We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from our balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great view from our balcony”
Reviewed June 18, 2008

This is a very charming hotel just on the outskirts of this very small village. We were able to walk from the train station to the hotel with our luggage in about 15 minutes. If I had it to do over again, we would've called ahead and requested a pick up. They did give us a ride back to the train station when we departed.

The furnishings were very dated but clean and comfortable. Like all of the hotels in Switzerland, it was expensive. I have to say, though, that my very favorite thing about this hotel was the view from our balcony. We had a balcony off our room which was shared (although the hotel was essentially empty for the off season) from which we could sit and gaze at the mountains and glaciers.

Breakfast is nothing special and does not change from day to day. There is a laundry room available for a small fee, you can wash your clothes. Also, they have a computer in the tv room which you can use to access the internet for a fee. They also have a game room that had there been more people in the hotel, may have had some good use. All in all, it was a good experience.

  • Liked — The view!
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DALY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    95
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
229
400
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We stayed here off the back of the No1 position that the hotel had on Tripadvisor. When booking we were told we had to opt for the half board option due to the time of year that we were staying.

Upon arrival we knew something was amiss. The room looked like it had been decorated in the 1970's and then never touched since. It was certainly clean but was old and tired looking and the bathroom in need of a facelift or two.

The food on the first night was really not good at all and when we inquired about cancelling the half board so we could eat somewhere else we were told that they would only discount a portion of the amount not the whole dinner cost. We did not care at this point and so went out anyway.

Breakfast is also nothing to write home about, a small "buffet" style approach which was the same everyday oh, and only boiled eggs as a fried egg was too much trouble!!

The service was okay but faux friendly and when we asked for info on what to do / where to eat we were given almost none.

The resort itself is rather depressing. The weather changes two or three times a day and you need between 30 minutes and 1 hour every morning just to get up the mountain.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Globe24/7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

ok the rooms were fine for sleeping in but the hotel is no where near the top in Grindelwald, plenty of others to choose from. The people at the front desk were fake & not very friendly! As for the food there....i didn't bother trying for dinner as it seemed as though he was doing me a massive favour & judging on breakfast it was nothing spectacular!!
Average hotel overall, but skiing was fantastic!!

  • Liked — beds were comfy after a hard day
  • Disliked — general attitude by desk staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlederg,Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We found this accommodation to be fairly average -okay value for money .The rooms have a good view-reasonable furniture.The cleaning of the rooms was excellent.Breakfast was nothing special but nothing to complain about either.The owners are helpful when asked questions-but not noticeably friendly or helpful.
My main gripe was that when we tried to book a meal for the next evening we were told that "I don't know if this is possible-ask me again tomorrow and I will see if we have room for you in the restaurant."We didn't bother asking the next night as we were made to feel that they were doing us a favor!
WHEN OUR CHILD WAS SICK -on GOOD FRIDAY-we found to our dismay that there was no where to buy food during the day-we approached the owners to see if was possible to get food from the kitchen -even some bread and ham to make a small sandwich-or could we buy a meal-from the kitchen-we were told no this was not possible!!!Eventually after pleading we were told that when the kitchen opened in 2 hours he would let us purchase some food from the kitchen if it was eaten by the child in his bedroom.
I am a seasoned traveller.I have skiied for 24 years-this hotel is nothing special and if I was to return to Grindelwald I would book elsewhere.

  • Liked — Cleaning of rooms
  • Disliked — Complete lack of sensitivity for a sick child
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheOHareclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

If you are going to Grindelwald, Switzerland you can do no better than this lovely hotel. Only 10 minute walk from the train station (or they will pick you up). The views are magnificent. I was alone on my trip and had the nicest single room looking out on the Glacier. Ask for room 36 and you can sit outside with a cold beer and enjoy the view!
Get the full pension and enjoy breakfast and dinner. The food was really good. Very "comfort food" fare but really nice.
The bus goes right by the hotel every few minutes in the ski season and the First Bahn is really close. I feel so good about finding this hotel and I read good reviews about it right here on Trip Advisor. Believe what you read about Hotel Gletschergarten. E-mail me if you are going and I'll be happy to tell you more!
Robert: fmyguy1@hotmail.com

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank FortMyersGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We just returned from two weeks in Switzerland, Germany and Austria and the Hotel Glestchergarten was our favorite destination. The hotel is a charming chalet with equally charming owners. We were there for five nights over Christmas and found the whole experience just delightful. The hotel served breakfast and special dinners for the holiday. We skied on Christmas day and the conditions were excellent. The ski rental shop delivered our skiis to the chalet and picked them up when we were finished. The chalet is located right next to the bus stop which takes your to the ski gondola so there is no need to schlepp your stuff too far. We skied back close to the chalet and walked a short distance back.
The views from our room were specatacular. We had three rooms and each had the most amazing views. They had free wireless (highly unusual in europe) and the rooms were comfortable, and good sized. The chalet is located right across the street from a small church and when we first left the chalet to walk around the town we opened the door and the church bells began to chime, we felt like we were in the Sound of Music. We were met at the train station by the owners and when my daughter looked up at the town she said "I did not know you booked us into Santa's Villiage" We felt we had stepped into a scene from Heidi! Everything exceeded our expectations.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank travelnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2007

We stayed at the hotel with another family over Christmas and had a wonderful time. Our family of four stayed in a little apartment across the street from the hotel (3 BRs, beautiful view of the mountains and glaciers) and our friends stayed in the main hotel (top floor family room). The premises are clean, well maintained and comfortable. We enjoyed getting to know the owners, very gracious. Just a short walk or bus ride from the First-Bahn gondola and the #22 red/blue ski run ends a block from the hotel. Very convenient. If we make it back to Grindelwald, we will only stay here!

  • Liked — family friendly
  • Disliked — no in-room internet
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FriscoAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing