We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

My mother and I spent two nights, in June 2013, at this Hotel. Upon our arrival, without having asked for anything, we were informed that our room had been upgraded. The owners were wonderful to talk to and deal with. Their son speaks many languages (around 8 of them which is quite impressive!), and the hotel has been in the family for generation. If you have time, I highly recommend you to ask about the hotel's history and to look at the amazing photo books that belongs to the family. The book could easily have been sold to guests if it hadn't been made only for the family! It is that interesting! When I got into our bedroom, I was astonished to realized I was looking directly at the Eiger's peak through the ceiling window! What an amazing surprise!!! The room we were in was spotless, the service was over what could have been expected and I truly cannot wait to return to this gem of hotel with my husband and daughters.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LapointeDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    90
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
221
374
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Gletschergarten exhausted from our long trip from Chicago. We were early for checkin which was not a problem for our hosts. They did all they could to get us into our room so we could refresh.
From day one the hospitality at this hotel was remarkable. They did everything they could to ensure our stay was enjoyable: suggesting places to visit, made reservations for anything we wanted to do and checked with us daily to see if everything was going well. And the daily breakfast buffet was remarkable. It had everything you could possibly want, encluding a view!
Did I mention the view? Spectacular. We sat each day on our porch, sipping a glass of wine, enjoying cheeses and marveling at the mountains.
While you are staying at the hotel, make sure you enjoy dinner in the dinning room at least once. Their chef creates some of the best French cuisine we've eaten. Quite a treat!
All in all, this is a place you don't want to miss!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetteach55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kollam, India
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

After reading the glowing reviews on tripadvisor, we went with high expectations, and were not disappointed. Gletschergarten is a small, quiet and pretty hotel, with spacious rooms and spectacular views of the Alps. The food was good, and reasonable by local standards. But what makes this hotel special is the warm hospitality of the owners Gary and Gaby, who go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with balcony views of the Alps are worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cashew218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The sparce rooms are more then made up for with a balcony view of the Eiger. Food 1/2 board good as are breakfasts. We would stay there again for sure. The hotel, while not right downtown, we liked. The owner drives us to and from the train station! Lifts for skiing and hiking a very short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms so can't compare but a balcony room overlooking the town and E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a wonderful experience. I originally found this hotel on karenbrown.com. Gary picked us up at the train station; although the hotel is only a 15-minute walk from the station, it is uphill. We had a large room on the front, which faced the Lower Glacier and the Eiger. The room was spacious and quiet. There is a comfortable parlour at the back of the hotel where it was nice to have a drink before dinner.

The hotel was able to sell us the train and gondola passes we needed, and Gary advised us what time of day to go to the Jungfraujoch and to First.

We ate at the hotel all three nights. The dinners were excellent. Gary, Gabriela, and the rest of the staff were very attentive with the dinner service. One could see that they wanted everything to be perfect, and it was. We thought the dinners were an excellent value.

I cannot say enough about Gary and Gabriella. They are wonderful hosts. They take very good care of their guests. They are very pleasant and helpful. We strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel face the Lower Glacier, between the Eiger and the Schreckhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I don't think I'm adding much here. Gabriela and Gerhard work long hours, but you never feel like they're anything other than delighted to have you staying with them. Their local tips on walks and public transport are hugely helpful. The hotel's lovely: excellent roomy rooms, views of the mountains, quiet, comfy, + a top breakfast ... it really is ideal. We'd go back in a flash.

Room Tip: Room 30 has a nice skylight and good space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpideyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This gem is at the end of town yet only a short walk from the center---superb location, great views of the surrounding mountains, lovely rooms with balconies, and wonderful hosts.
Gerhard is a master at tourism and gave us best advice on good rates for seeing what we wanted---cable cars to mountain tops, trains, panorama walks in the mountains......he is very talented in everything he does.The young staff at breakfast were exceptional. Additional amenities include a pretty wine bar and a separate lounge with piano and a computer----both venues were grand for a quiet evening with a glass of wine.
When in Grindelwald again, we'll go right back to the Gletschergarten Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with mountain view are lovely. One can also choose rooms at the back with green pastures to vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlandpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing