We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service, great stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gletschergarten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, great stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We are just leaving this hotel after a weekend stay in the area for hiking and top of Europe. Location is great. The hotel is picture perfect and my room had a wonderful view. We ate dinner here both nights and the food was fantastic! Best of all was the service and owners who are wonderful and extremely helpful. Everything was no problem and the whole staff was friendly and inviting. They also helped us book train/lift tickets and gave great recommendations! This is really the perfect place to stay and great value for the price!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANYoulden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    89
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
220
371
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
/Suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is rather old-fashioned inside, or maybe just Olde Worlde Swiss-style, which I like anyway. The room was a reasonable size though the extremely friendly owner apologised for not being able to upgrade us! As it was we had a terrace with the most fabulous views of the Glacier and the Eiger. Owners a treasure trove of information and very helpful and friendly with it. Breakfast very good as was dinner and staff nice and helpful too. My only quibble is the towels - rather threadbare and this is from someone who rather likes an old rough towel!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaja_Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had 2 nights at this hotel which was at the end of a marvellous trekking holiday through the Jungfrau. The owners were very friendly and accommodating and the room that we were given had a huge balcony. The dinner both nights was perfect and the service was great-very homely and authentic. The staff at the hotel organised our cable car rides and our paragliding tickets which just made things run just that more smoothly. Would definitely return again. The hotel is just a small walk out of town.

Room Tip: some of the corner suits have larger balconies which have a nice view up the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MishandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Gletschergarten for 2 nights. The hotel is about a 10 minute gentle uphill walk from the Grindelwald train station. They have a free pickup and drop-off service. Gary and Gabriella were very very warm and welcoming. We did a 2 day Aletsch Glacier trek in between our stay and they stored our luggage. Our room for the first night had a great view of Eiger and on the 2nd night we were upgraded to a larger room. Rooms were very clean and the breakfast buffet was excellent. All in all a very enjoyable stay !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashant_Manikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Rooms nice and cosy. Everything clean. Really helpfull owners who could not do enough for us. We had a great time exploring the mountains. Quintessential swiss alps hotel.
The only thing I didn't like were the pillows!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We chose Hotel Gletschergarten because it was rated number one on TripAdvisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is something out of a picture book with geranium stuffed window boxes on every floor. As you climb the stairs you will see paintings and memorabilia at each landing. It's just one of the many lovely touches (including Gery showing us to our rooms when we checked in) you will find at this hotel.

The buses in Grindelwald are a family run business (not included in the Swisspass), but you get a complimentary bus pass with your room. We never used it because the train station is such a short walk from the hotel (about 10 minutes). You will be thankful that you are a little ways away from the train station. It was jam packed, full of tourists at that end of town. We were grateful to retreat to our quite, cool room after 5+ hours of hiking each day.

The rooms are quite big with a sitting area, plenty of storage space, a good-sized deck and more than ample bathroom. We had a mountain view (Wetterhorn) in room 32 with a wrap around deck. The bed was very big with a firm mattress, down duvet and pillow. There is no air conditioning, but plenty of ventilation via windows and patio door. We were there when it was atypically hot and our room was always very comfortable.

Breakfast is included with your room and is always fresh and delicious. We had dinner there one day and it was well worth the cost. The owners, Gabriela and Gery were friendly, helpful and gracious. We were able to purchase any tickets we needed through them which is a fantastic. Gery even managed to save a few extra francs for us through some creative booking. I accidentally dipped my iPhone in some water and Gery graciously retrieved a bag of rice for me from the chef (a "thank you" both of you!). We were always asked how our hike went and upon checking out we were treated to a gift. How can you not enjoy staying here?

Bonus in the basement: a washer and dryer ($2 CHF to wash a small load and $1 CHF for a half an hour of drying time). While you're waiting for your laundry you can play ping pong or pool (also a great thing to do if it's raining).

Room Tip: Get a mountain view. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have been coming to this wonderful family owned and run hotel for 20 years. It has been owned by the same family for over 100 years. You will always be assured of a warm welcome with excellent food, very comfortable rooms and of course the views are spectacular. You would have to go a long way to find a better hotel in Grindelwald. The personal touch is always much appreciated. We have celebrated special family events here over the years including our Mother's 90th birthday and our 40th Wedding Anniversary.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but for spectacular views of the North Face of the Eiger obviously rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing