family that runs the hotel. Gabriela and Gerhard, along with their handsome son Lars treat the guests just like family. They pick you up at the train station upon arrival and return you when you leave; loan you hiking sticks and attend to your wounds. I cried when we left and cannot wait to return next summer. Simply put, it does not get any better than this!
Drs. Janelle and Martin Greenberg, Pittsburgh, PA USA

Room Tip: Every room we have stayed in was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Gletschergarten and felt as though we were staying with relatives. This family-owned property provides cozy accommodations, excellent four-course meals, sight-seeing suggestions, and ticketing for area attractions (even providing a discount for many of them). The hotel faces Eiger Mtn, so the views are spectacular from the deck off each room as well as the front patio where we enjoyed drinks prior to dinner. The entire family is well-versed in local history, and their passion for providing excellent customer service will make you glad you chose to spend your vacation with them.

Room Tip: Corner locations are roomier, although we did not see a bad room (our group had 4 different rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our recent trip to Switzerland was enhanced by our stay at the Gletschergarten! This lovely family-operated hotel provided comfort and delicious memorable meals not to mention valuable advice on hiking in the area. Gabriela and Gary were always available to assist with any questions. We loved Grindelwald and we especially loved our stay in the Gletschergarten!

Room Tip: Higher corner rooms provide beautiful views of the mountains which seem to be in your lap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 694CeciliaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The family Michel-Breitenstein run the most perfect Swiss hotel, working incredibly hard to make each and every guest happy. They are always on hand for advice and for tickets to Swiss transport and just make you feel at home. I asked for advice to choose our room for our Anniversary and Gabriela chose such a beautiful room for us with views of the Wetterhorn. It was spotlessly clean with wonderful attention to detail and a very comfy bed. We ate in the hotel every evening on our eleven night stay. All the food was excellent and knowing we were having a longer stay, they made sure we never had the same starter, salad, main course or sweet. Every day something different! The breakfasts were very delicious and the view from the dining room is spectacular. You were made to feel very special. On our anniversary we came down to breakfast and the table was covered in chocolate hearts and in the evening, rose petals. The hotel has been run by the same family for five generations and the love and care they put into the service is second to none. We loved the whole place, the people, the food, the rooms, the setting and even the coin laundry!! We want to return as this place is perfect in every way. Thank you Gerhard and Gabriela. Please put 'Reserved' on the Selley table for next year!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyNannyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2014

First trip to Switzerland. Most beautiful spot in the world!! The view from Gletschergarten is breathtaking. The owners, Gary and Gabriela, were most friendly and accommodating. The dinners were excellent -- a different selection each night that was always well prepared and presented. Rooms were large and comfortable, with a great view from our balcony. One morning a small herd of cows were moved through town by a local farmer, with the cow bells chiming directly below our room -- something fun for us to talk about for a long time.

Room Tip: Only issue for us is that it was warm the first night and with no ac was difficult to get to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We cannot speak highly enough regarding our recent stay at Hotel Gletschergarten. Gabriela, Gary and Lars were the best hosts and went above and beyond any reasonable expectation to assist when we had travel difficulties. Their assistance was invaluable.
The hotel was a delight and everything was done with the aim of making our visit a highlight of our European holiday. It is an authentic Swiss hotel/chalet, perfectly located with the most wonderful views. We felt as if we could touch the mountains from our balcony. From a plentiful breakfast, helping to plan activities, to a fantastic dinner at the end of the day, the only problem we had was making ourselves leave. Grindelwald is the perfect base for experiencing so much of this part of Switzerland and this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nenetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing