We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Perfect location. Perfect room. Perfect hosts. Perfect restaurant. I can't say enough about our week-long stay here. The owners were so helpful and informative. Very spacious room with lots of storage. The view was the best in Switzerland!!!
The breakfast delicious - just what you need for a day of hiking:). The 4-course dinner was gourmet but reasonably priced. Bathroom was a bit small but had lots of storage & counter space. Typical Swiss pillows - too soft so bring your pillows. I would recommend this wonderful, warm & cozy place to anyone!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 843 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and regretted not staying longer. The owners of this hotel were very friendly, and extend good hospitality. Station transfer to hotel is provided. Every return to the hotel will greeted warmly by them. The food provided by the in-house restaurant were great. Room amenities were well covered and most importantly very clean. Not to mention the spectacular glacier mountain views from the balcony. This is really a paradise! The surroundings are peaceful and quiet, didn't see much tour buses, which is great! We will definitely return !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavenderscent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here with friends at the beginning of June, 2013. Everything I could say would fall short of trying to explain what a wonderful hotel this is. The views -- spectacular. The hosts -- spectacular. The accommodations -- spectacular. The food -- you guessed it -- spectacular. There's an obvious trend with this review. I cannot think of one single thing I would have changed about our stay here, save the weather which was unseasonably cold and rainy for June.

If you're going to be in Grindelwald or anywhere near Jungfrau, the Hotel Gletschergarten HAS to be on your short list of places to stay. It is simply that good.

Room Tip: Can't remember our room number, but it was on the third floor with a private balcony, looking st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was able to spend a few days in Grindelwald at the end of a business trip and chose Hotel Gletschergarten based on the positive reviews. I can say that the reviews matched my experience fully. The room was excellent (street facing with balcony view of the White Church and the Eiger, not noisy in the evening) and clean. Breakfast buffet was nice, and waitstaff were accommodating with my request for soft-boiled egg and cappuccino.

Probably the nicest feature of the hotel were the accommodating hosts--Gabriela and Gerhard. Definitely ask for their hiking and sightseeing suggestions. They gave great suggestions based on our interests and abilities. We visited during a period of "variable" weather, and their suggestions were spot on for hiking--taking maximum advantage of the occasional views we had. My favorite hike was from Busalp to Bort. Nice views across the valley to the mountains, as well as ever changing vignettes of the local countryside. (Lots of cows, trees, and water.)

Tips: Definitely take up their offer to shuttle you to and from the train station. It's a bit of a walk with luggage. Free bus pass on registration for the in-town buses makes getting back and forth to the hotel easy once you're there. They can issue your train tickets with the appropriate discounts at the hotel desk, which saves standing in line. (They will also advise you on the most economical approach to take for some of the more tourist-dense venues.) Washer and drier in the basement were great after being on the road for a week!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEE_and_ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

From the minute we arrived until we left we could not fault this hotel. A lovely friendly, caring atmosphere created by all the staff. Our room was comfortable and clean with great views. All meals were excellent with sensible portions. In addition to our room we enjoyed after dinner coffee in the main lounge which was traditional and relaxing. A kettle in the room would have been nice as we are English and need our tea!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed four nights; the room was perfect, with a view of the Wetterhorn. The family is very welcoming, and provided good recommendations for each day's activities. We ate dinner at the hotel on three evenings, and were quite pleased with the quality, the ambiance, and the value. We look forward to returning.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Friendly owners, good value, large rooms with private verandah - views of snow capped alps in the Swiss summer, fantastic service, free bus service during stay, free wifi, plenty of room to unpack - no need to live out of your suitcase. Very close to Jungfrau - the Top of Europe! Wish we stayed longer!!

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms are beautiful! They even have chalets if you prefer a self catering optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $193 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 118 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing