We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the bast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the bast”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had a pleasant stay. Room was well maintained and the view from the balcony was nice. Lady at the reception was very helpful. We were apprehensive of the nightclub downstairs but did not have any trouble during our stay. Breakfast was decent and the train station was across the hotel.

Room Tip: wow its good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLORDA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela M, Inhaber at Hotel Gletschergarten, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Grindelwald-Gast
Vielen Dank für die positive Bewertung. Wir denken aber, dass Sie sich im Hotel geirrt haben. Wir haben erstens keinen Nachtclub und zweitens sind wir nicht beim Bahnhof. Der Gletschergarten liegt am anderen Dorfende, gleich bei der Kirche.
Mit freundlichen Grüssen
Familie Michel, Hotel Gletschergarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    92
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
222
387
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our family recently spent 2 nights in 3 lovely rooms at the hotel. The family was so helpful and welcoming that we felt right at home. They even transported us to and from the train station. Each of our rooms had a lovely balcony and was comfortable and clean. The other shared spaces were cozy and they lit a fire and brought us tea after dinner. We only wished to stay longer!
The buffet breakfast was excellent with lots of choices- breads and cereals, yogurts, juices and fruit, sliced meats and cheeses. They served delicious coffee and tea to your table as soon as you sat down.
We would highly recommend the hotel gletschergarten and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huntingwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our 6 night stay here was a real pleasure and very stress-free, due to the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners who seemed able and willing to arrange whatever we expressed an interest in. They really put their guests first and nothing was too much trouble. For example, when we went to the public swimming pool (free with a hotel guest card and lovely) they were happy for us to take their towels and replaced them when we got back. The hotel was a traditional old chalet building and our room with balcony was spacious and clean with everything one might need. The food was very tasty, well-presented and varied and good value for a 4-course meal (40CHF). You could have a pizza out more cheaply but not a meal of a similar type. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

As other reviewers have said, not only is the hotel location, views and quality of the rooms great, but the experience and helpfulness of the family running it was superb. I found their advice on our requests for information/advice to be genuine and not 'what you tell the tourists'. Everyone was an absolute pleasure to deal with and I could not imagine staying anywhere else when even close to Grindelwald next time. Great people, great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We arrived late at this hotel and although the kitchen had just closed they produced us a meal. They helped us with a number of queries and were most attentive and friendly throughout. This is a family-run hotel, and proud of it. They gave us lifts into and out of town. They apologised for what they considered the small size of the room but we were fine with it and it had the bonus of a stunning view of the western aspect of the Eiger in the morning. Recommended without hesitation or qualification. PS If you need tickets for the train to Kleine Scheidegg and beyond the hotel will sell them to you, saving you any queues (lines) at the station.

Room Tip: Ask about the view and they will help you choose. We were on the second floor and there is a lift b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

You can feel that family who runs this hotel put heart into their work. I never felt more welcome in any place before. I could write a lot of good things, but you should visit this hotel and explore its treasures on your own. And by the way, in case you've read White Spider, you should know that this hotel was where Heinrich Herrer stayed every time he visited Grindelwald.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selestat, France
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in this delightful hotel for a ski holiday. Everything you could wish for.. Good location for the town and lifts and excellent views from the hotel. Nice restaurant with good food. Kids catered for too, See Photo

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
921 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing